We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Newport Onshore

#15 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersSilver level
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
405 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Newport Onshore)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Newport Onshore
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    45
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (95)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were fortunate to be able to rent this condo last minute on a summer weekend. The front desk staff was very pleasant and friendly and the office had some drinks and snacks available on Friday afternoon when we checked in. Our unit was very clean and well stocked. We had 2 decks, one overlooking the harbor. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsend, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have been owners at the Onshore since 1995. We will be back again next week. We have seen this resort go through many changes, not all good, but the one thing that has been consistant is the quality of the staff. They really do their best to deliver 110% for the guests and work hard to overcome the the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words regarding service, we will definitely share these with our staff. Please know the current board at Newport Onshore is very much interested in updating as much as financially possible to the resort each year. The unit owners were not invoiced for the Marina upgrade. We are very pleased to say that we are in... More 

Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros: great location; very roomy 2 bdr unit; good shower; decent bed; decent value Cons: terrible wifi; too many lounge hogs at the "communal" pool; condo needed better ventilation, with signs of moisture damage in bathroom; terrible lighting. Would I go back? Yes LOL. Overall value was better than what you normally get in Newport during Folk Festival weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! It will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. We are currently working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. Please visit us again in the future! More 

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

I have been spending 3 weeks in July at Newport Onshore for over 23 years, so I am very familiar with the property. This year I was really disappointed in the miserable Wifi service that is provided to guests. Last year the Wifi was decent, not great. This year it was horrible - basically it did not work. We talked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are currently working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you and thank you for your valuable feedback as... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Great location in heart of Newport. Right on the marina with great water views. You have to take it for what it is - a small resort in a fantastic location. Don't expect a large Marriott resort complex in Newport, there just aren't any. But for downtown Newport RI, it was great. Especially compared to the other Wyndham timeshares in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We will share these with our staff. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will visit us again! Again, thank you for reaching out. More 

hartford CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Just came home from a 4 night stay at the Wyndham Long Wharf. The hotel is perfect, right on Thames street about a 5-10 minute walk to the center of town. We originally booked a 2 bedroom united (we are renters) and we got upgraded to a 3 bedroom unit overlooking the pier. Along with the upgrade, our room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello brando16a, we are glad you chose us for your destination and happy you enjoyed our accomodations. I would like to apologize for our shortcomings and appreciate the comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again! More 

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

We recently stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom waterfront unit and loved it! The unit was very clean. The cabinetry was chipped and scuffed in a few places, but this was not important to us. One bedroom has a king bed with an attached bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, the other had 2 twin beds and an attached... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello WeeWoodstock, thank you for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your time and the accomodations. We will see you again soon! More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

First, I will say what is nice about this place. It is in the heart of downtown Newport. The harbor view from the unit is beautiful. The unit is clean. There were no sales pitches to buy there. It is quiet. The older maintenance guy is a gem-- very helpful and always pleasant. Now for why I would never stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. We value your suggestions and feedback, as it gives us guidance on what to provide our guests during vacation. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I stayed here many summers throughout my childhood and I have to say, I'm chuckling as I read through some of these reviews. I remember loud elevators and shabby porches and fraying carpeting (though I see there have been recent renovations). But all that being said, I really love this place. You can't beat the view or location. The middle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

Hello Rebecca S. thank you for your review, we have had some recent upgrades and would like to see you back soon! More 

Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Stay here almost every year with friends from college for a long weekend of fun and frolic. Eating and drinking and enjoying the town. We always go shopping around the hotel area and sometimes rent Vespas to run around the area, which is great fun, too! Great restaurants, pubs, and bars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Newport Onshore, responded to this review

We are so glad that you choose us for your weekend of frolic with your college friends year after year! We'll see you next time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
0.3 mi away
Wellington Resort
Wellington Resort
#17 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay