We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Add Photo Write a Review

1,281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    366
    508
    257
    89
    61
See reviews for
213
535
158
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1281)
  • Mar-May only
    (329)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (326)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (301)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (325)
All months
Henderson
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very pleased with our experience here! The rooms are clean and basic. They offer a continental breakfast (toast,apples,pancakes,hardboiled eggs) and newspapers in the mornings as well as a free guest reception with cocktails on Tuesday nights. WiFi is also included in yoru resort fee (we didn't use it so I don't know how fast it was). The towel service was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Angela W", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I appreciate you mentioning our staff. They work very hard. I like your positive outlook. I believe in the old saying, People are about as happy "or unhappy" as they make up their mind to... More 

Warnervale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel was sub standard to say the least, charged for services we didn't use, so noisy you couldn't sleep, the room was so small you had to turn side ways to get passed each other no chairs to sit on, no place to put your luggage except on the floor beside the bed and if you needed to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Laurie b", Thank you for staying with us and giving us a try. I am sorry you had such a poor experience here at the Aloha Surf. You were booked into a moderate room which is our smaller category room without a balcony. i am sorry about the noise. I have heard noise complaints in the past about street... More 

Waikiki, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An old hotel but reasonably maintained. We stayed on the 12th floor where the windows are not double glased but consist of louvers which open to allow airflow. Unfortunately this does nothing to stop outside noise. This hotel is on the corner of two major roads and the traffic noise on the 12th floor is horrendous. With vehicles stopping at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "BruceP", Thank you for giving us a try here at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. Yes, Waikiki is a loud City with lots of traffic, people, and noise. Because this is the center of the Visitor industry in Hawaii, there are lots of bars, restaurants, hotels, and all of the... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff efficient however the room was dated but clean. $15 fee for wifi and breakfast (very basic). Noise from traffic was bad periodically through the night - not good if your a light sleeper. 12 pm checkout was handy as was free shuttle to the ala Moana mall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "newtocruises", Glad we were able to provide a good nights rest for you prior to your cruise. I hope you enjoyed your time in Hawaii. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent one night in room 204, it was a nightmare. The room was supposed to be air conditioned but there was no ac or fan. I heard the screaming women and men in the paid public lot from 11.00 p.m. till 2.00 a.m. , through the louvers, which speaks for itself - air-conditioned. Then some road construction digging went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Chandana_Silva", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I am sorry you had such a poor experience with us. We do have Air Conditioners in all of our rooms, including rm 204 where you stayed. I am sorry about the noise from the surrounding area. Waikiki is a very busy, densely populated, area filled with... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to the main tourist area, this hotel is a bit old and tired but that's why it is relatively cheap. It offers the usual front end services comprising 24hr reception plus concierge, tour desk and other distractions such as pool and a bit of gym equipment. Off street parking available. The rooms are clean and very well appointed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Yoosed", Thank you for staying with us at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.com we hope you will come and visit us again soon. Tim Clark General Manager More 

Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay, they do nickel and dime you to death. You have to pay for parking and $15 per night for you knows what. Good location and they have a good breakfast that is included. Some of the staff was a little snobby but most where ok. Make sure you listen to all the little extra chargers that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Bryan W", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I appreciate you sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.com We do have a hospitality fee of $15 per room per day. Also we do charge $22 per day for parking. The parking lot is owned by an entity separate from the hotel. We manage it... More 

Winchester, Va
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

This was our first trip to Honolulu and we needed a place to stay one night prior to and three nights after our cruise to the islands. We wanted to be close to but not necessarily on the beach and wanted a place that offered a breakfast. Our travel agent arranged this hotel for us saying that others have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Laveview5", Mahalo for staying with us during your "post Cruise" time in Waikiki. I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. I do appreciate your feedback. Mahalo and Best Wishes, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Owosso, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Was fun place to stay convenient location, helpful staff and good Breakfast. My wife and myself would rate our experience at this location 5! Had a wonderful time!!!! With in walking distance for public transportation drivers who where very helpful too. Met many local people and sights you do not get to see other wise. Also there were restaurants and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "henmart9", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Aqua Aloha Surf is in a very convenient location and our room provided us with some good ammenities including a fridge, crockery and microwave. It was serviced well daily and I would have to say had the most comfortable super king size bed and great shower pressure, better than many of the flashier hotels we have stayed at. The complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "AlexHanlen", Mahalo for staying with us recently. I am so glad we were able to provide you with a good value during your visit to Waikiki. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

688 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (401)
Viewed
Room/suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (99)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay