We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Review This Hotel

4,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    1,280
    292
    94
    55
See reviews for
1,067
1,900
111
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,005)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (4050)
  • Mar-May only
    (1015)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1046)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1051)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (938)
All months
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been to Honolulu 3 times, and spend most of my time at this hotel. Just got back from 2 weeks on March 19th. The staff is very friendly, it's very chill, open, and non-pretentious. The hotel is small, and quaint. The pool is small and quaint, it's a saltwater pool, not noisy at all can get busy. Very clean!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Starwoman1982, Thank you for being a loyal guest of the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort and thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that we made you feel comfortable…like home. Our goal is to provide our guests all the comforts of home and at the same time, provide... More 

New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel, it's facilities and all staff that we came into contact with were exceptional in their care of us. My only complaint is that the water was so rocky it was impossible to enjoy. We were told that beaches near the other hotels closer to Waikiki had been replenished but not up near our hotel. I would definitely consider... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to compliment our hotel in the review you recently submitted with TripAdvisor. It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff do not go unrecognized. We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other resort we have our... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was my wife who suggested this hotel, after going to Hawaii with friends a few years ago. I still remember her saying that, the hotel was on the the beach and how right she was. They have both a bar and restaurant on the beach at the rear of the hotel, where you can watch the sunset or look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha MJH1010 and mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. I am delighted to read that you found the hotels location and facilities to be great and that you found our rooms well maintained. You can be assured... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Pros 1. Great location 2. Great rate 3. On beach 4. Good food Cons 1. Beach is narrow and has coral 20 out. Hard on feet. I cut my feet. 2. Front desk people have been there a long time and offer poor customer service 3. Bar at beach is small 4. Internet is free but slow 5. Pool is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Greetings from Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Although, we can’t change some of the cons, we do apologize that you didn’t feel our genuine hospitality. Welcoming our guests and treating them like our `ohana (family) is what we truly pride ourselves in. We hope that you will give... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

plenty to do and see in this area, mostly shopping and dining and beach. My mother and I love to road trip so we rented a car and braved the Honolulu traffic - I'm not scared and managed to get the car returned after 6 days with no problem. Thanks, Alamo, your shoutout next :) We saw all of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha MsBoltar and Mahalo for taking the time to post your review of the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort and for your four star rating. We are glad that you found our location ideal and that you enjoyed the facilities. I was delighted to read that you were able to visit our historic sites on our beautiful island. We would... More 

Aberdeen
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a beautiful property. Staff are excellent. Our room has an amazing view. But the noise at night is outrageous! The beach is public and there's a restaurant facing onto the beach below our room. I have called security only to be told nothing can be done except for the hotel to call the police. But they have assured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha! Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort. We appreciate the feedback about your experience here. Being located on the beach in urban Waikiki, our property is closely surrounded by many hotels and businesses. Thus, it is no surprise to find an abundance of people on the beach, on the streets, and in the restaurants throughout the... More 

Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were here in Feburary and March 2015. The staff especially the Concierge Heather was very helpful and knowledgable about the area and them activities. Would highly recommend this property. Rooms clean, comfortable bed ,10th floor, excellent view. Check in to check out staff was great. Best food ever at Duke's!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha Julia D and Mahalo for your five star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the clean rooms, that you found our beds to be comfortable and that the check in staff were great. I will share your positive review with the entire staff. Mahalo again. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am coming to an end of a 8 night stay at the Outrigger Reef. I tend to stay here frequently as my job has me in Hawaii on a some what regular basis. With that being said here are a few things I have experienced on my most recent stay. First, I will touch on customer service. From the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to compliment our hotel in the review you recently submitted with TripAdvisor. It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff do not go unrecognized. We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other resort we have our... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 5 days here. Fabulous location with amazing views of the ocean and Diamond Head. Beach at your doorstep. Room bright and great size with ocean breezes. Located near shopping and restaurants. Good location to go sight seeing from. Restaurants good. Pool not great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OutriggerReefHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback we receive and use it to improve our hospitality and recognize our employees. You can be assured we will share this with our entire hotel staff. Looking forward to your return visit with us at the Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort! More 

Flintshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had planned this holiday two years ago to celebrate my husbands retirement our forty wedding anniversary and my .65 birthday whilst we were there.these celebrations were mentioned on the booking and i also mentioned them on check in .to o avail . The rooms as in em enough with two balconys with a sea vie and city view. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review

Aloha sueflintshire, We understand that we didn't handle the miscommunication to your satisfaction and we offer a sincere apology. If you find any discrepancies on your return home, please do let us know so we can make this right for you. Mahalo, Sheryl Tsugawa Assistant General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Shore bird(45)
  • Very nice(37)
  • Pool area(30)
  • Ocean view room(29)
  • Happy Hour(22)
  • Breakfast buffet(13)
  • Hotel staff(10)
  • Live music(10)
  • Short walk(8)
  • Shorebird restaurant(7)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,683 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2036)
Viewed
View from room (315)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (377)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (299)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (416)
Viewed
Dining (108)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (454)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (617)
Viewed
Amenities (88)
Viewed
Beach (62)
Viewed
City View Room (93)
Viewed
Moderate Room (13)
Viewed
Oceanfront Room (14)
Viewed
One Bedroom City View Suite (23)
Viewed
One Bedroom Oceanfront Suite (41)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (23)
Viewed
Pool (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (97)
Viewed
The Hotel (118)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question