We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Queen Kapiolani Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

67%
Positive reviews?

HOTEL PHOTOS

Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    1,017 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      271
      413
      219
      60
      54
    See reviews for
    232
    391
    97
    43
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
    Date | Rating
    • Chinese (Simplified) first
    • Danish first
    • Dutch first
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Italian first
    • Japanese first
    • Polish first
    • Portuguese first
    • Russian first
    • Spanish first
    • Swedish first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (1017)
    • Mar-May only
      (277)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (283)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (233)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (224)
    All months
    Australia
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    Terrible experience ,staff unwilling to help.Not customer focused upon returning home wrote 2 emails and never had a reply.Would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Quality of room was dated,old carpet,walls bathroom smelly,even though housemaids did try their best.Towels old and in poor condition,Staff especially front of house not willing to assist with the most simple requests.Without travellers they wouldn't... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, It is unfortunate that you found your accommodations unsuitable during your time in Honolulu. We apologize for the challenges you faced with Guest Services and management has been informed immediately so this may be attended to. We urge you to reach out to our General Manager, Ed Saunders, at esaudners@queenkapiolani.com if you have further questions, comments or concerns.... More 

    Louisville, Kentucky
    Level Contributor
    37 reviews
    25 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

    We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and were overall happy about it. The hotel is in the fantastic area close to Waikiki beach and its rooms are clean and spacious. However, we had two issues. First, the room did not have a balcony which is a huge minus especially in the summer period because we could not ensure... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are glad you loved our excellent location in Honolulu and found our close proximity to Waikiki Beach convenient throughout your stay. Our staff strives to provide all of our guests a memorable experience and we are happy to hear that housekeeping did a wonderful job keeping your room... More 

    Level Contributor
    25 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

    The queen has been updated since our last visit . New look to to the lobby , new elevators that really work now , comfortable rooms . The down side is that the rates have gone up . Valet parking pretty expensive , we self parked at the hotel next door for half the price. Still the location is great... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are glad you still find our location "great" and conveniently close to the beach. We have made improvements to our property and we are proud that you noticed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return once again to visit. We wish you safe... More 

    Houston, Texas
    Level Contributor
    19 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    This hotel was a great location for the price. You can literally walk out of the hotel and see the beach, a 2-3 minute walk. The room was average. We got a Diamond Head View and it was pretty great. The only downside is that on our last full day there, the water was shut off because of a broken... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, We are happy you got to experience the dazzling views of Diamond Head during your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani. Our guests love that the beach is only a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel and we are glad you do to. We apologize for the challenges regarding the water pump and any inconvenience it caused you.... More 

    Newcastle, Australia
    Level Contributor
    44 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Seriously you get what you pay for. We are staying here now for two nights & so far it's average. Pool tiny and no sun umbrellas around the pool either. Small rooms. Our mini fridge is bashed up. Wall paper is coming off. Wifi exists but is incredibly slow. Blah!

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is unfortunate that you found our accommodations "average." We have informed guest services about the challenges with your room and ask that you please reach out to the front desk staff if you have any further issues. We hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation and have... More 

    Greenville, South Carolina
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    All of those listing negative reviews on this hotel must be staying at some other property. We just spend 5 days here and it was outstanding. The staff is nice, particularly a guy named Travis at the desk. The room was clean, orderly, and serviced properly each day. Yes, there are the roll out glass windows, but how great to... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 4
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you loved you room and our excellent location. We take pride in providing our guests a memorable experience during their stay. We hope to accommodate you once again and wish you safe travels. Have a fantastic day! More 

    Beaverton, Oregon
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Staff does not listen. Rooms are tiny. Bathroom tiniest yet. Housekeeping leaves at 4pm, but...oh...they forgot to tell us that and we returned to a room not yet cleaned at 2:30 and took a quick nap...until about 4pm. We had to ask twice for fresh towels. The hotel changes the password every Tuesday, and they may or may not tell... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that you found your accommodations unsuitable during your stay with us at Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We strive to provide all of our guests with a positive memorable experience. If you have any further comments or concerns regarding the challenges during your stay, please contact our... More 

    Edmonton
    2 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    There are a lot of pro's and just a few con's - I actually feel bad stating con's because everything else was so amazing. The customer service at this hotel is above par. I booked my stay with expedia, when I arrived , the hotel did not have my reservation and asked me to wait. I waited maybe 5 mins... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 3
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received stellar service from our staff. We hope you will continue to choose Queen Kapiolani for future visits and that you have safe travels wherever you go. Have a wonderful day. More 

    La Quinta, California
    Level Contributor
    27 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Queen Kapiolani location is great...right across from the Honolulu Zoo/Kuhio Park and just paces away from the world famous Waikiki Beach and shops/restaurants. Queen Kap is a great value with adequate rooms but this is not an amenity filled, exotic, full service resort experience (even though a $14.95 per day resort fee added). We enjoyed our stay but lowered our... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 3
    Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of The Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful location. Our guests enjoy our close proximity to the beach, zoo, and shopping and we are pleased to hear you were able to experience this as well during your visit. We hope to accommodate you once... More 

    Hotel Review Summarization

    What travelers say

    • Diamond head(45)
    • Great location(7)
    • Waikiki beach(7)
    • Ocean views(6)
    • Very nice(6)
    • Friendly and helpful(3)
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    1,033 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (482)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (86)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (85)
    Viewed
    View from room (127)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (36)
    Viewed
    Dining (6)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (9)
    Viewed
    Other (133)

    Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

    Viewed
    All expert photos (496)
    Viewed
    Amenities (66)
    Viewed
    Diamond Head View Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (84)
    Viewed
    Jr Suite (46)
    Viewed
    Pool (53)
    Viewed
    Restaurants and Bars (10)
    Viewed
    Standard Hotel Room (Pre-Renovation) (40)
    Viewed
    Standard Room with City View (50)
    Viewed
    Standard Room with Ocean View (37)
    Viewed
    The Hotel (110)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (55)
    Viewed
    View from room (5)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (36)
    Viewed
    Dining (4)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (6)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (4)
    Check In Check Out
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
    Park Shore Waikiki
    #14 of 82 in Honolulu
    4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
    White Sands Hotel
    #55 of 82 in Honolulu
    4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
    Waikiki
    Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
    Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
    #33 of 82 in Honolulu
    4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
    #60 of 82 in Honolulu
    4.0 of 5 stars 1,319 reviews
    Aqua Palms Waikiki
    #47 of 82 in Honolulu
    4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
    Vive Hotel Waikiki
    #7 of 82 in Honolulu
    4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Price Your Stay