We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

#18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    32
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
18
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

After one week in the hotel, it really began to feel like home. The staff was wonderful and really warm and inviting, although they did take a day or two to warm up. (When we checked in there was a boat show in town, which came with some very rude guests, they treated the staff horribly!). The room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi LaurenR87! Happy Holidays and thank you for taking the time to comment about Inn on the Harbor. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon! More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
333 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange. Had trouble finding it but it was right in front of our faces, we just turned one driveway too soon. The parking is underneath. I was worried about finding parking but we always did. In our first room, we had neighbors that were the worst neighbors that one could ever have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you had to deal with the excessive noise! I am glad we were able to move you away to enjoy some piece and quiet for the remainder of your stay. More 

South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. The location was fantastic! It is walking distance to almost everything. However, the hotel itself needs a drastic update. Everything looks like it came out of 1992. I also found that the shower and sheets needed to either be cleaned better or replaced. Everything else was very clean/suitable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi Mediajackie! Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time and the location of our resort. Also, thank you for the concerns about a renovation and cleanliness. This helps us constantly better the Inn. See you again soon! More 

Latham, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quick getaway from the the kids. The hotel was clean, front desk personnel very helpful and the location was perfect. Parking could be an issue when crowded but we didn't have any issues. Overall a great stay, booked through priceline and got a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

We are glad you had an enjoyable time! Come again! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

There were three of us doing a three week holiday to New York and New England and we generally had two rooms. We stayed two nights at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, Newport in Superior 1 bedroom suites We managed to get two rooms on the top floor that had great views over the harbor, and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback David! This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit! More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, harbor view from our top floor room. Very clean. Very accommodating, friendly staff. There's a waterfront pub downstairs. The bed was extremely comfortable. However, we found it odd, that we received no maid service. No bed made, no towels folded/replaced. Centrally located, you can park free and walk to many of the prime areas of Newport. Street parking is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! It allows us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. As we are a vacation ownership property (vs a hotel), housekeeping services are performed for week long stays, but also as requested for stays shorter than 7 nights. We hope that you will visit us again in the future! More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Centrally located, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and behond the Ann St Landing for ferry access makes this one of the best places to stay in Newport as far as location is concerned. It is also within walking distance to the Bellevue Avenue "Cottages" which is a huge plus. Add to that a harbor view (request it, it might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor! We are pleased you enjoyed our location as much as we do. Your comments and concerns are greatly appreciated as they help us better our property for future visits from yourself and others. More 

Carnelian Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

So glad I came upon this hotel on TA. I asked for a harbor view room and was lucky enough to get one. Bonus, it was on the top floor! I have been in love with the Narragansett Bay since I first flew into Providence TF Green Airport four years ago. The view from the living area is phenomenal! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even more that you found us here on Trip Advisor! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Best view in town, great balcony, perfect location right in the middle of Thames St shopping and restaurants. Can't wait to go back. Didn't see the staff much, but didn't need them. Room was well appointed and we came and went as we pleased. Great food truck festival was going on next door. What a treat!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive feedback! We cannot wait for you to come back either! More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a last-minute timeshare week here for the middle of August- We've been here before but this is considered a superior one bedroom where the bedroom is actually off to the side so it's quiet and you won't hear the doors slamming more people walking down the hallway. We really enjoyed our week here very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here and are looking forward to your return! We will share your comments with our staff. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay