We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sofitel So Mauritius

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Beau Champ, Bel Ombre, Mauritius
Special Offer
Save up to 35%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel So Mauritius
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    423
    85
    30
    22
    13
See reviews for
117
349
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (573)
  • Mar-May only
    (159)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (144)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (147)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We rented the serviced houses there and used the faculties as well as the restaurants. It's a beautiful serene spot with great service. Seemed like a quiet place at first but we wanted to enjoy our time playing with kids in the beautiful Green open space. Fantastic food

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Ola E, Greetings from Sofitel So Mauritius ! Thank you for your comment, your opinion is very important to us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel The beauty of the gardens and the open space offers you a unique experience through a warm southern environment. Thank you again for your review and for... More 

Quatre Bornes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed during July 2015 and we had a wonderful weekend. The rooms are very nice, the service is excellent and the staff is very helpful. The only drawback is that the WiFi is very slow in the rooms. But will definitely go back for another weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Dara112, Thank you for your great review of our resort. I’m so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, including the rooms and specially the service for our so helpful and dedicated ambassadors. with regards to your feedback regarding the Wi-Fi which will certainly take into consideration as we work to improve the experience for future guests. We... More 

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in So Sofitel during July 2015 and we had to rent two units to accommodate all the family. They offered us an upgrade to a large beach villa with some reasonable price difference. The family were together in one place and the facilities in the villa were top class. The children enjoyed the activities and the staff came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear SultanA, Thank you for your wonderful review! I especially appreciate where you explain that you have enjoyed the beach Villa which is tremendous experience with the family. Rest assured that our team will go above and beyond to make each guest’s stay special every time they have the opportunity and I’m so happy you felt it during your time... More 

Mauritius
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and two small children (3 and 8 months) spent a wonderful day at this hotel. It was peaceful and just the recharge that we needed. We will certainly be back! My only suggestion would be to have eggs available at breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear mauritianbunny Thank you for your wonderful review! We wanted to give you special thanks for mentioning that the resort indulges travellers seeking for relaxation and resource from the magnifique nature. We truly do our best to make the resort enjoyable for everyone and we are pleased to know that you have well enjoyed your break with us. With regards... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have no words to describe this hotel. It is a haven of peace and modernity. I loved every corner of this resort. The contemporary look of the bedrooms match the elegance of the yard around. The service is excellent, the staff are amazing. It kind of make me proud to be a Mauritian. No wonder, we are known for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear AmeekshaD, With much interest we read your So 'Exquisite' review and recommendation of our Hotel on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the extra time you took to offer some valuable feedback with regards to your enjoyment of the resort and the service from the heart of our collaborators , proof that the Mauritian hospitality is very impressive which make the... More 

Beau Bassin, Plaines Wilhems, Mauritius
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bad experience. First and last time i go there. Negative aspects: No lights at night from garden to restaurant No food variety...small buffet Welcome cocktail not good at all No lights in bathroom Alu door can be opened from outside even if locked Room replenishment not done (coffee, tea) Room key disactivated before time of departure Positive points: Sea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ozeer, Thank you for sharing your concerns on our services following your recent experience with us. With our teams, we shall follow closely weakness highlighted on your part to prevent any further recurrence. As already communicated to you, should you wish to give us another chance and come back again, do not hesitate to contact me; I will... More 

Quatre Bornes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I have mainly spent our holidays within the island of Mauritius and every year we will do one or two destinations (luxury hotels, private luxury villas/ bungalows). Our aim had been to find a place we could call our summer/ winter home - a haven of fun and peace - where our four daughters (age between 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Irvan77, We wish to warmly thank you for having taken the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor about your latest stay Sofitel So Mauritius! We are pleased to know you found our service nearly perfect and we will make sure to give your comments to our teams to make it flawless for your next visit. We hope to... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Both me and my partner chose the property for our honeymoon. Among the few hotels I have stayed in Mauritius over the past few days I would say I really enjoyed my stay at Sofitel So Mauritius. Room was perfectly design with an outdoor bathtub. Staff was very courteous and helpful. Chuntish from reception provided us with an awesome quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Sweeree, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your ‘romantic escape’ at the Sofitel So Mauritius. How delightful to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that we make your visit to the south of the island an incredible memory! We are happy to hear you appreciated our service. And also... More 

Mauritius
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In just few words: If you don't want to get your holidays spoiled never stepped in in Sofitel So Mauritius. Horrible welcome, Dirty rooms, Disgusting uncleaned Yards, ill mannered staffs. Girl staff were dresses horribly and in a dirty sarong. talking rudely. No welcome drink upon arrival. Buggy service really late....

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank for your extensive feedback with regards to your short break with us. We are very disappointed to read that we were not able to give you a true grand experience as unfortunately you did not find the hotel up your expectations and we deeply regret that you did not have the opportunity to... More 

Mauritius
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent the weekend in this property in mid July 2015. The concept is very different from all other hotels in Mauritius. Some people might like and others might not.. it all depends what you want. If you are looking for peacefulness, privacy, quality time with family or spouse, or you want to get away from the daily hassles, then Sofitel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SoMauritius_BelOmbre, Manager at Sofitel So Mauritius, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for sharing your comments. We struggle every day to improve our service and all my team is doing is best to deliver the best service to our guests : your very kind words are just demonstrating to us that we are aiming on the right way. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

723 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (601)
Viewed
Room/suite (95)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (74)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (100)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (229)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bel Ombre
8.8 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 13 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tamassa Resort
Tamassa Resort
#1 of 6 in Bel Ombre
4.5 of 5 stars 2,494 reviews
32.1 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sofitel Mauritius L'Imperial Resort & Spa
30.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
37.8 mi away
LUX Grand Gaube
LUX Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4.5 of 5 stars 2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay