We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stay Hotel Waikiki

Hotel website
2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Price
2016 Pay Now & Save: 50%!
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Stay Hotel Waikiki
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed a few nights while in Waikiki and was pleased with the location and staff friendliness. Small room but perfect for a single. Provided beach towels, mats and other floaties only one block from the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Lisa, Thank you very much for your feedback. We're happy to see you had a good stay with us. We are currently undergoing a renovation and we hope that you will come see us again once this is complete so we can get your feedback. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Before i book this hotel i took a look on the pic from the website. Was fine and the price was good also. They provide some tea and coffee and some sea toys and stuff for visiter in this hotel which is nice. However. we went there it was in the midnight and when we first came in reception was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Swanlaik
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Swanlaik, Thank you for your feedback and I'm very sorry to hear to your stay did not live up to expectations. We try to be as transparent as possible with our online photos, we've even added photos taken by a staff member which we believe give a realistic expectation. We will look into this more though as we know... More 

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed here with a friend - both of us who have recently traveled around Europe, staying at hostels. We both concluded that this was more like a nice hostel rather than a 3 star hotel. I've been to some nice hostels with private rooms, and this seemed pretty much on par. Just to clarify, I don't think that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki201392
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Nikki, Thank you for your feedback, we're happy to see you had a good stay and that you got great service from our staff. We are currently undergoing a renovation and we look forward to you staying with us again once that is complete and getting your feedback. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki More 

Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed here for 1 night but the rooms were very clean, the price was great and the staff were always very friendly and more than helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here. Great location, short walk to shops, restaurants and the beach.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel K
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Carmel, Thank you for your feedback, we're so happy to hear you had a good stay. Great service and clean rooms is something we really pride ourselves on, we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki More 

Monterey, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Cute hotel and all that we needed. Great simple room with balcony, and very friendly front desk staff. The amazing location right in downtown Waikiki only a block from the beach was the best and most convenient part, everything is in walking distance. Great for people who plan to spend their day out and need a nice and comfortable place... More 

Helpful?
Thank alyssabom
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Alyssa, Thank you for your review, we're happy to see you had a great stay! We're definitely in a great location and it's great to see that you took full advantage of it. We hope you had a great time here in Hawaii and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very well situated, in the middle of Waikiki (near restaurants, shops, beaches). However some rooms don't have actual closed windows, which means all the noise from the streets gets into your room. Late at night you'll hear people walking down the streets or cars honking, and early in the morning you get woken up by trucks unloading... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anh D
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to expectations. We're glad that you loved to location and got good service from our staff but it's unfortunately for us to hear you had an issue with the WIFI. I will look into this right away with our provider to make... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The photos were very deceiving and we regretted booking here immediately upon arrival. Unfortunately, the place was a bit of a dump. The hotel had no bellhop or even a luggage cart. For us, Honolulu was a transit stop during our international flight from Canada to Australia and we were travelling with an elderly, disabled person. The receptionist was kind... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ablablah
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback but we're very sorry to hear you did not have a good stay with us. We are currently undergoing a renovation which we believe we alleviate most of the issues you mentioned here but I'm going to share this with our management team so we can continue to make sure our guests are getting... More 

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the Stay Hotel December 30 through January 6. The hotel room was neat, clean and real noisy. The room was very small. There was no dresser. I paid $215 a night during high season. But despite all this I enjoyed my time there. Why? Because the workers at the front desk are wonderful people. They never failed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Richard, Thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to hear you had a good stay with us because of our excellent staff. We really pride ourselves on showing our guests the true Aloha spirit and it sounds like we've succeeded at this. We are currently undergoing renovations and we hope to see you again once this is complete... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From what I can gather, every hotel on Waikiki Beach is outdated and overpriced with tiny rooms. This is no exception. That said, we enjoyed our stay. The amenities were good: bagged breakfast snacks in the morning, beach accessories to borrow, convenience stores nearby, and walking distance to the beach. I would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank mkouloge
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your feedback, we're so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. We are right in the middle of everything you would need, we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo, Tom Kloss General Manager Stay Hotel Waikiki More 

Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2016

The place was just fine. It was about what we expected for the rate. We appreciated the kitchen and full size refrigerator. The worst thing about this place is out of the control of the property owner/s. The daily garbage trucks were banging around for a half hour in the early morning hours (7:30am-8am). We were hoping it was just... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
Tom K, General Manager at Stay Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Diana, Thank you for your feedback, we're happy to see you like your accommodations but we're sorry to see the city noise was an issue. We are undergoing renovation which will include new windows which we believe will be a huge help. We hope we get a second chance and get your feedback on the changes. Mahalo, Tom Kloss... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#38 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Prince
#33 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort
Waikiki Resort
#36 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay