We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
#30 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
2,864 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Write a Review

2,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    892
    359
    177
    142
See reviews for
720
1,318
109
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2864)
  • Mar-May only
    (680)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (840)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (665)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (679)
All months
Southampton, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We came here on the second leg of our trip to Hawaii. Lobby, hotel, and spa are all excellent and beautiful; however, crowded. Room... was average and perhaps a little below. We stayed in the tower wing For the price we paid for a partial ocean view ( and it really was partial) I expected a little better. Usually Westin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Marie, Mahalo for your review. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. As a Westin, we are committed to being a partner in our guests’ well-being, ensuring that when they are with us, they leave feeling better than when they arrived. We regret that your experience in your... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 10 nights great service, loved the spectacle of being right on the beach Rooms were quite small, but was offset by the service of staff. After breakfast we would take a banana and that would get us through to dinner, the Breakfast was great and a few drinks in the afternoon listening to the band beside... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Damian, It is wonderful to hear that your 10 night stay at the Moana was enjoyable and that our associates were attentive and friendly, helping you to feel welcome and cared for at the Moana. Guestrooms in the Tower Wing are revered for their spacious accommodations, private lanais, and exhilarating ocean views, so this may better fit with your... More

Reno, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were guests at the Moana Surfrider 9/13-20/2014. This is the second time we have stayed there and it is still a magnificent place to stay. The staff will do everything in their power to fulfill any request. Some reviews have talked about the size of the rooms. True, they are not as large as the mega resorts, but if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Riddell Ohana, Thank you for choosing the Moana to celebrate your 20th anniversary. It was a pleasure to be a part of your special occasion. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the nightly entertainment beneath the iconic Banyan Tree and the Moana’s charming historical ambiance. Most of all, we are pleased to... More

Kiama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First of all I would like to comment on two stays here at the Moana. Our first stay of three days arriving here was just spectacular . The first appearance of entrance and lobby stunning. Front desk staff all lovely and felt welcomed, but we were so disappointed with our room in the Banyan area being so small no room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Michelle, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you were able to experience accommodations in a variety of the Moana’s guestrooms, finding one in the Tower Wing that fit perfectly with your preferences. The conveniences and comforts, including the Westin Heavenly Bed, and exhilarating views from your private lanai are touches that enhance... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beyond our expectations from arrival to departure. We just did NOT want to leave !! Everyone and we mean EVERYONE was so kind and most pleasant in wishing us Happy Anniv; surprises each day. Beautiful views; beautiful room; beautiful beach and pool areas; beautiful grounds; wonderful food and drinks; within walking distance of so many places. I especially liked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Sandra, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to have been a part of your wedding anniversary celebration in Hawaii. It is wonderful to hear that your entire experience with us from arrival to departure exceeded your expectations. We are glad that the comforts of your guestroom, exhilarating ocean views, and charming ambiance of the Moana... More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property is right on Waikiki Beach. Great location to the beach, shopping and restaurants. There is a mini farmers market at King Something (a shopping square about a block directly across from the property). You can grab inexpensive, ready-made salads, fruit, bread, and skewered, cooked meats. If you're a jogger or runner, the loop from this property to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your arrival experience and interaction with our Guest Service Agent during check-in was less than perfect, but are glad that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable. Maintaining an active lifestyle perfectly aligns with our commitment to helping our guests achieve wellness during their stay and we are glad... More

Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A few weeks after we stayed here and my heart still aches with disappointment when I think of this hotel and the experience it could have been. From the pictures and the fact it is 5 star I think I set my expectations way too high. The Moana is heaving with activity from day until night. The only quiet time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Eddwina, Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We regret that we were unable to exceed your expectations and apologize for the challenges you faced during your stay. We are disappointed to hear of your encounters with our associates. At the Moana, our vision is to create Moana Memories for our guests by sharing the aloha spirit and providing... More

Brownsville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is an excellent Hotel with a Victorian Style, clean and well located. The restaurants are expensive but you have many options just in a walking distance. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can enjoy sitting at the beach and/or sitting on the chairs looking the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Cjaih, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Moana. As the first hotel built on Waikiki Beach in 1901, the Moana stands today as a historic landmark, steeped in timeless beauty and offering our guests a unique experience of Hawaiian hospitality. We are proud to blend her original design and historic features with modern comforts and conveniences to... More

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off I write this from two aspects, one is I have a mobility issue and two from observations. Apologies for long winded review. I have walked past this hotel many times and have wanted to stay here. I got my chance and was not disappointed. On arrival the first thing you notice are the rocking chairs on the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you felt at ease and welcome at the Moana. As a Westin resort, our mission is to be a partner in our guests’ well-being, ensuring that when they are with us, the leave feeling better than when they arrived. It is nice to hear that you were pleased... More

Antrim, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the 'White Lady' for 8 nights as part of a 3 week trip to the USA. Lovely public areas. Very impressive frontage so good first impressions. Check in staff very friendly, efficient and welcoming. We had splashed out a little and booked a Tower deluxe room with ocean view. It was the end of the row and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Aloha Ojarm, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that your stay at the Moana was enjoyable and refreshing. From the accommodations in your Tower Deluxe Ocean guestroom to the nutritious breakfast buffet on the veranda to your relaxing days spent on Waikiki Beach, we hope that your time with us helped you to create fond... More

Do you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Very nice(24)
  • Historic wing(22)
  • Tower rooms(15)
  • Next time(6)
  • Live music(6)
  • Would highly recommend(5)
  • City view room(5)
  • Second floor(4)
  • City view(4)
  • Street noise(3)

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

2,202 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1681)
Viewed
Room/suite (306)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (363)
Viewed
Bathroom (70)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (150)
Viewed
0:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (152)
Viewed
Dining (52)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (585)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (508)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Banyan Classic City Room (109)
Viewed
Beach (38)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (93)
Viewed
Suite (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (161)
Viewed
Tower Premier Ocean Room (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa