We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Honolulu accommodations

Aston Waikiki Sunset

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aston Waikiki Sunset to your Saves list
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Paul S Sydney
  • Overview
  • Reviews (960)
  • Photos (465)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (142)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

960 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    435
    169
    67
    40
See reviews for
530
145
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Flight Centre recommended this hotel to my wife and I as the staff member we were dealing with had previously stayed there. It is at the Diamond Head end of the high rise, three blocks back from the beach and over looking the zoo. On arrival the receptionist advised us that we were on the 26th floor but then added... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel provided adequate accommodations, friendly staff, and a terrific view from our 31st floor 2 bedroom suite. The beds were comfortable, and we were surprised at how the place was very quiet at night, allowing for very restful sleep considering all the sirens you could hear when you had the lanai door open. There is a fire station close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this based on some TA reviews as it was a 2 bedroom apartment to provide for 4 adults. We had requested an Ocean view and got half a view from the rooms we spent least time in - bedrooms and bathroom - room 3114. In short this place needs a damn good makeover. The bedrooms are small -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Frequenttraveller165, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I do apologize for not meeting your expectations on product and service. I will be forwarding your comments to our Director of Housekeeping for review and suggest improvements. We want to Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Hawaii. Mahalo!!! More

Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Aston Shores Waikiki Sunset in Honolulu via a recommendation. I was told it is reasonably priced, clean and close to the beach. I was disappointed when the front desk clerk said were required to pay an additional $18 per day for their “Popular Service” which included in-room WiFi, coffee and tea daily, newspaper, room safe, Local and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha FranFromFlushing, Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. The amenity fee has been going on for about three years. It is communicated to all of our travel partners and on the travel websites. I do apologize if this wasn't communicated to you when you made your reservation. I will forward your comments on our product... More

Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family was originally supposed to stay in one of the hotels rental suites but the Ali'i Rental Agency we went with did not properly follow through with our reservation so they rented it to someone else and did not get a hold of us before hand so we did not find out that they rented it out to someone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha mimi431972, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We're sorry to hear you were placed in the situation of not having the room you booked, but we're happy we were able to assist when needed. As for the rate, it is based on occupancy and time of the year. July is considered high... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked on Expedia after being told it was comparable with the Hyatt Park where we stayed previously. It is not. It's dingy and filthy, and we could not let our three kids spend time there, we were booked for 14 nights. There was dirt and stains everywhere, trash in corners of the room. This place is a real dive.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Rolanderson, Thank you for your honest review of the Aston Waikiki Sunset. Further review of your reservation shows there was a room change upon check in from the 10th floor to the 14th. There wasn't any explanation on why you were unhappy with our rooms. We hoped there would have been an opportunity to make it right when you... More

Fyfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel sucks...they never gave me the room that I reserved, they cleaned our room once in the whole time we were there and they refused to return a deposit that they charged to my credit card. I spoke to the manager about my deposit and he tried to convince me that I was wrong despite me being told that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Erika A, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay with us. I have spoken to the manager regarding this situation and reviewed the paperwork of your stay. There is a record of an authorization of the amenity fee and for the additional amount you are noting in your comments. This additional amount... More

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Helpful and friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable. good room size, very clean, great air conditioning. reasonable amenities in hotel as well as room. Hotel close to Waikiki and only 30 minute walk to main shops

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha hbabe23, Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and our staff. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again, should your plans include us on your next visit to Hawaii.... More

Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had booked a Standard One Bedroom Room on a Lower Floor, and was delighted upon checkin to find out that I had been upgraded to a 32nd floor Superior Suite, which was beautiful and started my trip off very well! The daily amenities fee had already been included in my room price so there were no "surprise" charges, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Claire R, Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay with us. We're glad to hear we were able to make your stay great from the start. Compliments to the staff for being friendly and helpful during your stay. I will be sure to share this with them. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was the start of our trip to the states and the finish it was an amazing way to start and finish our trip. Staff very friendly and rooms are great for families. We will be back one day. Thank you for making our first trip to Hawaii amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review

Aloha Trudie D, Thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us. Glad to hear our staff and rooms made it great for you and your family on your first visit to Hawaii. Thank you again on staying with us and we hope to see you in the future. Mahalo!!! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Aston Waikiki Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

465 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (441)
Viewed
View from room (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (57)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Other (175)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
435

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer