We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Newport hotels

The Attwater

22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sailing Package
Save Saved
You added The Attwater to your Saves list
The Attwater
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
96%
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Kayce T
  • Overview
  • Reviews (192)
  • Photos (93)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (49)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    44
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
136
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location near cliff walk, bannister's wharf and main shopping areas. Lovely breakfast each day and clean, pretty rooms. Perfect for exploring Newport. Managers are helpful and friendly. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We're thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient location, pretty rooms and lovely breakfast. Your recommendation means a lot and we look forward to your return to visit us in Newport! More

Orange, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I were looking to go on a 2 night trip to Newport, RI. I looked into many B&Bs in the area and this hotel really stood out to me. One reason for this is that it was newly renovated and well kept. Another, was the price. now this is not an inexpensive stay at peak season, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a great stay in our Newport hotel's new Urban Beach House. If you visited in May you must have been one of our first visitors to that 2014 addition to The Attwater. Thank you for your detailed review and recommendation. We love hearing that our stylish decor, modern amenities and attentive service make... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I and our three children stayed here this week. The hotel manager and staff were welcoming and friendly. The rooms were clean and the decor was trendy, fun and fashionable yet utilitarian. The location was absolutely superb - off main road yet centrally located to the pier and Main Street. Quiet. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We loved being called "fun and edgy" -- that's what our tagline "Newport Unconventional" is all about! We greatly appreciate your recommendation and hope you'll stay at The Attwater again the next time you visit Newport. More

England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
72 hotel reviews
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked a 2 night stay in Newport and with the help of TA decided on the Attwater. At the time we chose a small queen room and knew it would be neat in size looking at the website, not a problem. Parking was to the side of the hotel as well as extra spaces over the road. After a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

What a detailed review. Thank you for taking the time to share such complete thoughts about our boutique Newport hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Attwater and that you found our breakfasts to be delicious. As you noticed, we do not have signs limiting our guests to a certain number of breakfast items and suspect... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent a recent weekend in Newport at the Attwater. We selected it based on reviews in Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The location is great - just a short walk to the downtown area. Parking is difficult in Newport so being able to walk is a real plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

That you for your review and recommendation. We're so pleased we could provide a central location for your weekend away in Newport. Come visit again soon! More

Hilton Head
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a gem. Located midway between the two coasts in a quiet backwater, the owners have put together a hotel with the charm of a B&B. Beautiful room (we stayed in the Lark suite) and delicious breakfast. Everything clean and all amenities provided. A little expensive; but worth the money for a very special stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and compliments. We're glad that our special Lark Suite made such a great impression and that you found it to be a value even at a high-season price point. It is certainly one of the largest accommodations in town and provides a spacious "home away from home" in the heart of Newport. Please stay with... More

Bath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at The Attwater for a few days in June. Whilst we loved the decor and general vive/style of the hotel we were a little disappointed with the dining room and breakfast. We felt it lacked atmosphere and felt a little cold and uninviting. The first couple of days the staff weren't really around and we were unsure as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We must say that we are very confused about this review as we do not have any signs restricting what the guests have for breakfasts, and in fact always make sure to tell folks to help themselves to our selection of unique small plates and homemade items -- both during check-in and as we greet them in the morning. More

florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Attwater was recommended to us by a friend when we stayed in Newport for a weekend. What a gem! It is simply amazing. First, the décor in the hotel is fabulous. It is modern art mixed with vintage Newport style and we loved it - from the sitting room, through the hallways into the guest rooms. Very eclectic. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you took your friend's recommendation and stayed with us here at The Attwater. It is so nice to hear that you loved our Newport hotel's unconventional decor, super-comfy beds, and, most of all, the service of Brad and Megan. We look forward to your return. More

Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelling in the area of Rhode Island / Connecticut and stood two nights at this outstanding, newly renovated / refurbished place with our daughters. The managers are great, welcoming and helpful and provide many excellent tips for Newport and the area (incl an iPad with many helpful links). The rooms are very nice, shining and esthetically - the bath rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and recommendation. It was a pleasure having you visit from overseas and a joy to help you and your lovely daughters make the most of Newport. We appreciate your nice comments about our breakfasts and our friendly staff. Please stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Rhode Island. More

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm a self-proclaimed hotel snob, and I wanted to choose the perfect place for my boyfriend's birthday weekend away for the Newport Jazz Fest. The Attwater exceeded my expectations. The hotel itself is beautiful. We stayed in a King Suite in the newly opened beach house. The room was spacious and the decorating spot on. Each morning, we had breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dawn H, Public Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review

Our chocolate chip sea salt cookies are truly spectacular, we agree! So are the brownies -- you'll need to come back and try those next time. We were so pleased that we could assist in making your boyfriend's birthday weekend so memorable. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and the beauty of our Newport hotel. We hope... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Attwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

93 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newport with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport #2 Spa Hotel in Newport #2 Family Hotel in Newport #3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Attwater staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer