We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

2.5 of 5 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    466
    229
    74
    52
See reviews for
203
488
141
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1168)
  • Mar-May only
    (283)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (326)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (282)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (277)
All months
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 4 nights. This is a good budget hotel. We were only staying 4 nights and it served its purpose. It was clean and comfortable. Had coffee maker TV, air con. Breakfast was included. The location was good, near to Waikikii beach. The staff were helpful. Okay so you had to go to the lobby to use Wifi but all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "MFOS", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aloha Surf. I appreciate you sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.com. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If the course the hotel is great located but everything else was not like it should be. First I changed my room because the first one was on the lower floors and to the street. . Far to loud... Then my TV switched on from itself. .. On the loudest volume level and I couldn't turn the TV off. .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Austrian_traveler79", Thank you for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am sorry your experience was disappointing. You did seem to have your share of challenges in our rooms. I apologize for that. It is our goal to provide our guests with good value in an atmosphere that is fun and relaxing. I am sorry we... More

Saipan, Mariana Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at 6pm into Honolulu, did not have a hotel reservation, made one w/ expedia right at an internet cafe, confirmed w/in an hour and the hotel w/ the best price for Honolulu in WAIKIKI was absolutely AMAZING! Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki: First time to this hotel, did not chk-in till 945pm, was grouchy feeling really tired after a 10hr... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "MikelaM", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki. I realize your stay was just a brief stop over on your Journey. I am glad you felt welcomed and comfortable here. It was a pleasure to meet you and speak to you in our lobby. We hope you come back and visit us again soon.... More

new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was the worst of my hawaiian trip. There is no in room wifi so you huddle in the lobby with 15 people skyping so the connection is slow. The room has old style a/c that rattles and the windows are glass shutters so forget about quiet AND despite only being there less than 9 hours and NOT disclosing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "RichO", I am sorry you did not enjoy your brief time with us here at the Aloha Surf. Since you mentioned "Hidden Fees" in the title of your review, I feel I should respond to that. our hospitality fee is not hidden. Information about our hospitality fee has been posted on our hotel website since July 1, 2014. We... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Leaves a lot to be desired! Poor location in a fairly run down part of town. Facilities outdated, rooms tired and in need of refurbishment. Very unwelcoming receptionist when we arrived. Food adequate though we only sampled breakfast. Air con didn't work properly and eventually the wall socket began smoking. Reported immediately and another receptionist said 'we'll check it out'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "geordiegirl255", Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.com. I am very sorry about the situation with the wall outlet in your first room. I am glad you reported it right away and that we moved you to another room. I am sorry you felt that the Manager's response was insincere. I am sure he meant it when... More

Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Did the job for 3 nights. Staff were all very good in particular the girl with black hair. ( sorry I forgot your name) Hotel was very clean and spacious. We had a condo which of you were on a budget is perfect as had a full kitchen. Very old feeling, very noisy, air con pretty rubbish and the lights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Bradleyianfield", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. I am glad you enjoyed your time in Waikiki. we hope you return to visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More

Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a killer deal for flight and hotel for two and out baby. This is the hotel our package included and it was worth the price. It's tucked away in a cute area and the hotel itself is clean and cute. There's a small pool outside and gym and has breakfast in the mornings. Breakfast is extra unless you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "MarinaD", Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.com. I am glad your package included our hotel. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time in Waikiki. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More

Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my fourth visit to Honolulu in the last two years. It twas virtually impossible to find a reasonably priced hotel at short notice. Having read the reviews I was apprehensive checking into the Aqua Aloha Surf. Although small, the room was very clean and had everything needed. The staff was friendly and the location was good. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "Gabriel_767", Thank you for staying with us during your most recent visit to Waikiki. We appreciate your patronage. We hope that you will return to visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Obviously one of the older hotels, but it is well situated a few blocks back from Waikiki Beach. Reception was good and the staff always friendly. The pool area is small but adequate. the room we had was a studio with an extra couch and kitchenette which was very useful. Pity there was only WiFi in the lobby and pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "John E", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf. Thank you for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor We are working on a new contract to provide Wifi in our guest rooms. We hope you will return to visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha Tim Clark General Manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights during September. My room was very clean, but being on the front of the building a little noisy, this of course is not the fault of the management. Very well positioned for all attractions and would recommend the hotel for a short stop over in Waikiki.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlohaSurfHotelMgr, General Manager at Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha "stone882009", Mahalo for staying with us here at the Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki during your 5 day visit to Waikiki. I am glad you enjoyed your time here. We appreciate your patronage. Please come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo and Aloha, Tim Clark General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki

Address: 444 Kanekapolei Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Aloha Surf Honolulu
Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Hotel
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

668 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (380)
Viewed
Room/suite (88)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (103)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (268)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Partial City View Room With Balcony (20)
Viewed
Moderate Partial City View Room (8)
Viewed
Pools (8)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (28)
Viewed
Superior Partial City View Room (133)
Viewed
The Hotel (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay