We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    534
    351
    151
    69
See reviews for
271
591
128
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1515)
  • Mar-May only
    (411)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (342)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (385)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (377)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Good: The room is spacious and has a microwave, sink, and refrigerator. There is a lot of room to move around, and the bed is large and offers plenty of support. There is a decent size work desk with additional power connections. There is also plenty of drawer space to store clothes. The Bad: I'm currently staying here for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha Robert M, We regret to learn of your current experience with us and sincerely apologize for the shortcomings. As Trip Advisor does not provide us with your contact information and stay details, please call us at extension 4012 for the Manager on Duty so that we may have an opportunity to resolve these issues. Thank you again and we... More 

Haleiwa, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

They have great Kamaina (local) rates, and treated us really well. We were allowed an early check in and they even upgraded our room. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfy. The location was great, next to some fun clubs and restaurants. it was the perfect get a way. We live on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha 808lisa, Mahalo for your kind review and perfect rating! We are grateful that our location suited your needs to get away and we truly look forward to being of service to you again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. Until we meet again, Malama Pono! More 

Sunnyvale, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This time around we found out the hotel has suites in another tower..Loved it. The bathroom was larger, had a tub. Both me and the Mrs. had plenty of room to be in there.The adjacent tower has it's own pool, it was always available when needed. The maids were spot on all the time, if you had a request all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha Jamie M, Thank you very much for your four-star review and great comments about our service! We're ecstatic to learn that we met your expectations and look forward to another visit from you in the near future. Until we meet again, Aloha and Mahalo! More 

Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one Friday night on Easter weekend, and used Marriott points. This was a quick stop for us before continuing to a smaller Hawaiian island. The location is very convenient because you can walk to most of Waikiki's attractions and restaurants. And the pool and lobby look fantastic. But the actual guest rooms and corridors are not typical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha Group_Hotel_Pro, We regret to hear of your in-room tv issue during your brief stay with us. We apologize for the lapse in service when this was brought to the attention of the desk staff, although it is very surprising to hear none took action when you communicated your concerns. We will review with the members that were working that... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to Hawaii for our honeymoon and it was amazing, the hotel was pretty nice, everyone that works there are amazing! The swimming pool is nice and the bar too, the rooms are very comfortable and since we were staying for two weeks they changed our room after one week so we wouldn't get bored. It was a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha Dani27mm, Mahalo for your four-star rating and terrific review! We're happy to hear that all went well and we met your expectations on this visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Until we meet again, Aloha to you and yours! More 

sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are friendly and helpful but the hotel really needs a bit of updating to make it acceptable in todays market. We had a one-bedroom suite which was small but nice. The living room furniture has a strong '70s feel and was slightly grubby. But we had a good time there and, as I said, it was economical. Fairly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha gra1Sydney, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We're sorry to hear that we weren't able to receive a better rating and apologize for the shortcomings. We will continue to push forward in making necessary improvements based on feedback from guests like yourself. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again... More 

Parshallville, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a tired old property that wasn't well designed in the first place. We experienced the usual good service one receives at any Marriott property. But our room, a one bedroom suite, was small and poorly laid out. Also, we were on the top floor of the secondary tower and the elevator didn't reach that floor - dumb. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha David R.R., Thank you very much for your review of our Royal Hawaiian Tower. We do apologize that its layout didn't meet you expectations due to the elevator not fully going up to the top floor. The building was an apartment complex years ago when it was acquired by ownership, and there has been recent discussion about possibly installing... More 

Eagan, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Place looked just liked the pictures! They upgraded our room for no charge!! We checked in early and our room wasn't ready. Very comfortable bed. The Courtyard was a very easy 10 min. walk to Waikiki beach. We felt safe walking at night to the restaurants & shopping area. There is a Spa and nice Italian restaurant attached but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha Chris E, Mahalo for your great review and four-star rating! We're happy to have met your expectations and look forward to another visit from you in the near future. Until we meet again, much Aloha to you and yours! More 

Lawton, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great front desk and good rates for the most part past that its a little different. The room is average and needs updating. The shower was small and had some mold growing in it. Other than that the service is great and the rooms are clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha mimi1374, Thank you very much for your kind comments about our staff service. We do apologize our facility is not up to par with your expectations, however we will be starting our first phase of renovation in May. We hope you have a chance to see the improvements upon its completion in August. Mahalo for your feedback and we... More 

Delaware, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at the front desk and concierge desk were nice and helpful for the most part. My significant other's flight was later than mine, they allowed me in with his call-ahead notification, which was greatly appreciated. The room was very small, balcony was nice, there was black mold everywhere - in the room, in the bathroom, in the hallways,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DirectorofOps400, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, responded to this review

Aloha robincassaday, We regret to learn of your experience with us regarding the room condition and overall facility. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and please know we have communicated your review to our Housekeeping and Engineering departments. Everyone is held to extremely high standards and it is disappointing when we do not meet these standards. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

801 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (460)
Viewed
Room/suite (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (47)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (102)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:45
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (107)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Guest Room (11)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Larger Guest Room (135)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question