We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Newport hotels

Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

2.5 of 5 Resort   |   359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Inn on the Harbor to your Saves list
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
NYcitygirlNyc NYC
  • Overview
  • Reviews (72)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

After many years of staying in Newport with our kids, we came for a couples weekend. This location was truly incredible, in the middle of it all on Lower Thames street. But, because it is set back from the street with stunning views of the harbor, there is very little noise. The rooms are well appointed, like a comfort inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Hello, we are so pleased you got to enjoy some time in Newport and at our location for a couples weekend! The views, location and parking are what we consider our top "amenities." Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit! More

Kingston, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great harbor views, adequate furnishings, all was very clean and the staff was welcoming and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the roof deck and found the apartment to be quiet and peaceful. We were in walking distance of everything at night, so it was perfect for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback! We will share your kind words with our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Newport, RI. Looking forward to your next visit! More

Hillside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In the first week of May, the resort was fully booked. Fortunately, I got a quiet one bedroom deluxe unit on the third floor, that faced Newport Harbor and the Newport bridge. All-a-shore, that's going a-shore :-). I put into Newport Harbor many years ago, aboard a Caribbean Cruise ship, that had to race out of Bermuda a day or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter W, Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback! I am glad you were pleased with your time here and were able to come back to enjoy the shore! While we do lack amenities on site we make up for in our superb location. Again, thanks for the feedback and look forward to seeing you again! More

Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The location was fantastic. You are in walking distance from just about anything. The roof deck has amazing an view of the harbor and is a beautiful place to get a little sun, have a cocktail or watch the sunset. Unfortunately, my wallet was stolen on the rood deck when I wasn't paying attention. It was later returned with $150.00... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for this great feedback, it will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort! We are in the process of converting all bedspreads to white duvets and anticipate all units to be converted by the end of July. I truly apologize for what happened with your wallet, it is a shame that you had... More

Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love to visit Newport off-season when we can use our memberhsip, but would rent it if it were available peak. But, that's the problem with Newport. It's great in the summer and everyone know s about it. That's why Wyndham has 5 Hotel Resorts and the nicest and newst across the bridge on Jamestown Island. I've stayed Harbor view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words! We will share these comments with our associates. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit in Newport or Jamestown! More

Bloomfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Overall we had a pleasant stay. Room was dated but clean and staff was pleasant. We didn't like the bedroom right off the entrance, but it was pretty quiet overnight so it wasn't a big issue. We liked being right in downtown, and being able to cook our own breakfast in the mini-kitchen. I wouldn't call it a "resort", but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill C, General Manager at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, we will share these with our associates! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit! Jill Carbone Resort Manager More

Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Good Location is great. Walk outside and you have the harbor behind you and downtown shops and restaurants all in walking distance. We had a partial bay view which was ok but there is a rooftop deck with fabulous expansive view of the harbor and the bridge. I imagine the bay view rooms are great if you can get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Duanesburg, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

As I sit in front of the huge window of our room waiting for the sunset over the bay at Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, I read the other reviews and wonder who wouldn't love this place! Mentioning the pipe near the ceiling is totally misrepresenting this Inn. The front desk was super helpful and courteous, and the rooms had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Absolutely agree with the February 23 review concerning the reception area. I'm not one to criticize attire but, to be honest, when we first entered the lobby I wasn't even sure the person behind the desk was the receptionist. There was nothing about her appearance that would indicate that she was a member of the staff. Although she was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Both doors to the entryway were wide open and the entire lobby smelled like cigarette smoke... every time we came through. The entire lobby is glass as we approached, and we saw two maintenance workers were hanging around the front desk, chit-chatting with the receptionist as we walked in. They promptly left, but set did set an off-putting first impression.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wyndham Inn on the Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Address: 359 Thames St., Newport, RI 02840 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Green Hotel in Newport #5 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer