We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Rate
Starting at $109 (USD)
3 people have started booking this hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Rate this Hotel

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    49
    18
    24
See reviews for
35
47
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel is not a hotel. It's an oversize motel. Dirty carpets inside the room and outside getting to your room. You have to go outside to get to your room just like a motel. Inside the room dirty walls, there was actually someone elses hair on the walls of the bathroom. Dirty carpet, closet doors were barely functional. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellflower, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this as a hotel/airfare package for two on Expedia. The package was very good for the price. Hotel has a little kitchenette. Our bathroom/closet combo is a good size, but shower is a little too tight, though that didn't bother me. Hotel is very convenient to world class shopping, and good bars and restaurants on Kalakaua Avenue. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I read some reviews before our trip and was nervous but to my surprise it was the complete opposite of the bad reviews! We would go back in a second! Staff was amazing! The rooms were spacious, clean and the location was perfect! The only complaint was the shower took a long time to drain...... I highly recommend this hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Kefed! It was trully wonderful to hear that your stay at the Ambassador Hotel Waikiki was enjoyable. I have passed along your kind comments about our staff, which brought great smiles of happiness. I have also notified our Maintanence department staff to look into your shower drainage problem to have it corrected immdiately. We look forward to your return... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel's location is perfect - it's at the beginning of Waikiki, making it an easy walk to the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center and the beach. With bus stops right at its doorstep, it's easy to get to Ala Moana Shopping Center. Service was very friendly and seamless, from check-in to check-out, including housekeeping who delivered towels we requested within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Kenike! Mahalo for taking the time to give us your wonderful comments and ratings about your recent visit at the Ambassador Hotel Waikiki. I have shared your comments to all the hotel staff, which brought great smiles that they were able to extend the spirit of Aloha to you. We hope we will have the pleasure to again serve... More 

Dade City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Ambassador is an older property but very well maintained and clean. The location is good, close to the beach, shopping and The Bus stops. Very good and reasonable restaurant right across the street (Vits) and a stop for most tour and activity shuttles - which suggests you have a room on one of the higher floors to avoid some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Travelor! Thank you for taking the time to rate our services and to add your comments on your recent visit with us. I am happy to hear that our services met your expectations. The areas that we need to improve will be taken into serious consideration to assist us with our guests services. We thank you for your patronage... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel late Jan 2015, picked because it was the cheapest place we could find and we got what we paid for. Do not expect much front his hotel, it isn't awful but you should be aware that it is nothing fancy. If you aren't planning to spend much time in your room, which we weren't, it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Alice: Thank you for taking the time to share your ratings and comments during your visit with us in January 2015. Your comments will assist us in the areas we will need to improve our guest services. We hope that you will consider staying with us again on your future visits. Much Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a joke! We booked a room through booking.com, which advertises free cancellation. A member of our party fell ill and we weren't going to make the trip, so we cancelled the reservation. Two days after the date we would have stayed at the Ambassador, a charge for $150 shows up on my credit card. I contacted them to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and your ratings. I am very sorry to hear that you were not able to stay with us due to the unfortunate accident in your traveling party. I have investigated your reservation and we do not show any contact with our hotel directly regarding the cancellation? Our normal policy is to have our guests contact... More 

Tuxedo Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If there ever was a discrepancy in your reservation, ask for Kurt, Assistant General Manager immediately! He was concerned, kind, and most of all, knowledgeable. This hotel really does there due diligence in regard to customer needs and expectations. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha! I wanted to send you a quick note of thanks for taking the time to rate us and to add your positive comments about your visit with us. I have passed along your wonderful words about my Asssistant General Manager Kurt, who was delighted to hear that he was able to make your visit memorable. We look forward to... More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

....and I guess you get what you pay for. I think it would be attractive to college kid tourists in Waikiki because it is affordable. And if you have no other standards, then it is ok. I remember those days....but I digress. The location is smack in the middle of shopping and just a few blocks from Waikiki Beach, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

I just wanted to send a quick note to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and ratings. I very much appreciate your comments for the areas that we failed to meet your expectations. We value your comments and we are continuously striving to improve our service standards to satisfy our guests. I would like to... More 

Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No Refunds or cancellations allowed. You cannot see the room before you give them money. The lobby is nice, they give you water bottles, only fill-able in lobby for drinking water - don't drink the tap water I was warned. Should have been my first clue but since I booked on Priceline, there were no refunds anyway. The pictures on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear DKVB in Illinois: I am sorry to hear that your visit with us at the Ambassador Hotel Waikiki was unacceptable. I thank you for sharing your experience and thank you for your patronage. Mahalo Roy Yamamoto General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question