We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel Waikiki

2040 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Special Rate
Starting at $109 (USD)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    102
    85
    27
    35
See reviews for
89
73
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (293)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance of the Waikiki beach. The staff were pleasant and was good value for money. The room was clean and spacious and had a kitchenette attached as well.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and very reasonably priced for Waikiki, but you get what you pay for. If you're just looking for a place to sleep that is clean and doesn't cost much, this is perfect. We had a City View room with Kitchenette, which was fine. However, if you're thinking "Hawaii Resort Vacation", this is NOT for you. This is on par... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear Techguy35, Thank you for your review. I apologize if the higher floor was not comfortable for everyone in your party. Most guests like being able to see Waikiki as they walk to their room, or into Manoa valley as the rainbows begin to appear in the distance. A hui hou (until we meet again) Adrian More 

Tokyo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was reasonable. Only a problem I had was the elevator. It was so slow and it sometime took me minutes to get on it. Otherwise I did not have problems. People at the front desk were very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Tomma, We apologize for the elevator speed. It's a busy property and everyone is always moving. I hope you can return soon. Mahalo nui, Adrian More 

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel was extremely clean, and the daily cleans were fabulous! It wasn't flash but it was comfortable. Pool hours were a little on the lean side 10am - 7pm Walking distance to shops, restaurants, beach, buses etc

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear 96Del, Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Just to clarify, we are a Hotel and not a Motel. Motels are found on the mainland for motorists travelling cross-country. Sometimes, I wish our Tropical Islands had an inter-island highway! Regards, Adrian More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's totally different view what web page offer. It's very noisy because parking lot located just by lanai. We can't open the lanai, there're smoking smell, noisy.. terrible view.. Front desk, it's not kind. They do not listen you. They just speak hotel policy like recorder. though you're local and show local ID, you need pay $25 parking fee if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review. There are a number of different offerings available for bookings. The Kamaaina specials are only offered through direct bookings for current Hawaii State residents, and all guests have the same parking rate $25 per night. I'm sorry we could not be a 5 star stay during your trip, and hope you change your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We could not make it to Waikiki because of a flight conflict. Cancelation was honoured without any problem but refund took over a week to be received. Communication about delays was fierce. I will try this hotel again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Dear Frennettd, I'm sorry to hear about your delays in travel. Refunds do take longer for banks to process and unfortunately they are just out of our control. Nevertheless, we apologize if this caused any inconvenience to you. Best regards, Adrian More 

Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at. Rooms could use some upgrades, such as new cabinets in the kitchenettes, but the cleanliness of the hotel and room made up for it. I would stay here again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Karen, Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you witnessed firsthand the pride our staff takes in our property and their workplace. It will surely put a smile on our staff's face when I share your review with them. A hui hou, Adrian More 

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is walking distance to the beach and almost every restaurant and if not, the bus stops right outside. The hotel itself is shabby and in dire need of upgrades and repairs. If you're looking for a no frills basic bed, TV and shower, this is it. The staff was EXCELLENT and knowledgeable and most of friendly. Karla at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha Nina, Thank you for your review. We are working on our plans to renovate soon and we are excited for the future. In the mean time, I'm sorry to hear we could not be a 5 star stay for you this time. Best, Adrian More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were travelling as a family of five and had two rooms - one with a full kitchenette, which was handy. We stayed on the sixth floor, which could've been why it was really noisy, I'd expect any hotel in Waikiki to be noisy. Great location though, close to the freeway and the main strip in Waikiki, about a 15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Greetings Avril, It was so great to meet you during your stay. I'm glad that our accommodations worked well for your family. Waikiki is a lively place, and the Ambassador's location is close to unbeatable. Shopping, dining and entertainment with a beach side ambiance right? Come back soon! Best, Adrian More 

Wadesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't expect a 4 or 5 star hotel. I'm being generous by saying it was a 3 star to be honest. But the fitness area and game room was nice. The furniture and decor was very outdated. And it looks better in the pictures. Much better. It has more of a motel feel to it. Maybe even a place you'd... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adrian P, Director of Front Office at Ambassador Hotel Waikiki, responded to this review

Aloha The Bossae, Thank you for your review. Although it's sad to hear your ill feelings, we thank you for your stay. Hopefully your next travel to Hawaii is more to your liking for you and your guest. Regards, Adrian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Maile Sky Court
Maile Sky Court
#70 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#55 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#65 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ewa Hotel
#63 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#68 of 83 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay