We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

3.0 of 5 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
31
44
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

***Looks really were deceiving**** The pictures on the internet look nothing like the rooms shown. The Elevator to the rooms were very nasty and it made us wonder what the rooms was going to look like. When we got off the Elevator to our floor the walls were very dirty and the doors to the rooms. This lead us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Choosing to stay at this hotel totally depends on your what's most important to you. If you are looking for an ooohhhh-la-la, romantic place for your honeymoon with room service from a 5 star chef, this is not the place for you. For everyone else, this place is great. The rooms are clean. They look a bit outdated but so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate our property and adding your very nice comments. I am happy to hear that we were able to meet most of your expectations during your visit. We hope to see you on your future return visits. Much Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed before at the Ambassador hotel, and while it is in need of some upgrading, it was an ok stay and a perfect price. The last stay was a bit different, and that was probably the last time. What I like about the hotel is the location, at the eastern part of Waikiki that is near everything, to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your rating and comments. I would like to first of all, thank you for your patronage and comments about our location and staff. I would like to apologize about the inconvenience we may have caused and not being able to fully meet your expectations. Again, Much Mahalo. Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Strengths and weaknesses about this hotel. Travelled to Oahu with 2 male friends and I needed a separate room for myself. Checked into room 1111 and was comfortable. Moved to friends' room #629 for one night stay and found their room In need of maintenance - believe theirs was in old wing. Small cockroaches came at night in toilet. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the survey and to add your comments. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to meet your full expectations during your visit. We appreciate your patronage. Much Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Sweden
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely not worth the money!!! The images do not match with reality! The room was large and the staff very nice but the kitchen and the bathroom was from the ' 50s, and when we walked in the corridors, it felt as if we were in an open prison. Book anything else!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to conduct the rating and comments. I apologize that your visit with us did not meet your expectations. We apppreciate your patronage and time to respond to the survey. Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first stay at the Ambassador. The staff there are great, helpful and really friendly. The hotel itself is looking a bit tired and needs refresh. However, saying that it was good value for money. The rooms have everything you need, the internet service was excellent, and the bed was really comfortable. Our only challenge was the noise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the survey and to add your kind comments. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide your with satisfactory accomodations during your visit. We really appreciate your patronage. Much Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night before a week at our timeshare. W e had a very large room that was extremely clean and in a great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool was a wonderful morning stop. Hotel was older but very well kept and clean. People should not complain and expect a 5 star hotel at a 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to the survey and to add your very kind comments. I am very happy to hear that you were satisfied during your visit with us. I will pass along your commendation to our Bell Captain, Kenton. We look forward to your return visits in the future. Much Mahalo! Roy Yamamoto... More 

Atibaia, SP
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I tried to make a reservation through the website of the Hotel and my request was not complete due to a problem with the website. I did not receive any e-mail confirmation and could not check the reservation in the website. However, for my surprise, I was charged in my credit card for this reservation that I didn't complete. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to repond with your comments. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered while making your reservations and were not able to have the error corrected. Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Oxnard, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for luxury look elsewhere. If you just want a decent place to sleep add Ambassador to your comparison list. The rooms are old and most are two double, or twin beds. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, though. The air-conditioner was rather loud but the evenings were cool enough that we could just leave the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments! I am happy to hear that we were able accomodate you and have an enjoyable visit. We appreciate your patronage and taking the time to respond to the survey and add your remarks. We look forward to your return visits in the future. Much Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wish I had read the reviews before booking so quickly. I thought I was getting a deal for a one night stay, but $80 soon turned into $150. The low nightly rate is a scam since you are charged a "resort" fee once you arrive. Even if you booked DIRECTLY with the hotel online. The sheets are paper thin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that we were not able to fully satisfy you during your stay with us. We appreciate your patronage. Much Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassador Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Address: 2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Honolulu
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay