We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    502
    254
    89
    58
See reviews for
212
531
155
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1269)
  • Mar-May only
    (317)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (326)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (301)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (325)
All months
Winchester, Va
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to Honolulu and we needed a place to stay one night prior to and three nights after our cruise to the islands. We wanted to be close to but not necessarily on the beach and wanted a place that offered a breakfast. Our travel agent arranged this hotel for us saying that others have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Laveview5", Mahalo for staying with us during your "post Cruise" time in Waikiki. I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. I do appreciate your feedback. Mahalo and Best Wishes, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Owosso, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was fun place to stay convenient location, helpful staff and good Breakfast. My wife and myself would rate our experience at this location 5! Had a wonderful time!!!! With in walking distance for public transportation drivers who where very helpful too. Met many local people and sights you do not get to see other wise. Also there were restaurants and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "henmart9", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aqua Aloha Surf is in a very convenient location and our room provided us with some good ammenities including a fridge, crockery and microwave. It was serviced well daily and I would have to say had the most comfortable super king size bed and great shower pressure, better than many of the flashier hotels we have stayed at. The complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "AlexHanlen", Mahalo for staying with us recently. I am so glad we were able to provide you with a good value during your visit to Waikiki. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

helpful staffs,beautiful smiles,free breakfast,close to the beach,free wifi,free rental beach towel,room was kept tidy...♡ thank you for made our stay comfortable♡♡ とても親切で素晴らしいホテルでした。 よくツインとダブルで揉めている様ですが…日本と違って、アメリカはベッド数ではなく泊まれる人数で予約を受け付けるのが当たり前らしいです。どうしてもベッドを分けたい場合はやはり追加料金を支払って確約してもらうしかありません。 この日本人の感覚を理解してもらい、シングルベッド、ツインの部屋を増やして行ければ苦情は減ることでしょう。 しかし郷に入りては…で、面白い体験をしてみるのもアリだと思います(*^^*)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us. I appreciate you sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.com. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark, General Manager More 

South Coast NSW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is well located in the centre of the Waikiki area just a few blocks from the beach. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in close proximity, ABC shops, a great Thai restaurant and a 50's type cafe "The Rock Island Cafe", which is worth a visit. The rooms vary in size from just a room to suites,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "mbuckland007", Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.com. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. I do appreciate your feedback. We will use it in our ongoing effort to grow and improve. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Salinas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good bargain. When in Hawaii, your not really going to stay in your room, except to sleep. Most of the time is spent out and about. The rooms are small, but adequate. They have a continental breakfast, which was good. There is a pool, very small. The elevators were in working order. I found the staff helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "TravlinWoman", Mahalo for staying with us again. We appreciate your loyalty. I am glad we were able to provide a good value for you. And a good base of operations for you to explore Oahu. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Cranford
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I chose the Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel because of a emergency situaiton that required me to be on Oahu, Hawaii for a few days thus making a last minute reservation. After a grueling 11 hour flight, I attempted to check in but was advised that the Hotel couldn't find my reservation. You can now imagine the frustration I was feeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "gcac_13", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am so glad we were able to provide you with a good value and a good experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your situation and how Doug and Aimee assisted you with this situation. I am very glad they... More 

Lanai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
25 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bullet pointed stay: *Check-in staff on arrival was friendly and courteous *Lobby looked clean and well kept *Room appeared fairly clean, however cluttered This is where the good ends: *Moldy bathroom grout *Two small roaches in the shower (I figured, it's the tropics so I'll just get rid of them since I was just here for an overnight stay after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Romazzino", I am sorry you did not have a good experience with us here at the Aloha Surf. I apologize for the roaches and the condition of your bathroom. I will share your comments with my team to address. I also apologize for the poor experience you had upon check out. We are known for having a great team... More 

Atlanta
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
92 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After staying at other hotels in the area, I can only say that for the price this is good solid bet. Close to everything shopping, restaurants, beach etc. Good service at front desk. property is old but well cared for the rooms are clean and comfortable. In room video and PS, frig, coffee pot and microwave Will definitely stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, "traveling_frank", Mahalo for staying with us again this year. We appreciate your loyalty. I am glad you enjoy your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived from the UK 30hr awake. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was included and I was surprised but pleased that porridge was on the menu. One night we were sat on the balcony and could watch a firework display taking place on Waikiki beach 2 blocks away! Very friendly staff very helpfull.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "JJ80Rugby", Mahalo for staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

690 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (401)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (96)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (99)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question