We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place did not end up being as bad as some reviewers had mentioned. I found the service to be great. The room wasn't anything special, but it was clean with no cockroaches. The air conditioner worked fine, although I wish I had the option of blowing it in a direction that was not right on the bed.

Helpful?
2 Thank setarehvatan
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "setarehvatan", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. Thank you for your comments about our staff. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please return and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelling around the world I have never had such a friendly reception from staff with free cocktail hour on a Tuesday done by the manager and a box of chocolates from a director the open foyer with relaxed seating and free coffee and complimentary coffee 5 minute walk to beach and at a great price for this part of town... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Donna M", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Rockville Centre, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in on 1/16/16. Excellent location, walk to town, but quite noisy with street traffics. The room was horrible! AC in wall was right next to the bed..blew right on the head, or if off, too hot in the room. Very old looking, and ancient carpeting. Lobby is fine. Breakfast is free, but unless you like cold pancakes, tasteless... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank grammacj1965
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "grammacj1965" Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. Beginning January 1. 2016 we worked with the Aloha Bistro (restaurant that we contract with to provide our continental breakfast) to increase the offerings for breakfast. Yes, some of the items are Asian, lo mein, Chinese style boiled eggs, beans, etc. but it makes it interesting. Regarding... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is very close to every thing in Waikiki area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was surprised that they provide free breakfast. It is more than continental breakfast, more like full fare with both Asian and western breakfast buffet food. The room is rather small but it is clean and for the price in Waikiki, this hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LeapAhead123
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "LeapAhead123", Mahalo for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. We appreciate you staying with us. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel isn't right on the beach, but it's in a wondrful location just far enough away to avoid all the tourist noise at night but close enough to have a short walk to the beach and Duke's. But THE STAFF are amazing! They treat the guests so awesome. I would come back here just for that. Their corporate reservations... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jammin J
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Jammin J" Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning our team here at the Aloha Surf. They work very hard to care for our guests and make them feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Is worth the money. They really should call it a full meal rather than continental. Tons of unhealthy and healthy options to choose from. I really enjoyed the buffet that extends tothe neighboring restraunt.

Helpful?
2 Thank Zack R
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "ZackR", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. Yes, our continental breakfast has expanded to include the breakfast buffet in the adjacent restaurant. It is a Chinese restaurant and therefore there are some exotic dishes on their buffet, but it is interesting. Mahalo... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel. The staff are amazing. So helpful. I love the relaxed and welcoming feel. The little extras like staff walking around and talking to guests, the complimentary house specialty drink time in which guests are all mingling together just made my solo trip all the more enjoyable. Yes, the rooms are a little dated but they are clean. The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank emb1512
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "emb1512", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for mentioning Doug, our Guest Service Supervisor. He does a great job with our guests. Please come back and visit again. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark GM More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a group of three friends who paid equal amounts for a room with three beds for a 10 night stay. Disappointments: • The website said one king bed and one single and sleeps three. But when we arrived, it was two single beds and one sofa bed. Three adults can in no way fit on two single beds... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Natalia J
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Natalia J", Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. It is our goal to provide our guests with a good value and a relaxing experience here at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry we were not able to meet that goal for you. While we do not guarantee bedding type, we do try to accommodate our guests... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generally we had a great stay at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, the hotel is ideally located in Waikiki with close access to the beach a lot of restaurants and shopping. The rooms are nice and spacious and the staff super friendly and accommodating. The breakfast option is not really worth extra and we ended up eating other places most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim_Kulla
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Kim_Kulla", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. I apologize for the noise levels you experienced. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I will be checking out on Monday. My stay has been okay. Housekeeping is a little lax, and upkeep on the rooms is just so so. Parking is a nightmare here and very costly at $25 a night. Washer and Dryer is very old and worn out. Dryer doesn't get clothes dry. Staff is very friendly, sheets and towels clean.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn R
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Shawn R", Mahalo for staying with us. I appreciate you sharing your feedback about the coin laundry machines. I will have them checked out. Parking is costly in Waikiki. The parking here is owned by a separate company and we manage it for them. The price is set by the owner. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

738 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (451)
Viewed
Room/suite (101)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
View from room (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (108)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (133)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#49 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,670 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#57 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#56 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Waikiki Wave
#54 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#32 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#36 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay