We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

2.5 of 5 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
17 hotel reviews
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange. Had trouble finding it but it was right in front of our faces, we just turned one driveway too soon. The parking is underneath. I was worried about finding parking but we always did. In our first room, we had neighbors that were the worst neighbors that one could ever have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you had to deal with the excessive noise! I am glad we were able to move you away to enjoy some piece and quiet for the remainder of your stay. More 

South Amboy, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. The location was fantastic! It is walking distance to almost everything. However, the hotel itself needs a drastic update. Everything looks like it came out of 1992. I also found that the shower and sheets needed to either be cleaned better or replaced. Everything else was very clean/suitable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi Mediajackie! Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time and the location of our resort. Also, thank you for the concerns about a renovation and cleanliness. This helps us constantly better the Inn. See you again soon! More 

Latham, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a quick getaway from the the kids. The hotel was clean, front desk personnel very helpful and the location was perfect. Parking could be an issue when crowded but we didn't have any issues. Overall a great stay, booked through priceline and got a great deal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

We are glad you had an enjoyable time! Come again! More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

There were three of us doing a three week holiday to New York and New England and we generally had two rooms. We stayed two nights at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, Newport in Superior 1 bedroom suites We managed to get two rooms on the top floor that had great views over the harbor, and there is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback David! This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit! More 

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely, harbor view from our top floor room. Very clean. Very accommodating, friendly staff. There's a waterfront pub downstairs. The bed was extremely comfortable. However, we found it odd, that we received no maid service. No bed made, no towels folded/replaced. Centrally located, you can park free and walk to many of the prime areas of Newport. Street parking is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! It allows us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. As we are a vacation ownership property (vs a hotel), housekeeping services are performed for week long stays, but also as requested for stays shorter than 7 nights. We hope that you will visit us again in the future! More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Centrally located, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and behond the Ann St Landing for ferry access makes this one of the best places to stay in Newport as far as location is concerned. It is also within walking distance to the Bellevue Avenue "Cottages" which is a huge plus. Add to that a harbor view (request it, it might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor! We are pleased you enjoyed our location as much as we do. Your comments and concerns are greatly appreciated as they help us better our property for future visits from yourself and others. More 

Carnelian Bay, Ca
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

So glad I came upon this hotel on TA. I asked for a harbor view room and was lucky enough to get one. Bonus, it was on the top floor! I have been in love with the Narragansett Bay since I first flew into Providence TF Green Airport four years ago. The view from the living area is phenomenal! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and even more that you found us here on Trip Advisor! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Best view in town, great balcony, perfect location right in the middle of Thames St shopping and restaurants. Can't wait to go back. Didn't see the staff much, but didn't need them. Room was well appointed and we came and went as we pleased. Great food truck festival was going on next door. What a treat!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive feedback! We cannot wait for you to come back either! More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a last-minute timeshare week here for the middle of August- We've been here before but this is considered a superior one bedroom where the bedroom is actually off to the side so it's quiet and you won't hear the doors slamming more people walking down the hallway. We really enjoyed our week here very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your time here and are looking forward to your return! We will share your comments with our staff. More 

Wellesley, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

PROS: Excellent location, roof deck with beautiful panoramic view of Narragansett Bay, free parking, clean & spacious room. CONS: no ice machine on our floor, no pool, no breakfast, no harbor view: they cannot guarantee a room with a harbor view, but the roof deck makes up for it. Service was "meh". Rate was reasonable for peak summer season. Overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back Alicia C! While we do lack many amenities our sister properties have as well as other hotels in the area we make up in our location and views. I am sorry that our service feel below your expectations as this is something we are consistently striving for! Looking forward to you next visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay