We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Honolulu hotels

Stay Waikiki

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book 2015 Now & Save
Stay Waikiki
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Waikiki to your Saves list
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
901ronalds Honolulu
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    102
    84
    54
    53
See reviews for
63
143
66
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Booked a room because of my disability. As i have a mobility scooter we were given a corner room"211" it was so hard to manouver my scooter through the door. I felt like going to another hotel because this isn't a hotel that is suitable for people in wheelchairs or on scooters but because it was late at night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the website for this hotel to be very deceiving, as the photos made it look much nicer than it is. Upon arrival we could see it basically looks just like the lobby for a hostel, even with the entrance to a karaoke bar not far from front desk. We made our way to our room and realized it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, thank you for you review and I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay. After reading your review I understand why you didn't bring this to my attention but I do really wish you would have as i would have loved a chance to talk to see if there was anything we could do to... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1) Noisy - the windows here are the kind you find in warehouses. This means ZERO noise protection, which makes you feel like you're sleeping in the street. Partygoers and loud drunks until late at night (weekends - 4am), especially since the first floor has a karaoke bar. And construction noises from 8am (building a new hotel next to it).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with us. I wish you would have let me know about these problems when you were still staying with us so we could have resolved them before you left unhappy. We will be undergoing renovations here in the coming months to replace... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very basic - no gym, no kettle in the room, no safe deposit box. It is very central to Waikiki beach and easy to get anywhere in town. Continental breakfast (I wouldn't really call it breakfast - orange slices, apples, bread, yoghurt, cereals and horrible pastries) included, unlike many better hotels. It's like a motel with entry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came with my daughter for a week and we had a lovely stay at this place, it was unusual since we had the bunkbed room, but I enjoyed every minute of it. Very close to beach, about a minute walk and to local restaurants just down the road. We stayed here end of Mai 2014. If you want more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! We hope to see you again in the near future! Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

My partner and I along with my parents booked two twin rooms for two nights. They were great, comfortable bunk beds, clean showers, tv in both rooms. Breakfast was basic but its free so no c complaining from us. I work in hotels so I am fairly fussy but if you need a place to stay, one block from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for your great review! I'm happy to hear you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future! Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

the place was ok shouldn't expect anymore for the $130 in such a prime location. but at least a parking space for the car, very limted spots so if you have a car make sure you book a space when you book your room $25 per night. As for the room very very small! the only way in to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. Hawaii definitely has a issue with not having enough parking spots we do advertise very limited parking and if parking is already sold out we have multiple options close that are actually cheaper and we are more than willing to hold your bag while you park. I apologize... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 via mobile

The staff were great, our bathroom sink wasn't draining and they got it fixed quickly. The beds were comfortable and linen/towels nice and clean. A hair dryer provided was also a handy touch to the room. However, the room itself was tired and needed a full on clean. Also disappointing was the lack of sound proofing to the room, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

As the title says this place is a bit tired albeit with a comfortable bed. In the rooms they have clearly taken a few short cuts and the decor has seen it's used by date. It feels a bit like a student flat where everything is either old or secondhand so all mismatched. Service on arrival was good. Couple of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stay Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stay Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay