We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pagoda Hotel

2.0 of 5 1525 Rycroft Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pagoda Hotel
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    81
    76
    51
    69
See reviews for
102
47
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've been staying at the Pagoda once or twice a year for about 40 years. In our experience over those years, the staff has been friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and with expected facilities (air conditioning, refrigerator, TV, coffee maker, toaster, radio-alarm-clock). The hotel is within walking distance (1 to 7 blocks) from Walmart, Ross, Ala Moana Shopping Center,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Every year our church host our annual Transformation Conference and the Pagoda is where we always stay for the week. Every year it gets better especially with the recent renovations - we love our room! It is very comfy! Yodie Mizukami and the housekeeping staff was always on time preparing our room for us coming "home" to our room after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort Collins, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't believe the pictures on the website. This is the first time I've ever seen a hotel photo not match up with the actual hotel. I stayed in the tower of the lower part of the hotel, so it was cheaper and also much creepier. The bad: The noise was awful. People were slamming their doors or making other noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha gimmickgame, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have posted your concerns regarding cleanliness and the room not appearing to match the photos in our Housekeeping Department and Employee Lunchroom to remind everyone about consistency. I do hope you give us another try in... More

Kula, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always stay at the Pagoda when visiting Oahu. The location is great for shopping as Ross is right across the street and Walmart and Ala Moana Shopping Center are both about a 5-10 minute walk away. Additionally, we love shopping at Don Quixote for Asian and local goodies to bring back home and they are about a 7 minute... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Janice S, Mahalo for the review! We are always happy to re-welcome our kama'āina guests and very much appreciate that you always return to us. Regarding your tip...the higher floors are not only quieter, but also include breakfast for up to 2 people per day (this is our Deluxe Category). We look forward to seeing you visit O'ahu! A... More

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There's not much to rave about this hotel. Staff customer service wasn't too good. While at the front desk, even with no other customers, I was not acknowledged and made to wait until they wanted to assist me. My daughter arrived a few days after me and complained about getting bitten in her bed. On a couple occasions, I stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Terry O, Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear that we were average and that we were unable to impress. Service is important to me, so the issue with the Front Desk will be addressed and corrected. Addressing the sheet change, there are notices in the in-room welcome book and in the room that detail full... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best thing about this hotel is that you can walk to Ala Moana mall which was has the best food court!! There is also a Walmart located basically across the street which is great if you want to run out for snacks (which helped us save money on food) . . . or to pick up a candle and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Lisa S, Mahalo for taking the time to post a review! I am pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, ideal location, and value during your recent stay with us. I apologize that the room had a strange smell...we hope to fix that soon. If you do return to Hawai'i, we hope to welcome you back here at the... More

Kailua-Kona, HI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

No complaints. Very pleased. Not a great neighborhood, but it just didn't matter. All my needs were met at the Pagoda, and I actually used some of the stores nearby. Room was clean, hot shower, fridge, etc., etc. I would totally recommend this hotel to any one looking for a clean, pretty, and great hotel at a very affordable price.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha onogumbo, Mahalo nui for posting your thoughts about the Pagoda! I am ecstatic to hear that you had a wonderful experience and hope that you come back to us very, very soon! A Hui Hou, Paul Dun - Hotel Manager More

Mission Viejo, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The location to the Ala Moana mall makes this a plus location(a mere three blocks). I mention the mall because the teenagers we traveled with loved the food court (it was massive and the variety is great for all appetites). The shopping at this mall is really upscale, all the really big designer names are there. Surprisingly, just outside the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Journalingrox, Mahalo for taking the time to post a review! I agree that our location is a wonderful asset and am thankful that you would be willing to stay with us again on your return. Though we are sad that we are losing the Terrace as affordable housing, our Tower is much quieter and we are currently installing new... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We booked two double beds and ended up with 4 singles. A room that sleeps 4 and only has enough cutlery and crockery for two is not good enough.You have a coffee machine but no kettle. Between the two sites only 2 washing machines worked . The Wifi wasn't working in reception but nobody seemed to care. Mary Lou was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Rob S, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and bring your concerns to my attention! Our lobby wifi is now in working order and we are soon going to have wifi in all of the Tower rooms. Though we do not have a kettle in the rooms, we do have them in Housekeeping and should... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I was let in on the local secret of the Pagoda Hotel when I was on a one year fellowship on Oahu at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Many locals from other islands book their stay on Oahu at the Pagoda because they give a 'Kama'aina (local) rate' if you have a Hawaii drivers' license. Even without the local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha bbails, Thank you for your review! I am glad you were 'let in on the secret' years ago and that you returned to our establishment. Your review was very thorough and highlighted our selling points - our unique location, great staff, clean rooms and wonderful price. Mahalo for letting others in on the secret and I hope to see... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (10)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (80)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Hotel Room Deluxe (21)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay