We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Waikiki Wave

3.0 of 5 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
#49 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
2,182 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aqua Waikiki Wave
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    874
    329
    141
    62
See reviews for
624
746
173
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2182)
  • Mar-May only
    (581)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (510)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (550)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (541)
All months
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just finished staying there for the fourth time the staff are very friendly and make you feel at home and very relaxed , the boutique hotel is a Good value hotel in a central location with large rooms and two very comfortable queen beds. A short walk to the beach and now with faster lifts a free shuttle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel several times before, value for money and centrally located in Waikiki, was a bit disappointed this time with it as you could no longer use the pool as it was shut down and wont reopen until 2016 when the construction around the hotel will be finished. Even though staff were friendly, room clean we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend. Room was big, 2 big beds, really comfy. Room was clean and had everything you would need - fridge, safe, tv, balcony. Staff were really friendly and welcoming. It is really close to the beach and right in the centre of Waikiki. Reasonable price for what you get, compared to the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay here when I come to Honolulu ,it is in a great position ,spotless ,lovely staff ,only in my room to sleep really ,why pay for 3 times more for a few chandeliers ??? Right next door to the international market place ,which is fun to wander around ---- i do stroll around the big hotels right on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

*Late review* Have stayed at this hotel multiple times and is by far the best value to be found in Waikiki for the quality you get.. Location is awesome, minutes from the beach (walk down the side street and cross the road). The staff are friendly and there is an expedia desk (for tours etc and any booking issues if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
miami
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for a few days- rooms were clean. Lots of noisy kids. Clean. Central located. Not to comfortable beds . Just a basic place. We stayed on the 4 fl . Would not really stay here again . Parking is nearby i Am going next month will let you know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property was smack in the middle of a very busy area, however quite convenient to shops, grocery and just a few blocks from the beach. Rooms were fine however no lift just stairs to get up to reception so a bit tricky with heavy bags. We were on the quiet side,currently lots of construction on the other side....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your reference to the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel as being in such a convenient location within walking distance to major area attractions and shopping. We want to let you know that our hotel is equipped with an ADA elevator lift for the stairs for any guest who may need to use it. Should your travels bring... More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was OK, it was nice to have a microwave, and a bath. Good solid walls, so very little internal noise. Elevators were terrible - a pretty long wait each time. We were only on the 5th floor, so we took the stairs at times. Good location. Very friendly staff, and clean room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for your review of the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel. Nothing pleases us more than hearing that you had such a comfortable stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and your accommodations clean. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our elevators during your visit, sometimes there can be a... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 2 night stay at this hotel. Our room was on the 7th floor, and faced east, which meant we overlooked the large construction project at the International Market. Work started there about 7am, but with the door closed we could hardly hear it, and watching the activity provided entertainment later in the day when we were pleased... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

Aloha. We're glad to hear that the location of the Aqua Waikiki Wave Hotel met your expectations on your recent stay. Although the construction taking place next door for the International Marketplace may sometimes cause a distraction for some guests, we are very excited about it as this new market will include approximately 75 retailers and seven restaurants and bring... More

San Ramon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked here through a travel reward certificate we got for attending a vacation presentation back home. After jumping through a million hoops, I was more than a bit disappointed. We were put on the 4th floor despite being told we had a superior/deluxe room booked. Our view was of the Waikiki trade center parking garage... We asked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AquaWaikikiWave, General Manager at Aqua Waikiki Wave, responded to this review

We truly understand your frustration if your travel reward certificate program had you jumping through hoops to book your recent stay with us. As this is not a benefit of our hotel directly and addressing such items in this forum is difficult, we can only say that we can only guarantee what we advertise on our website, not what another... More

Do you own or manage Aqua Waikiki Wave?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aqua Waikiki Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Waikiki Wave

Address: 2299 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Coral Reef (~2006/9/30))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Waikiki Wave 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Waikiki Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
Aqua Waikiki Wave Hawaii/Honolulu

973 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (695)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (120)
Viewed
View from room (114)
Viewed
Room/suite (223)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (176)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (267)
Viewed
Aloha Suite Deluxe Wave (11)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Wave Room (18)
Viewed
Junior Suite Partial Ocean View Wave (18)
Viewed
King Wave Room (131)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay