We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    377
    525
    273
    99
    66
See reviews for
228
557
164
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1340)
  • Mar-May only
    (329)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (385)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (301)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (325)
All months
West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were joining family at one of the resorts and arrived a couple of days early and spent two nights here. No problems whatsoever. Very clean, very helpful and friendly staff, and within walking distance to the beach, stores and points of interest. The bed was excellent! No view, but we were only there at night anyway. Great place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Eljude", Mahalo for staying with us during your recent visit to Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the visit with family in Waikiki went well. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our 5th time staying at this little jewel. Really enjoyed the little extras this time including free wifi, access to the free shuttle (usually $28 return trip in cab), plenty of beach towels and my son enjoyed the play station in the room. The room was clean and well maintained - new air conditioners in the room provided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Brigid B" Mahalo Nui Loa for being loyal return guests here at the Aloha Surf. We appreciate you making the Aloha Surf your home away from home when you are in Waikiki. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark GM More 

Conestoga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With never being in Oahu before it was hard to know where everything was located and where would be a great place to stay. The hotel was located 2 blocks from mainstream Waikiki Beach. It was quiet but still downtown. The breakfast was disappointing. The menu was the same every day that we decided to go out one morning to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Deb9365", Mahalo for staying with us. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. We hope you will return to stay with us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Over all not bad, only disappointment was the breakfast. Did not know we had to pay for room service, $15 per day. Rooms were clean Location was good, not far from town and beach Service was ok. I would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Catpetaussie", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. We enjoy our guests from Australia. We hope you will return to stay with us again. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was wonderful and friendly. Room was too small. The air conditioner on side wall blew directly on our faces as we slept. Elevator slow, hot and always crowded. Other rooms might be better. Staff very helpful on suggesting places to go and activities. Could not take advantage of free shuttle because it was always full when it came to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Brenda J" Thank you for giving us a try. Sorry to here you would not return. It is our goal to provide our guests with a good value in an atmosphere that is relaxing and fun. I am sorry we did not achieve this goal for you. Best Wishes Tim Clark GM More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few days in August with my family. We had quite a big room but the beds were very small, same for the shower and the toilet hidden in a corner of the room, the limited space made everything a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast was a great disappointment, with extremely limited choice and very bad coffee (the one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Stefano C", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Best Wishes Tim Clark GM More 

Compton, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed here because it was a quick trip to do with a friend of mine who has cancer and may not live long. The staff here was very friendly and helpful, the beds were very comfortable to sleep in, and the location was the best thing about staying here. The hotel did not have a jacuzzi, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Cafox 74" i am sorry we did not meet your expectations. You are correct to mention that hotels that cost $500 per night should be better than our hotel. We try to provide our guests with a good value in a relaxing atmosphere. I appreciate you giving us a try. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark GM More 

Santiago, Chile
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and friendly staff. Our travel agency did not specify what type a room we wanted so they booked a room for a couple (i was travelling with a friend) We arrived very late in the night, so i talked to the supervisor by phone, who was super nice and he completely understood the situation and next day we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Daniela B", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am glad we were able to get you into an appropriate room for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark GM More 

Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price me and my buddy paid to go to Hawaii for 10 days (end of July to beginning of August) we feel like we got our moneys worth from this hotel for the most part. We're not the type of travelers who spend most of our time in the hotel room to begin with so we feel that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Piast_PL" Mahalo for staying with us for your 10 day vacation in Waikiki. Our goal is to provide our guests with a good value in a friendly, relaxing atmosphere. It seems we were able to achieve that goal for you and your friend. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. As for the... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only stayed one night as the hotel I wanted to stay in was fully booked for that night. Firstly this place is cheap for Waikiki standards so don't turn up expecting 5 star, this is rated as a 2.5 star hotel. I stayed in the lead in moderate room which if you are just looking for a comfortable bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Chenoa E", Mahalo for staying with us at the Aloha Surf. Sorry we were sold out and you could not extend. We hope you will come and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Continental breakfast(4)
  • Very nice(3)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Beach towels(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

700 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (413)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (98)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Other (106)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#48 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#55 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Aqua Waikiki Wave
#50 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ewa Hotel
#63 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Waikiki
Maile Sky Court
Maile Sky Court
#70 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay