We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki

Hotel deals
Hotel website
1956 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    343
    187
    66
    33
See reviews for
202
201
66
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (876)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (224)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (220)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (232)
All months
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unfortunately during our recent stay, the entrance to the property was under construction as was the park area across the street. This made for a rather unpleasant visual impression about this hotel. One would hope that after all construction is finished this situation will improve. Once inside the hotel, the lobby is small and the property has the feeling of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I always thought DoubleTree Hotels were on a par with Hilton properties, but geared more toward business travelers. The DoubleTree Alana Waikiki is more on a par with a 30-year old Holiday Inn. It makes me wonder what chain owned this property before Hilton took over. The rooms were nothing special. Each room has a small balcony with a pair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As I approached the drive way, I was unable to find the entrance. Circled backed a few times, drove up without seeing the valet sign. The porter was unset. I had to back down as if I am the porter and he is the guest, very rude. Others staff in the hotel are nice. I told them I am moving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Mango K., Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We strive to ensure our guest have the best service and stay with us, however we did not meet your expectations during your anniversary. We value your remarks and your review will be shared with our executives to improve... More 

Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entrance to the hotel is under construction. The cotinental breakfast is limited, but for an additional $8.00 + tax you can get the buffet. The mattress was very soft and painful. There was a refrigerator but no microwave. The bathroom is is small and crowded. The shower is nice once you figure out the controls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Turboart, Thank you for writing a review pertaining to your stay at our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we will take this opportunity to improve our services for your next visit. We look forward to having you as a return guest in the near... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My brother and I ended up staying here the last night of our trip. We had to make last minute arrangements as the hotel we were in was awful and we couldn't stand another night. Maggie at the front desk made sure our room was everything our last hotel was not, and more. Room was quiet and clean, the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Katie P., Thank you for sharing your overall experience with us! We are exhilarated to hear that our team's efforts resulted in a positive way! Maggie is a tremendous asset and your praises will be shared with her and the rest of the staff. Thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back with... More 

hilo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very helpful and excellent service , good location, love the valet parking and the affordability, food was good in the hotel restaurant, very pleasant experience. i would definitely staff again and again :)

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Gayle Y, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are always thrilled to hear that our guests are satisfied. Our valet team consistently goes above and beyond and our team are always eager to help! Thank you for being a guest and we look forward to your return! Mahalo Daphne Aguon Guest Services More 

Duluth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A decent hotel within walking distance of Waikiki Beach. It was clean and quiet. They delivered on their promise. The breakfast was eggs, sausage, potatoes, rice, and continental for $24. Not worth that. The concierge was extremely helpful.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Henry W H, Thank you for writing a review pertaining to your stay. We apologize for the pricing for the breakfast and we will share your experience with the executives to improve the quality of service. We are glad to know that our room was satisfactory and that our concierge team was able to assist you. We look forward... More 

Vacaville, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was no notice to me prior to checking in that there was going to be constructions on the hotel during my entire stay. They didn’t offer any for the inconvenience of the noise and filth due to the construction.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlanaGuestServices, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Ms. Benghauser, Please allow us to take an opportunity to deliver our deepest appreciation for choosing our hotel to stay and first and foremost we want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you commented. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their trip but we did not exceed your basic expectation this time. We... More 

Ninole, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone at Doubletree Alana Waikiki always makes me feel at home. I enjoy their warm hospitality and the true meaning of aloha. Mahalo a nui loa, thank you everyone at Doubletree Alana for your warm hospitality.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Joseph D, Thank you for being a return guest and for sharing your review. Words cannot convey how truly honored we are that our hotel is your "home away from home." The pleasure is all ours to share the aloha with you and your ohana. We look forward to your return! Mahalo Nui Loa Daphne Aguon Guest Services More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night before starting a cruise. Good location to many restaurants and sights. Clean, modern, in tip top shape. Staff is very helpful and professional. My only complaint is that the hotel does not have shuttle service from the airport. Expect to pay $35 or so for the cab ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha BobB3664, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that our team exceeded your expectations! We apologize we do not have a shuttle service, but this may be a possibility in the future. Thank you for recognizing our property as excellent and we look forward to having you as a return guest! Mahalo Daphne Aguon Guest Services More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

577 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (211)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
View from room (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (40)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (329)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Oceanview Guestroom With Balcony (Pre-Renovation) (119)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite With Balcony (Pre-Renovation) (14)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question