We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Waikiki Wave

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Add Photo Write a Review

2,401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    833
    947
    382
    158
    81
See reviews for
701
809
186
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2401)
  • Mar-May only
    (641)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (576)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (590)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (594)
All months
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had the pleasure of staying at the wakiki wave. When I first got there the service was excellent. The lady at the front desk Dee went out of her way to help me and my family she was very friendly and professional. My room was very clean and amazing view. This has been my favorite hotel in wakiki so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This Hotel is in a perfect location. It is located within easy walking distance of Shops, Restaurants and the Beach. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had read some unfavourable reviews on this site but I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed for 10 nights, our room was clean, and well supplied. Room was serviced daily and bed linen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

While the staff was friendly and the location was close to everything we needed, the hotel was very unclean. Our bathroom had black mold along the base of the shower and when the mirror fogged up you could read what other previous guests had written on it. One actually said "wash me". The room was nothing like the photos. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Our apologies that your recent experience, although positive in terms of service and location, did not seem up to our very strict standards for cleanliness. You have our assurance that every guest room is cleaned daily but we will review your comments with our housekeeping team. Should any issue or concern arise during a visit to our hotel, please contact... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located within easy walking distance to the main beach and shops at Waikiki. The staff are lovely and friendly and super helpful as well. The room is roomy and clean and the beds and linen lovely to sleep in. All in all excellent value for money. There is construction work going on behind the hotel at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Aloha! It is great to read that you enjoyed our location and the service of our staff; even more so that you received a good value. Thank you for mentioning The International Market Place reconstruction next door. We are all anticipating the opening soon with a shopper’s dream of about 75 retailers! It would be wonderful if you could return... More 

Rancho Dominguez, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, very close to downtown and the shopping district. Parking is a problem, very limited due to construction. We had a Jr suite, which was just enough room for three people, the room contained a refrigerator coffee pot and microwave. Great city views, and again very close to the local shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Thank you for mentioning our convenient location to local shopping! We’re excited that our neighbor, The International Market Place, will open soon with 7 new restaurants and as well as a shopper’s paradise with so many retailers. Our apologies regarding the parking, but we would like to let you know that overflow parking is available and discounted at the front... More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was an absolute rip off! I am soooooo disappointed that I booked two nights here. I spent over $500 for just two nights with NO continental breakfast! The ladies at the front desk were extremely rude and very unhelpful. We came during rainy weather and asked the front desk if they provided umbrellas. They told us NO and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

It is extremely disheartening to read your comments when we would have been happy to help you through the process of selecting accommodations, packages and arranged for a check in time that met all your needs. For example, we are currently offering a Starbucks Breakfast package for $139 a night that includes a $20 Starbucks gift card! Thank you for... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I don't like to talk stink, but this place is really not a good place to stay. The parking is a nightmare (there are only about 20-30 spots at the hotel, then you have to navigate one-way streets to get to the overflow garage... then you have to pay out-of-pocket and have the balance 'deducted' from your room charge), the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and sharing some information regarding parking at the hotel. We would like to add that should overflow parking be needed (at the Waikiki Trade Center located next to the hotel) there is a special rate offered and a deduction given when you present your receipt to the Front Desk. Our guests have shared their thoughts... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a couple of nights at the Aqua Waikiki Wave hotel. Our stay was a mixed bag of experiences. The location is great and the hotel staff was awesome. The hotel itself seemed aged and the rooms definitely need a renovation. The furnitures and the bathroom looked a bit worn out. Everything was clean though but the bathroom smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

You are right – location, location! Along with our prime location in the heart of Waikiki, the beach, fantastic shopping and dining that are all within walking distance comes some noise of city life. There is a great effort underway to refresh the local attraction at the International Market Place and as well as our hotel. Unfortunately when businesses update... More 

Dix Hills, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only thing good about this hotel is the price. We stayed one weekend on 5th floor and a second weekend after island hoping in Hawaii on the 12 th floor. This is part of the Aqua chain. They buy old hotels and allegedly renovate. Frommers recommends. Here's what we found. The hallways look like a welfare hotel. Walls are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Aloha. Although we are happy to hear that you found the cost of our hotel to be positive, we are disappointed to learn that we have fallen short of your expectations in other areas. Recognizing the need to update our hotel, as the area itself is being renovated, we have begun this process. All reviews are appreciated as it helps... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff seemed really friendly. The hotel is one road over from the beach so about a 5 min walk if that. Would stay here again. It is noisy bough but that's just the street on Honolulu. Shopping centers not far and they give you a free shuttle ride to one of the bigger shopping malls too

Was this review helpful? Yes
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Aloha. Our staff here at the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel loves to go above and beyond to make sure all of our guests feel welcome and at home. Mahalo for your acknowledgment of this. Due to our prime location, in the heart of Waikiki, the beach, fantastic shopping and delectable dining are all within footsteps of our door. Along with... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • International market(27)
  • Very friendly(20)
  • Great location(19)
  • Top floor(5)
  • Parking garage(5)
  • Friendly and helpful(5)
  • Ear plugs(4)
  • Would definitely stay(3)
  • Rooms are clean(3)
  • Right next(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,019 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (740)
Viewed
View from room (128)
Viewed
Room/suite (232)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (123)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (191)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (267)
Viewed
Aloha Suite Deluxe Wave (11)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Wave Room (18)
Viewed
Junior Suite Partial Ocean View Wave (18)
Viewed
King Wave Room (131)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#26 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#48 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#54 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay