We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Newport

249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Newport
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    33
    13
    28
See reviews for
22
39
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Vernon Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night, and it was one night too many. The room was clean, but we had problems with the kids in the room next door to ours. Starting at 7:30 pm, they were running up and down the hall, slamming doors, yelling and screaming. I realize kids will be kids, but when it continued into the later... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The absolute worst stay ever! We have stayed here many times over the years and enjoyed the attention Ajit gave us. This time he was not here and it was evident. The room was not clean and the obnoxious behavior of some of the guests was unacceptable. I mentioned this at checkout, found out Ajit was no longer there and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
East Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

- The front desk customer service experience was not very hospitable. I guess I shouldn't expect enthusiastic people but someone who at least made eye contact and goes through the check in process with at least half a smile would've been nice. He seemed like he didn't want to be there and we were bothering him. - He didn't tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our gustomer service, but with your experinece we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for... More 

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My husband son (4yrs) and I made reservations for one night on our way up to Maine. A quick stop in Newport so we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. Seemed like the Motel 6 would be perfect.... well..... let me start by saying the staff was really friendly! This is a pet friendly hotel and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pa.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

If you are looking for Newport Elegance, this is not for you! If you enjoy a sparsly furnished, but very clean overnight room for under 50.00 , this is the place you want. We advanced booked with Priceline and got a room for 2 for 49.00 per night! We would stay there again. Our visit to Newport only lasted 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frazer
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My wife and I started our New England trip in Newport. We were not looking for opulence; just a decent, inexpensive ($47 in 10/13) night's sleep. It's convenient: only a few minutes outside of town. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I came to Newport for one night, but then subsequently extended my stay by three more. When paying for the extension, I specifically asked if the rate was going to be the same $59.99/night, and was told yes by the desk clerk. However at check out that turned out not to be the case, and they had already billed my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I didn't actually stay here. I did reserve a room. I spent 5 minutes talking to my husband about how we get out of this place. Fortunately, they refunded our money and we went to another hotel. You do get what you pay for and this hotel was about $70 per night. No shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, closet...much of what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Poodle_Mommy, Thank you for posting your review. At Motel 6 we pride ourselves on giving our guests confidence in quality and comfort and we are sorry that due to the absence of amenities expected you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please contact Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we have a record of your visit, can further... More 

Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

There was a dog barking loud in a room next to ours. Someone left the dog in the room and spent the night out, crazy. Very noisy motel. I was able to hear all the guests coming in at all different time of the night. I do not recommend! Please avoid this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have one word to describe this motel: Yuck! The motel reeks of cigarette smoke and does not offer basic amenities in the room like a hair dryer or shampoo and conditioner. You have to buy the shampoo and conditioner in a vending machine. We booked a non-smoking room and were told upon check-in that the motel only had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question