We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 47 Honolulu accommodations

Hostelling International Waikiki

2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hostelling International Waikiki to your Saves list
Hostelling International Waikiki
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
85%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
kertschy Taufkirchen, Germany
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
19
75
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taufkirchen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel is an absolute jewel. Situated just a short walk from Waikiki beach and all its amenities, you get a clean room, great guest area and kitchen and very friendly staff. I stayed for a week and felt at home from the first minute on. Mahalo for the wonderful time

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm shocked this hostel was rated in the top five in honolulu. The only good thing about this hostel is it's location as it's a block away from the beach. Before I even set foot across the door, I received poor customer service. I was arriving late into Hawaii and I was enquiring about possible late check in. I received... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_HI_Waikiki, Manager at Hostelling International Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, I feel bad that we weren't able to meet your needs. It seems you were upset even before you got here. The email you received was an "automatic response" and not from staff, but I'll change the wording of the email to make it more personable. Our paid staff cleans dorms daily, & while we are aware that our... More

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed at this hostel twice before in 2012 and we're back again! You simply can't beat the location and price. We've always stayed in a private room, which includes a private bathroom. The shared kitchen is a great money-saver instead of eating out. The staff is helpful and the building is secure. We took advantage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in feb, and loved it! Great location, great staff, Larry the volunteer was very helpful! Would definitely recommend this hostel! Very clean and private rooms are great! Very professional staff and felt safe at all times I will definitely be returning, good for families, couples or even by yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynbrook, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Thanks Larry Dahm, you're a star. Great activities, best I've come across in a hostel & a wide variety of things to suit different people. And a great way to meet other travellers. Friendly & helpful staff & very clean & secure hostel with equipment to loan for the beach. Close to beach, restaurants & clubs/bars. Definitely head there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent and friendly staff. Larry the your guide was exceptional. Very comfy beds and made for a very relaxing holiday in paradise. Would definitely stay here again. Make sure and make use of the free rental equipment provided by the hostel. Makes for a cheaper holiday ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I love travelling and I stay very often in hostels all over the US. I must say, this is the nicest I ever been. Perfect location, one block from the best spot @Waikiki beach. At the reception they have all kinds of "beachwares" for you to use for free (snorkelingsets, beach chairs, etc). The hostel is located in a very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moncton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I spent a week with my friend in Honolulu and we had an awesome time at HI Waikiki. The staff was really great and our room was clean. We had a volunteer tour guide who offered us great places and advise throughout our trip. Couldn't have asked for better. We will definitely be there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked into HIW after reading the good reviews posted on TA. While I was not expecting much for the money spent (given the location), I did not have an enjoyable experience at this hostel. Firstly service - The folks at the front desk were amicable but did not show any enthusiasm. Not in itself a big deal but amongst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager_HI_Waikiki, Manager at Hostelling International Waikiki, responded to this review

Thanks for your thorough review. Hostelling is not for everyone. It takes a realization of what you are getting for a $25 rate, being in one of the most expensive places in the world 2 blocks from the most popular beach in the world. I appreciate your feedback because future guests do need to ask themselves "Would I be happier... More

Joensuu, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Nothing special except that is has perfect location, shop are nearby, plenty of bars nearby, Waikiki beach just around the corner. The staff is friendly and helpful. Guests behave kindly, most of the time you don't even see them. Money/value is good. If you traveling with partner/s try to book private room,

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Hostelling International Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Waikiki

Also Known As:
Hostelling International Waikiki Hotel
Hostelling International Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hostelling International Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2417 Prince Edward Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha, we host all kinds of short term travelers like around the world backpackers, gap year travelers, airline & cruise ship employees, students, families & single travelers. Thanks for considering HI Waikiki! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelling International Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostelling International Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.