We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816
Offers & Announcements
US$200 Resort Credit
3 people have started booking this hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

1,825 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    330
    122
    54
    48
See reviews for
575
861
44
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1825)
  • Mar-May only
    (483)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (474)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (456)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (412)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Kahala Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
PHILADELPHIA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Some of my fondest memories are those of times spent at this hotel when it was The Kahala Hilton. As The Kahala Resort, it does not disappoint. (Except now I am married, w/children, and I, not my parents, am footing the bill-LOL ; ) This property is, hands-down, the best place to go on Oahu for privacy, while enjoying all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sending your comments following your most recent stay with us. Your feedback is important to us,and it was thoughtful of you to highlight some of the popular sights on Oahu in addition to our spa and our dolphin lagoon. We appreciate your loyal patronage and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Aloha and best regards. More 

Tokyo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We revistid the Kahala a year and a half after our last visit and it was just as wonderful. The service is second to none, from the valet guys, to the hotel staff and all the other personel. We got a free upgrade as we got married in the hotel and even had complimentary sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for selecting our resort for your wedding and for sending your comments following your stay. I was pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our guest services as in the past. However, it was unfortunate that you were not completely satisfied with certain food items, and your comments were shared with our Executive Chef... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This is the most wonderful place to stay in Oahu. Our second trip to Hawaii, this is the best place to stay by far. Yes it is a 15 minute cab ride to central Waikiki, but the hotel shuttle service is excellent, you just need to remember to book in advance as it gets booked quickly. We stayed here with... More 

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

I was delighted to read your comments following your stay, and thank you for selecting our resort for your wedding at our Diamond Head Gazebo. It was great to see that you and your friends and family enjoyed our services and guest facilities. Congratulations again and best wishes. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed at the kahala for a ten night stay and was very disappointed . The overall service was terrible ,Staff were not friendly . I felt that the management was very disorganized .Rooms I heard have been renovated , our suite was nice but the money we were paying $1200 a night, I have paid half at other 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sending your comments following your recent stay with us and for sharing your concerns, in particular, your dissatisfaction regarding our overall service and the performance by some of our staff members. We always try to provide our guests with a pleasant and comfortable resort experience, and we do apologize for any disappointments during your visit. Will you... More 

Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We recently celebrated our 10th anniversary and decided to go back to where we got married and made a reservation on the phone for a rate that we thought was pretty good. Upon arrival and check-in the rate that was on our checkin sheet was $100 more per night. They refused to honor our original rate because we didn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

It was concerning to read your comments about your room rate during your recent stay, and I regret any miscommunication with your booking. Unfortunately, our records do not indicate an offer for complimentary breakfasts, however, we hope you will return in the future and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our resort. Kindly contact us personally so... More 

Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We went to the Kahala straight from Vegas where we had just got married. What a beautiful place. After driving through Waikiki and dropping other passengers off I was a bit anxious. All the hotels there are real sky scrapers and it is very built up (not the honeymoon paradise I had imagined!). We were last on the bus though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

I was delighted to read your comments following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed our services and guest facilities, in particular, Dolphin Quest as well as our dining outlets. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort when you celebrate your 5th wedding anniversary.... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Recently had a short stay here as a part of a girls' bachelorette party and was blown away by the exceptional service we received as well as the gorgeous resident dolphins here! From the minute we arrived, the front desk staff had a room available to us straight away (which was unexpected as our flight landed really early in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sending your comments following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed our secluded location as well as our facilities and guest services. It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your girlfriends back to our resort whenever you plan another trip to Honolulu. Best regards. More 

Medina, WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and I stay at the Kahala two or three times a year. We recently stayed for 6 nights at the end of October/beginning of November and we had a great time. We love seeing employees that we know and who remember us, like the staff at the restaurants and the parking valets who always say "welcome back." And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to read your comments following your most recent stay with us, and we appreciate your loyalty. My staff and I look forward to being of service to you again the next time you visit your "home away from home" in Honolulu. Best regards. More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Kahala in the beginning of October 2011. What a true disappointment from when I was there 10 years ago when it was the Mandarin Oriental. I felt like I was at a bad Club Med!!!---Kids running around-not controlled by their parents and the the worse part that the owners children were part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again and for sending your comments. We have always welcomed children at our resort, and it was unfortunate that your visit was at the same time when many families with children were enjoying our beach and pool. Again, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing your concerns. Best regards. More 

Sachse, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I planned a couples vacay with our BFFs to celebrate our anniversaries together because we had such a wonderful time last year in Maui. Unfortantley it was far from our previous experience last year. Day 1: check in after 12 hrs of flights only to be told that one of the rooms that we insisted be smoking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and were disappointed that we were not able to fulfill your desire for a smoking room. Out of 338 rooms, there are only 30 smoking rooms available. Throughout the property, several smoking stations have been set up to accommodate smokers in the beach area as well as outside of the main lobby. Thank you again for... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Dolphin lagoon(9)
  • Partial ocean view(6)
  • Golf course(5)
  • Pool area(5)
  • Breakfast buffet(4)
  • Room service(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,754 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1019)
Viewed
Room/suite (158)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (199)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (161)
Viewed
View from room (88)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (318)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (620)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (49)
Viewed
Beach Front Lanai (3)
Viewed
Children's Pool (7)
Viewed
Dolphin Lanai Room (3)
Viewed
Dolphin Quest (38)
Viewed
Fitness Center (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Koko Head Ocean Front Lanai Room (9)
Viewed
Koko Head Suite (20)
Viewed
Mountain Lanai Room (120)
Viewed
Pool (25)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (79)
Viewed
Spa (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (115)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay