We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Newport hotels

Motel 6 Newport

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Newport to your Saves list
Motel 6 Newport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
40%
Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Newport
  • Overview
  • Reviews (94)
  • Photos (12)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    25
    30
    12
    25
See reviews for
19
35
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I didn't actually stay here. I did reserve a room. I spent 5 minutes talking to my husband about how we get out of this place. Fortunately, they refunded our money and we went to another hotel. You do get what you pay for and this hotel was about $70 per night. No shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, closet...much of what I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Poodle_Mommy, Thank you for posting your review. At Motel 6 we pride ourselves on giving our guests confidence in quality and comfort and we are sorry that due to the absence of amenities expected you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please contact Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we have a record of your visit, can further... More

Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was a dog barking loud in a room next to ours. Someone left the dog in the room and spent the night out, crazy. Very noisy motel. I was able to hear all the guests coming in at all different time of the night. I do not recommend! Please avoid this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have one word to describe this motel: Yuck! The motel reeks of cigarette smoke and does not offer basic amenities in the room like a hair dryer or shampoo and conditioner. You have to buy the shampoo and conditioner in a vending machine. We booked a non-smoking room and were told upon check-in that the motel only had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and her husband had reservations at this hotel for her sisters wedding. 2nd floor was filthy at 4:24PM with laundry carts all down the hall and bags off trash from rooms everywhere. Laundry room door was open and totally filthy. We proceeded to room and even after a guarentee 3pm check in the room had not been touched.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived and was charged nearly $60 more than I was quoted on the phone. Yes, I had changed my reservation prior from 4 nights to 2(glad I did) and was told at checkin that the systems known delay in updating changed rates/corresponding reservations was to blame. While this may be true, representatives should say they are unable to give... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a different to stay during the 2014 Newport Folk Festival, and when a cheaper room became available online at the Motel 6, I grabbed it and paid with a credit card. I called the hotel to be sure that everything was squared away and they confirmed that a room was in my name and it was booked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I spent 2 days here last year and didn't think it was bad for the price. I booked here again for a week. This visit was better than the first. Upon arrival the gentleman was very pleasant. He even adjusted the price that the booking.com had quoted. 100.00 cheaper than the reservation stated. The motel did drastic changes to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

In a town where my meal was $100 it was nice to stay in a room for only $75. Of course I dreamed if staying on the waterfront but reality kicked in. The Motel 6 is still in Newport near the Middletown line but close enough to get back quickly. It probably takes less time than going to Castle Hill.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This motel is near the center of town. Clean, recently painted, no breakfast,( nor within walking distance of a restaurant), or any amenities normally associated with a motel, such as, shampoo. No swimming pool, parking lot was small, no closet, or table, or book of local information,1 lamp illuminating the entire room, the towels where wimpy and scratchy, could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel was convenient to the Marina where we needed to be and served our purpose. The rooms are spacious, clean, and updated. Although the front desk agent alerted us to call far in advance for a cab on a busy summer weekend, we did find it difficult to get a hold of the four options she provided to us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel 6
Newport Motel Six

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newport with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
79

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer