We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki

3.5 of 5 1956 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Special Rate
$169 (USD)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    330
    173
    60
    33
See reviews for
191
190
63
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (820)
  • Mar-May only
    (160)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (224)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (220)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (216)
All months
Waldorf, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Onsite pool and good fitness center. King room with balcony is nice - we had a great view of the sunsets! Valet parking is convenient. Hotel is conveniently located near the beach and restaurants, all within two blocks.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Double Tree is clean and had a friendly and courteous staff. That is one of the only reasons my wife and I didn't move immediately. The premium internet service was horrible, and too slow to stream movies. The movies offered were $17.99 each movie. Room service charges for meals were very expensive compared to the portions served and the... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No complaints whatsoever...great location, friendly staff. It was perfect base to get to know the area. Minutes to the beach...good access to buses...we had a 7 day pass for the Waikiki trolley...great value, and hopped on the city bus (#20) to Pearl Harbour...2 Bucks each way. Our thanks to the manager for extending the military discount rate to Canadian Forces... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha canuk_on_tour, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and letting us know about how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We always enjoy reading reviews from guests, especially when they are positive. Reviews such as yours encourage our staff and remind them of the reason why they do what they do. We are... More 

San Luis Obispo, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on Hilton Honors points, so the bill was much lower than it might have been. To be honest, if I had paid full price, I would have felt ripped off. The staff are great, and the lobby is nice, but the wifi is absolutely horrible unless you pay for it in the room, and even then it's... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Ron H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review providing us with feedback about your stay. We always encourage guests to write reviews as they help us to improve our guests experience. We would like to apologize all of the troubles you experienced with different aspects of your room not working or in disrepair. This is... More 

Section, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lobby area and pool area are very nice. Our room was spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Although we had a private balcony, our view was of cluttered balconies from the building behind the hotel. The free internet is in the lobby area only (not in the rooms) Not a luxury hotel, but this is a good value in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Donna B, Thank you for taking the time to provide honest feedback about your stay with us. We use feedback from guests to further improve our service and in turn the guests stay. We apologize for the unsightly view from your balcony. We understand how unpleasant it is, but we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a suite Dec 28-Jan 1 and found the room to be comfortable, the location enjoyable and the service to be excellent. The pullout couch was a good option to have. The pool area was pleasant and Ala Moana Park was just a short run away. This spot is away from Waikiki, but close enough to walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha VBeachy, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us! We always enjoy reading reviews about how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your room and our location! We love that we have the ability to offer guests a nice hotel in... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
50 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location, Location, Location This place is not in the middle of the Hassle but it is right there walking distance. The rooms are not Villa Great but are family ok. We spent 3 nights and we were happy all round. It is not a huge hotel don´t expect big facilities... it is a business hotel which caters for families as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha alvimangles, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We always enjoy reading about our guests experiences and learning how to make their stays even better. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and how well the room worked for you and your family. Our goal... More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on a recent business trip. I prefer the Hilton Hawaiian Village across the street, but they were booked. This is very nice hotel, but I recommend it for business. While it has access to the Hilton Hawaiian Village's beach access and pools, the Doubletree itself doesn't feel "resort like" enough for a vacation stay. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha travel4fun3319, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as it helps us know where we need to improve. While we do not consider ourselves a "resort" hotel, we do try and cater to business class guests. So we are very pleased to hear... More 

Ft Worth, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It all started out well enough on this Christmas vacation - as a Diamond member (77 nights in a Hilton property during 2014), they upgraded me to a suite. As it is, I'm paying almost four bills a night (includes thirty/night for parking), so I'm grateful, but not overly, especially when my cancellation date passes and they start advertising my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Ramon G, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback pertaining to your stay with us. Feedback from our guests gives us insight into the areas which we need to improve upon, so we always appreciate it. We apologize for the many issues you encountered that are stated in your review. We are looking into each... More 

Bridgeport, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a clean hotel and located right where I wanted to spend time while visiting Hawaii for my ninth trip. I only placed reservation a week and a half before Christmas. The room was very quiet and allowed me to sleep off the jet lag quite easily. The hotel is very nice and the staff were all very friendly.... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanaGuestServices, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Janice M, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay with us. We enjoy reading reviews like yours as they encourage our staff on the good work that they are doing. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only our location, but also our proactive ways to provide safety... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki

Address: 1956 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Alana Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Honolulu
DoubleTree By Hilton Alana Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#45 Family Hotel in Honolulu

553 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (201)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
View from room (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (329)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Oceanview Guestroom With Balcony (Pre-Renovation) (119)
Viewed
Ocean View Suite With Balcony (Pre-Renovation) (14)
Viewed
Pool (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay