We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

#18 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    31
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
18
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night (May 2015) Got a room with a gorgeous view of the Newport harbour. As with all the wyndhams I've ever stayed at, room was quite nice... Furnished nicely.. With all the essentials but that view is what made it special. Loved it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringgold, Georgia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
42 hotel reviews
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This resort has an excellent location right on the harbor in Newport, RI. You can walk to the downtown shops and restaurants including Starbucks, or, take a water taxi over to Fort Adams. You will need a car though to do the mansions and the Ocean Drive. It is not far to Providence or to Boston if you are so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed a couple of times at this hotel. Great location. Stayed 2 adults & 2 kids 7 & 10. Great set up as kids sleep in one section w/ TV and door to partition it off from bedroom which also has it's own TV. Within walking distance to everything around Thames St. The arcade, restaurants & shops. Full size frig... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello Nancy S, thank you for coming back and we are glad you enjoy the accomodations! We will see you again soon! More 

farminton new mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you value your sleep do not stay here! Paper thin walls and a restaurant below that plays music till after 11 pm. Tired decor and unit. It's one saving grace is location. The ladies at the front desk were helpful also.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your review bowhunter56! We are glad you liked our location and that the front desk staff was helpful. We do apologize for the problems you did encounter with your stay due to noise from adjacent rooms and the below restaurant. More 

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

nj
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

These are timeshare units with a kitchenette. This room had a beautiful view of Newport Harbor. The staff is quite helpful. Includes one parking spot. Restaurant downstairs gives discount to guests. Lots to do in this area. Mansion tours, Sunset Cruise was great! Red parrot restaurant is right across the street. Great Thai Cuisine restaurant down the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review! We are so glad you enjoyed your unit and our local eateries! More 

Street, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Stayed here for a 3 night getaway, I wasn't expecting a very nice place after reading some previous reviews. I already knew not to expect daily maid service because this is a timeshare not a hotel. They did however give us nice starter pack of soaps, toilet paper, paper towels, dish soap, toiletries,etc. They provide towels and linens and laundry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi gma0f4, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon! More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I tried for a month to think of some nice things to say about my week at the Wyndham Inn on the Harbor. The location is excellent. I parked my car on arrival and didn't take it out for the whole week because you can walk everywhere! They double park at the Wyndham so it isn't easy to get your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your response 553kimberlya. While we are glad you enjoyed the area and some of our Inn feautures, we are sorry to hear about your dissapointments. Your comments have been noted and anything within our control will be taken care of. Once again, thank you for commenting on your stay. More 

Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

After one week in the hotel, it really began to feel like home. The staff was wonderful and really warm and inviting, although they did take a day or two to warm up. (When we checked in there was a boat show in town, which came with some very rude guests, they treated the staff horribly!). The room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi LaurenR87! Happy Holidays and thank you for taking the time to comment about Inn on the Harbor. Your comments will be shared with our staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon! More 

Los Angeles
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
20 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange. Had trouble finding it but it was right in front of our faces, we just turned one driveway too soon. The parking is underneath. I was worried about finding parking but we always did. In our first room, we had neighbors that were the worst neighbors that one could ever have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I am so sorry you had to deal with the excessive noise! I am glad we were able to move you away to enjoy some piece and quiet for the remainder of your stay. More 

South Amboy, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My husband and I came here for a weekend getaway. The location was fantastic! It is walking distance to almost everything. However, the hotel itself needs a drastic update. Everything looks like it came out of 1992. I also found that the shower and sheets needed to either be cleaned better or replaced. Everything else was very clean/suitable!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hi Mediajackie! Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time and the location of our resort. Also, thank you for the concerns about a renovation and cleanliness. This helps us constantly better the Inn. See you again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay