We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    274
    420
    222
    61
    56
See reviews for
236
399
99
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1033)
  • Mar-May only
    (277)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (299)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (233)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent the last 8 days staying at this hotel. 3 minute walk to great beaches. one block away from shuttle services stop and local pink line service. Restaurants and bars a couple of minutes away. Perfect for anyone wanting to unwind. Staff friendly and helpful. Good size rooms with a balcony.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolgoolga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very convenient hotel for walking anywhere along the beachfront in Waikiki. Rather old and dated, with barely a glimpse of the ocean from our room, it was but 5 minutes from the really lovely and safe enclosed swimming beach on the end of Waikiki beach ( the Diamond Head end). This hotel wasn't expensive, was clean and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed our location and amenities during your stay. We are glad you got to experience the island tour and some of the beautiful views of Waikiki, We would love to have you back again in the near future for another visit. Thank you for your review and have a fabulous day! More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It's an older style hotel but well maintained and great value, friendly staff, fantastic location, comfortable rooms with amazing views. It is located at the end of Waikiki beach, so it is quieter and more peaceful of an evening when out on the balcony. We stayed on the 14 floor in a Diamond Head View room. Incredible views of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It sounds like you had an excellent experience in Waikiki and were able to take advantage of many of the convenient offerings near the hotel. We look forward to having you back for another visit in the near future and wish you a wonderful day! More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

good location , clean, stayed in room 1512 , excellent veiw of diamond head and ocean , would stay again , short walk to the beach , close to LU LU 's restaurant [had breakfast there most mornings , has nice outlook over beach]

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is excellent to hear that you loved our location and view of Diamond Head from your room. Our guests love our close proximity to the beach and we are pleased to know that you did as well. We appreciate you complimenting our cleanliness. Our housekeeping department works hard... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved that we were facing the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head and was so lovely to listen to the birds, lions and elephants while on the balcony watching the surfers. Basic room, free wifi and fridge. Staff were friendly and helpful however on check out we were rushed through and didn't get asked if we had a nice stay or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Our guests love the fantastic views from their room and we are pleased you did as well. It's great to hear that our staff were able to assist you with packing your luggage. We apologize if you felt rushed during your... More 

Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel for six nights early August 2015. We truly enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had booked an ocean view room and the staff met all our requests regarding asking for a room on a higher floor as well as asking for a corner room. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are proud to hear that our staff did an excellent job accommodating/serving you throughout your stay. Thank you for complimenting our excellent location and recommending our hotel to future guests. We hope to have you back again in the near future and... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at Queen Kapiolani for 5 nights and were very impressed with what we paid for. We stayed in an ocean view room and the views were stunning. The staff were attentive and our room was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a savior as it was so hot during the night. The restaurant was too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so happy to hear that we were everything you needed during your time in Hawaii. Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate your input and pictures you shared for future guests. We would absolutely love to have you back for another visit and hope you have an... More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel set on the edge of Waikiki beach. Overlooking the zoo and parks and sea. Stay in this unassuming hotel, sit by the pool or walk a couple of hundred yards to the busy beach and promonade. Rise early and enjoy the quiet or enjoy the hassle and bustle of Waikiki. Good rooms, cleaning staff great, views amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is excellent to hear that you had a wonderful view and were able to experience many of the beautiful aspects of the island during your stay. Thank you for complimenting our staff. We work hard to ensure all of our guests have a memorable experience during their visit. We... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had just finished a drum camp on the island and decided to stay and explore Waikiki. We could not check in until 3pm, and we were told to leave our bags with the bellboys. They saw all our bags and very loudly among themselves said 'Jeez, why do people have to carry so much darn luggage'. I was personally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your drum camp. We apologize for the comments made about your luggage quantity. This is unacceptable and management has been informed so that we may address this issue. It is common place for most hotel's check-in time to be 3PM and we apologize for... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten breakfast there twice, out of necessity, disappointed both times. Staff is not very attentive, rude Asian guests, cold food, and certainly not worth the $18 per person! Would not recommend it! Would not consider other meals there! Omelet bar staff too busy fraternizing with the hostess!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize for any challenges you faced with the breakfast service offered at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Although we cannot control the demeanor of our guests we have contacted management regarding your comments on staff behavior and quality of food. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we may address the issue immediately. We hope this situation... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Diamond head(45)
  • Great location(7)
  • Waikiki beach(7)
  • Ocean views(6)
  • Very nice(6)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,059 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (492)
Viewed
Room/suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (85)
Viewed
View from room (127)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (143)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (496)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Diamond Head View Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (84)
Viewed
Jr Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (53)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (10)
Viewed
Standard Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (40)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (50)
Viewed
Standard Room with Ocean View (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
White Sands Hotel
#55 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#14 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#63 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay