We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OHANA Waikiki East Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
150 Kaiulani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

1,142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    292
    524
    231
    57
    38
See reviews for
311
402
89
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1142)
  • Mar-May only
    (303)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (282)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (284)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

5 mins walk to the beach, clean hotel and friendly staff, decent room size. very central location and walking distance to many eateries/restaurants and grocery stores. the shower stall was a bit small but manageable and would not deter me from staying here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at Ohana East for the two weeks that we visited Oahu. Our flight got in early which meant we got to the hotel earlier then normal check in time. The staff on the front desk were really helpful and accommodating and were able to get us in earlier (we had 3 rooms). The only issue my partner and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I read many mixed reviews on this hotel and I was a little nervous booking a room. We found the hotel to be clean, the staff were friendly and the location was good. The room was a bit small but that is expected in that area. We enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel and we will return to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a lovely room on the 15th floor with a nice view of the ocean from our balcony. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever encountered pillows good as well room size was generous but we were paying top dollar so you would expect this for the price. Only complaint was we could hear the conversation of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the past 6 years we have returned to this fantastic family (ohana) hotel. Comfortable and spacious rooms, friendly staff, and great location near public transport, beach, restaurants, and shops. Ohana East is a home away from home. All staff are friendly and assist in every manner possible. Have no hesitation recommending this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Right hotel. Right location, Right price. What a recommendation. Mahalo. Thank you so much. I very much look forward to welcoming you back next year for seven in a row. You mention the Waikiki Trolley service so I’ll take a moment to exploit the opportunity if I may. We charge the daily Connection Fee (Resort Fee by another name simply... More 

Sydney, Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had the pleasure of spending 10 days at the Ohana East in June 2015. The hotel is conveniently located to a lot of eateries and only a short stroll to the beach. The swimming pool was one of the best in Waikiki from what I saw. My room was spacious and clean. I will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning / G’day Many thanks for the wonderful five point review and recommendation. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us during your ten days here in Waikiki. Hope you had a safe and delay free return flight back to Sydney and we most certainly look forward to welcoming you back home when next you visit Oahu. Sincerely Niel Mason... More 

Kapaa, Hawaii
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My stay at Ohana Waikiki East was so pleasant and comfortable. Maile at the front desk was AWESOME!! She did an amazing job helping me and made my stay very enjoyable. She is one of the reasons why I would go back to Ohana Waikiki East. Not only was the hotel clean, quiet and relaxing but the staff there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Mahalo Jackie, We so much appreciate you posting this comment here. As hosts, we know the hotel room is just a place to sleep (Our stunning Outrigger Reef and Outrigger Waikiki beachfront properties are the choice when looking to spend time in the room taking in the views) so we work so hard at the service delivery. Maile certainly makes... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great price and very convenient to Waikiki Beach. We appreciated the security features of this hotel, its cleanliness, and friendly front desk and maid service. We rented a large van and was told as we pulled up that the parking for the hotel could not accommodate the large van so we had to return to the car rental agency and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning and thank you Terry, Your recommendation and the commendation of our staff are most sincerely appreciated. Regarding the van, apologies extended; perhaps we may better have handled your scenario but please accept their position being a little gun shy after another high vehicle collected a fire sprinkler head in the car park – you can imagine the outcomes... More 

L.A. Calif
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been stay at hotel for over 10 years. This is a good place to stay for reasonable cost and benefits. Central to walking around and next store to the NEW Internal Market Place that is being rebuilt. It is 4 blocks away from McDonalds. There is a market close by with good prices. The pool area is good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to return to stay with us over the last ten years. The hotel does charge a resort fee (connection fee). It is a result of guest demand for product and service only achievable when delivered through economies of scale. We do not hide it and certainly attempt to clearly identify it across all booking channels including... More 

Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was clean. We stayed 5 nights with another couple. 80% of our showers were cold. No hot water. The pool was in supervised and the other guests had no consideration for anyone. We found cigarette butts in the pool. The window did not close properly and the wind whistle throught the opening. We bought duct tape to seal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OHANAEastManager, General Manager at OHANA Waikiki East Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Judy, I offer sincere apologies for any interruption to essential services and for the bad behavior of other guests; the inconvenience and interruption most regrettable. Whilst this open forum is not the appropriate channel to attend to detail I offer assurance that staff were concerned and, on investigation, find their trail of follow-up undertaken. We will certainly look... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

684 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (368)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
Room/suite (81)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (275)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
City View Room (29)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite Kitchenette (41)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (45)
Viewed
Standard Room (73)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay