We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites

#11 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
2045 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Add Photo Write a Review

1,208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    566
    472
    118
    36
    16
See reviews for
329
449
72
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1208)
  • Mar-May only
    (342)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (316)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (280)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (270)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's quiet and peaceful (not like other hotels on the beach). The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Hotel shuttle buses run every 20--30 minutes to the beach and Ala Moana so if you are not in the mood for walking, you can also take this. Overall, had a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow this hotel is lovely and so well priced with very friendly and helpful staff. They offer free yoga classes through out the week and three days a week have a relaxing wine and cheese get together for guests. I loved the private pool area complete with bar-b-q and the gym is so well equiped. They even offer a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our daughter's wedding. We had three rooms and were satisfied with all of them. The one bedroom suites were well-appointed and the kitchens were nice. The single hotel room was comfortable and has a coffee maker and small refrigerator. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The only disadvantage is that there is no restaurant for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Jody T, Congratulations to your daughter, and to you! We would like to thank you for a perfect 5-stars review and Mahalo for reviewing your most recent visit with us. It is great to hear that you were happy with your three rooms. Thank you for staying with us and see you soon! Mahalo, Sunny Chan Guest Services Manager More 

Schweinfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was a 15 minute walk to the beach. It was also 15 minutes from restaurants like the cheesecake factory. Great location. the staff were friendly and helpful. The hallways in between the rooms were stifling hot, but the ac in the rooms themselves allowed you to get the temperature very very cold though. The room was clean, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whittier, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Luana Hotel on our first trip to Honolulu. The hotel is in a great location, only a couple blocks from the beach. Check in was really efficient and quick, rooms and hotel are very clean and we were even given a microwave on request. Maid Service was a little disappointing, one day we left all day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha Terry J, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your most recent experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our signature amenities but it is disappointing to hear that your room was not serviced. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you have experience throughout your stay and would appreciate if you could contact... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this property, now, three times. As returning guests, it is always a pleasure to feel so welcomed. Located adjacent to Fort DeRussy Park at the quiet end of the busy Waikiki strip, this boutique hotel offers excellent amenities, such as morning coffee and tea service in the lobby, Wine and Cheese receptions for guests on set... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for a perfect 5-stars review and Mahalo for returning to our hotel again. It is wonderful to see that we have exceeded your expectations throughout your stay. Our team appreciates your commendations. Thank you for your most recent visit with us and see you soon! Mahalo, Sunny Chan Guest Services Manager More 

Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would agree with all the reviews before us. What I really miss in the room is a broom to wipe the floor so now and then, since going to the beach will bring some sand in the room. Since there is no daily cleaning that would be nice. Other thing to note: our room looks like it has a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha John N, Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your suggestions. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our signature amenities. Thank you for staying with the Luana. Mahalo, Sunny Chan Guest Services Manager More 

Alberta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good value and good location. Wish it had a restaurant though. It has a decent free gym and a pool. The staff was helpful and the kitchens were equipped quite well. Like the wine and cheese Mon, Wed and Fri.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the facilities, kitchenette, and our wine & cheese reception that we host three times a week. Thank you for staying with us and see you soon! Mahalo, Sunny Chan Guest Services Manager More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arriving, my elderly parents and I were a bit weary and hoped for a speedy check-in. Not happening!!! There was a backup at the front desk and there seemed to be a common themes...guests were being told that the type of room they had reserved and PAID for was not available. We showed them the documentation that the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you and your family has experienced throughout your stay. It is unfortunate that you felt this way upon leaving the hotel and I hope that you will give us another opportunity to make this right. It will be... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is great. It's a good place for couples or families. It has a beautiful view and its only a few blocks from the Waikiki beach. Its has a great location but doesn't have a regular maid service. You have a pay extra for maid service. It has a shop on the property with low cost jewelry. It has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunny C, Guest Relations Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. Daily housekeeping service is included with the rate that you pay if it is booked directly with the hotel or with online booking engines. If it is booked through our owners, there will be a... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Friendly and helpful(6)
  • Very clean(5)
  • Pool area(5)
  • Ala moana(4)
  • Would definitely stay(4)
  • Hotel staff(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

716 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (514)
Viewed
Room/suite (151)
Viewed
View from room (91)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (92)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (129)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Grill area (5)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
Standard Room with City View (38)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette (29)
Viewed
Studio with Kitchenette and Partial Ocean View (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Shore Waikiki
Park Shore Waikiki
#13 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
0.9 mi away
Hilton Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay