We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel So Mauritius

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Special Offer
Save up to 35%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with AccorHotels.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sofitel So Mauritius
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

674 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our ten day stay at Sofitel So Mauritius was very enjoyable. The Mauritian staff in the photos below really provided us with five star treatment. Our overall experience was made so positive thanks to the connection we felt with each of these wonderful individuals who are true ambassadors for their employer and their country. We highly recommend the experience at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Regi L
Mauritius
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

sometimes can be hit or miss. La Plage, the beach restaurant had excellent service one day and it was awful the next day - they were obviously short on staff and the young waitress did not seem to know what was going on. Also they had no Heart of Palm! The rooms are good, the buffet breakfast small but very... More 

Helpful?
Thank LaBalise
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Gérant at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear La Balise, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your review, though we are concerned to hear of your experience. While we are So pleased you enjoyed our resort with its luxuriant nature and vibrant décor , the spacious rooms and the ‘small’ but yet pleasant buffet, we are concerned that we did not better fulfill your... More 

Mauritius
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a bunch of 11 colleagues who decided to take the Day Use package of Sofitel So via marideal.mu.The package consisted of a day at the hotel from 10 to 17 including water activities and lunch.We had some difficulty finding the hotel being misled by a signage at the 1st round about in Bel Ombre which indicated Sofitel So... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Steffimad
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Gérant at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Steffimad, We are so pleased to read you had a fabulous day with us at So Mauritius. Thank you for taking your valuable time for sharing your So wonderful experience. The entire team is dedicated to ensure that our guests at SO Mauritius enjoy the facilities and services and beneficiate from unique and unforgettable moments. Furthermore, our Ambassadors’ attention... More 

Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed every day of our stay at So Mauritius. Partly because of the delightful sunny weather and the abundance of colors around. But it's the helpful and nice staff that made our vacation truly memorable. SPA team deserves a special word. All therapists are very professional and will gladly help you choose treatments according to your needs. Wonderful Premma... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anastasia K
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Gérant at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Anastasia K, It is so good to hear that your last stay at Sofitel So Mauritius was So delightful and So Great. We very much appreciate your satisfaction about the helpfulness and professionalism of our Ambassadors as mentioned above. The Spa Univers is really unique and our So Spa Angels are continuously striving for a service of quality and... More 

Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel in unfinished!!! Very nice rooms, spectacular landscape, but very poor services. You can see the lack of a competitive management! The property is awesome: a lot of banana trees, frangipani everywhere and the villas as well, but only if you are lucky and staying in a beach villa near the beach - otherwise you have to walk hundred... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Andreea1976
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Gérant at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Andreea197, We would like to thank you for your valuable comments and observations regarding your recent stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius. We are unhappy to learn that you have got such experience at the Sofitel So Mauritius, as we always intend to deliver more than guests' expectation. Please rest assured that all necessary measures will be taken in... More 

Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being very low in mood at the start at was supposed to be an all singing all dancing fantastic holiday probably meant that having to ask for refills of tea/coffee and toiletries (after the room was supposed to be serviced) was more influential on me than it should have been. Having plucked up my courage and spoken to management, they... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bunnie2005
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Gérant at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear bunnie2005, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel So Mauritius. We really appreciated that we have been able to please you despite some of the issues encountered. Our main aim is to offer a service of quality and of excellence to all our So Visitors. We look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing setting on the southwest of Mauritius. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was lovely with all the amenities - exceptional outside shower area. The a la carte restaurant on the beach the food was superb - free rides on the glass bottom boat and paddle boats to use. All made it feel like paradise! Wish we could have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank J8912SZdavidg
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear J8912SZdavidg, We thank you for your comments with regards your stay at the Sofitel So Mauritius. We are so pleased and so happy that our service of quality has been up to your expectations. Indeed, our ambassadors are devoted to create an atmosphere of friendliness and of courtesy for the well- being of our valuable Guests during their stay.... More 

Flacq
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Great room design..prompt check in,welcoming staff with pleasant smile,wifi access was available room ,and practically all over hotel...good food,some local songs could also form part in night or morning animation missing game activities such as staff organising volleyball,soccer ,pool polo games,etc ...games such as baby foot,snooker at open spaces...aqua gym

Helpful?
Thank Tony M
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Tony M, Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your stay with us at the Sofitel So Mauritius. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will be honored to personally recognize our team for their dedication to customer service and hard work. We truly appreciate your patronage and are looking forward to your next... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We arrived for two weeks at the end of November and had the most relaxing holiday. The management team and all the staff were really welcoming and attentive - lovely people. Dinesh and Raj were excellent. Chef Vikram produced the most wonderful food and pastries to die for. The staff in the buffet restaurant and bars, including the beach bar,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PamVernon
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Great stay from arrival. Very welcoming staff with good food, great beach where we were almost alone at any point of the day. Hotel had a very nice luxurious atmosphere with cool architecture. In the bar we enjoyed good drinks and very good live music.

Helpful?
Thank Lindstén E
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Lindsten E, On behalf of the Sofitel So Mauritius, we are So happy to read your comments about this amazing experience during your honeymoon trip. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed the 'luxurious atmosphere' and the legendary hospitality and the delicious food will remain a memorable experience of your Mauritian break. With hope, we shall greet... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

856 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (746)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (342)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (110)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (86)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 2,931 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 3,123 reviews
32.1 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
30.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay