We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    493
    254
    86
    55
See reviews for
211
528
151
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1253)
  • Mar-May only
    (301)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (326)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (301)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (325)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel from 11th March to 18th March 2015. Only a couple of blocks from the beach. Daily breakfast was included with the booking. Free WiFi was handy. Close to fast food eateries and a supermarket.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an older property but very clean and tidy. The front desk staff are very accommodating. We stayed in room 1202 on the 12th floor. It was a bit noisy the first couple of nights but we slept well once used to it. The breakfast is not flash but it is fresh and filling. The managers Happy Hour on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a fancy hotel. Very basic facilities and standards however the staff are very helpful and professional. We stayed here on 2 separate occasions in march 2015. Aside from the minor ant problem we found in both our rooms in was a pleasant stay. Keep in mind they charge a $15 resort fee per day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Maz the foody", Mahalo for staying with us twice this year. We appreciate your business. I am sorry you encountered ants in your room. I will share your feedback with our pest control contractor. Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.com. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Despite other reviews I found this location excellent for the price I paid. Been there March 8, 2015 to March 15 with family, room 504. They are very nice and ready to help starting at the front desk and ending with the room cleaners, have only good to say about this location. I'll be probably looking for this location next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Felix T", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf during your recent visit to Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel through a package deal. The GOOD: - The room was moderately priced - Decent location - Clean The BAD: - There are *lots* of hidden fees! Be prepared to pay $15/night per room for "amenities" - towels, DVD, etc. It can quickly add up - Whatever you do, do not park a rented car on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Sxghosh", Thank you for giving us a try here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. As for "Hidden" fees, our Daily Hospitality Fee information has been posted on our website since August of last year. We have gone to great lengths to ensure that all travel agents who book... More 

Saskatchewan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was clean, but we had no table or chairs to sit at only the bed. You wouldn't want to have to spend time in your room. It was fine to sleep in , the bed was comfortable . The breakfast was adequate but it was the same everyday , no changes in the food selection . We travelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "SaskatchewanAuntie", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. We hope you will visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Tuakau, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good location, upon arriving in the early morning it was really nice to be welcomed by name by one of the staff. the next day we slept in and missed breakfast, that was fine. but never saw the friendly staff member again after that, had a different person. we asked about where to hike, he was rude and not interested... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, "candicencurly", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I wish we could have done a better job of meeting your expecations. I am sorry you were not totally satisfied. Best Wishes, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is in a great location. Walking distance from the beach. The street is loud and busy and looks ghetto but we only came in to shower and sleep. Be mindful when booking this hotel they have no parking lot. They charge $22 a day for parking in their garage and the lot next door is $23. We booked online... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Alex C", Mahalo for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.com I appreciate the amount of information you provided for our potential guests reading your review. I hope you come back and visit us again soon. Best Wishes, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Daytona Beach, FL
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants in Waikiki. The rooms are smaller, but the bed was very comfortable and the staff courteous and helpful. We would definitely consider staying here again. The breakfast was included with the tour package we purchased. I would suggest there are better... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Daytona Mac", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel three years in a row. The price is decent, location is great, and staff is always friendly and responsive to our (few) concerns. One thing I'd like to see changed is the new $15/day Hospitality Fee. First, when I made my reservation a footnote in the confirmation email said that "Total... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Maureen K", Mahalo for being a loyal return guests here at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you sharing your experience here on tripadvisor. As for the hospitality fee. we provide amenities for our guests, such as continental breakfast, DVD movies and games, Waikiki Shuttle, beach amenities, Wifi, etc. etc. there are costs for these amenities and the fee helps... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

687 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (398)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (96)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (97)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question