We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Rate
Starting at $109 (USD)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    60
    21
    29
See reviews for
50
51
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a nice, clean & almost like home atmosphere, so accessible to amenities, walking distance to shopping areas, eateries & such! The staff were very helpful & accommodating!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha PerlVicktrips, I'd like to thank you for your honest review. Sounds like you enjoyed yourself during your stay. Thank you again for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Waikiki and we hope to see you again soon. Mahalo AP More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay if you're trying to save a couple dollars. You are close to everything you need while in Waikiki, and there are even kitchenettes if you would rather cook something than go out and spend another $100. First of all, yes it's a little dated. However, the rooms ARE clean, and they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much DJP, You are correct, we have so much to offer; and all at a very affordable price. Cook in your own room, ride a bike around town and enjoy O'ahu with more in your wallet and heart! Thank you for choosing the Ambassador Hotel Waikiki; and we hope to see you again soon. AP More 

Kealakekua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A frequent visitor to Honolulu, we have stayed at a lot of hotels. This was our first ever visit to The Ambassador Hotel. We always thought because of it's age, it would be subpar, but we were wrong. Here's my breakdown: Reservation: Excellent on-line reservation system. Most websites pictures makes the hotel rooms look better then they really are. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much MitchHawaii for your detailed review of your stay. We aim to please, and I'm glad we could help you enjoy your time with us. Reviews such as yours truly help us understand how we can improve, and feedback to our staff appropriately. Come back soon! A hui hou! More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I feel we were given the worst room of the hotel because book online with Expedia. Our room was moldy smelled disgusting. Rusted appliances and dirty shower and bathroom. Sheet and blankets were snagged and looked old. We asked if there were any better rooms and were moved to a different room did smell a bit better but otherwise was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review. The photos you uploaded look like the picutures we have online as well. I'm sorry if you feel differently, and we do not assign our rooms according to any preferences of online travel agents. We assign our rooms based on room categories chosen by our guests, and their preferences if noted in their reservations.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I ended up booking this hotel last minute because we were supposed to stay at his friends house but because of my deathly allergy to their cat we couldnt stay there. Im a wee bit high maintenance when it comes to cleanliness of hotel rooms, so I depend on the pictures they provide. The pictures are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear Zoe, I'm sorry to hear the way you described your stay and our property. I want you to know that even if it is a last minute booking; you can speak with our in-house reservations department. They are here to assist with room descriptions, rate verifications, and would have been able to explain all the wonderful offerings the Amenity... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It\s a pretty basic hotel, but clean and the service is good. The location is handy to shopping and restaurants and the full kitchen is nice if you don't want to eat out all the time. The elevators are a bit slow at times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha 467RalphK, I'm glad you found our location to be to your liking. With the beach, shopping and entertainment just a stoll away; how could you not stay here? We look forward to your next visit and wish you happy traveling. More 

Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is convieniently located property in waikiki.It is very clean ,with very friendly and helpful staff members.All appwaer to be very responsible.P Liberalsupply of clean disposible water bottles amd abumdant suppl7 of filtered water.. Local tour desk is also very helpful in tour booking.The property id good value for money.i would recomend it for stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Shahid, Thank you for your review. I'm glad our staff could assist you with your needs. I hope you return soon. Mahalo! More 

Kapolei
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amenities fee, Ridiculous! Smallest t.v ever, shower suck's, elevator suck's even more, be prepared to wait for at least 10min or more if the elevator is not already packed with other guest. I would definitely not stay here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha HurleyV. I'm sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay. I hope during your next stay you take advantage of the amenity fee. Most think it's just for wifi, but we also have a game room, bicycles, our 24hr fitness center and you can make complimentary calls to local and toll free numbers! A Hui Hou! More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am always nervous about choosing a hotel when travelling to a new place. We chose the Ambassador because of its low cost but were pleasantly surprised by its convenience and location. The small kitchen had the bare nessesities but was perfect for a quick breakfast and light snack. The only issue was the cost of parking $25/day, seemed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Naz Q, Mahalo for your insightful review. I'm glad you found our property to meet all of your needs and that the kitchen in your room exceeded your expectation. Come back soon! More 

Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed 5 night in April,2015. I always use this hotel,when I come to waikiki.Flat & CardAccess parking is easy to me.Connection is simple from airport.Free WIFI is good to me.l come back again.maybe soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha, It's very refreshing to hear you enjoyed your stay and to see you again. We look forward to your next trip and hope if there is anything we can assist you with, that you let us know. A hui hou, Adrian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities