We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

#17 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These are timeshare units with a kitchenette. This room had a beautiful view of Newport Harbor. The staff is quite helpful. Includes one parking spot. Restaurant downstairs gives discount to guests. Lots to do in this area. Mansion tours, Sunset Cruise was great! Red parrot restaurant is right across the street. Great Thai Cuisine restaurant down the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your unit and our local eateries! More 

Street, Maryland
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Stayed here for a 3 night getaway, I wasn't expecting a very nice place after reading some previous reviews. I already knew not to expect daily maid service because this is a timeshare not a hotel. They did however give us nice starter pack of soaps, toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, toiletries,etc. They provide towels and linens and laundry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi gma0f4, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I tried for a month to think of some nice things to say about my week at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor. The location is excellent. I parked my car on arrival and didn't take it out for the whole week because you can walk everywhere! They double park at the Wyndham so it isn't easy to get your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your response 553kimberlya. While we are glad you enjoyed the area and some of our Inn feautures, we are sorry to hear about your dissapointments. Your comments have been noted and anything within our control will be taken care of. Once again, thank you for commenting on your stay. More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

After one week in the hotel, it really began to feel like home. The staff was wonderful and really warm and inviting, although they did take a day or two to warm up. (When we checked in there was a boat show in town, which came with some very rude guests, they treated the staff horribly!). The room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi LaurenR87! Happy Holidays and thank you for taking the time to comment about Inn on the Harbor. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon! More 

Los Angeles
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
20 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange. Had trouble finding it but it was right in front of our faces, we just turned one driveway too soon. The parking is underneath. I was worried about finding parking but we always did. In our first room, we had neighbors that were the worst neighbors that one could ever have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you had to deal with the excessive noise! I am glad we were able to move you away to enjoy some piece and quiet for the remainder of your stay. More 

South Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. The location was fantastic! It is walking distance to almost everything. However, the hotel itself needs a drastic update. Everything looks like it came out of 1992. I also found that the shower and sheets needed to either be cleaned better or replaced. Everything else was very clean/suitable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi Mediajackie! Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time and the location of our resort. Also, thank you for the concerns about a renovation and cleanliness. This helps us constantly better the Inn. See you again soon! More 

Latham, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quick getaway from the the kids. The hotel was clean, front desk personnel very helpful and the location was perfect. Parking could be an issue when crowded but we didn't have any issues. Overall a great stay, booked through priceline and got a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

We are glad you had an enjoyable time! Come again! More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

There were three of us doing a three week holiday to New York and New England and we generally had two rooms. We stayed two nights at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, Newport in Superior 1 bedroom suites We managed to get two rooms on the top floor that had great views over the harbor, and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback David! This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit! More 

Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, harbor view from our top floor room. Very clean. Very accommodating, friendly staff. There's a waterfront pub downstairs. The bed was extremely comfortable. However, we found it odd, that we received no maid service. No bed made, no towels folded/replaced. Centrally located, you can park free and walk to many of the prime areas of Newport. Street parking is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! It allows us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. As we are a vacation ownership property (vs a hotel), housekeeping services are performed for week long stays, but also as requested for stays shorter than 7 nights. We hope that you will visit us again in the future! More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Centrally located, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and behond the Ann St Landing for ferry access makes this one of the best places to stay in Newport as far as location is concerned. It is also within walking distance to the Bellevue Avenue "Cottages" which is a huge plus. Add to that a harbor view (request it, it might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor! We are pleased you enjoyed our location as much as we do. Your comments and concerns are greatly appreciated as they help us better our property for future visits from yourself and others. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question