We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Newport

2.0 of 5 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel 6 Newport
Motel 6 Newport
Motel 6 Newport
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    28
    32
    13
    26
See reviews for
22
38
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
East Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

- The front desk customer service experience was not very hospitable. I guess I shouldn't expect enthusiastic people but someone who at least made eye contact and goes through the check in process with at least half a smile would've been nice. He seemed like he didn't want to be there and we were bothering him. - He didn't tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff aims to provide the highest level of hospitality to our guests through our gustomer service, but with your experinece we have fallen short and would like to apologize for the service issues you describe. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for... More 

Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

My husband son (4yrs) and I made reservations for one night on our way up to Maine. A quick stop in Newport so we didn't want to spend an arm and a leg. Seemed like the Motel 6 would be perfect.... well..... let me start by saying the staff was really friendly! This is a pet friendly hotel and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pa.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

If you are looking for Newport Elegance, this is not for you! If you enjoy a sparsly furnished, but very clean overnight room for under 50.00 , this is the place you want. We advanced booked with Priceline and got a room for 2 for 49.00 per night! We would stay there again. Our visit to Newport only lasted 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frazer
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My wife and I started our New England trip in Newport. We were not looking for opulence; just a decent, inexpensive ($47 in 10/13) night's sleep. It's convenient: only a few minutes outside of town. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I came to Newport for one night, but then subsequently extended my stay by three more. When paying for the extension, I specifically asked if the rate was going to be the same $59.99/night, and was told yes by the desk clerk. However at check out that turned out not to be the case, and they had already billed my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I didn't actually stay here. I did reserve a room. I spent 5 minutes talking to my husband about how we get out of this place. Fortunately, they refunded our money and we went to another hotel. You do get what you pay for and this hotel was about $70 per night. No shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, closet...much of what I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Poodle_Mommy, Thank you for posting your review. At Motel 6 we pride ourselves on giving our guests confidence in quality and comfort and we are sorry that due to the absence of amenities expected you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please contact Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we have a record of your visit, can further... More 

Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

There was a dog barking loud in a room next to ours. Someone left the dog in the room and spent the night out, crazy. Very noisy motel. I was able to hear all the guests coming in at all different time of the night. I do not recommend! Please avoid this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have one word to describe this motel: Yuck! The motel reeks of cigarette smoke and does not offer basic amenities in the room like a hair dryer or shampoo and conditioner. You have to buy the shampoo and conditioner in a vending machine. We booked a non-smoking room and were told upon check-in that the motel only had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My daughter and her husband had reservations at this hotel for her sisters wedding. 2nd floor was filthy at 4:24PM with laundry carts all down the hall and bags off trash from rooms everywhere. Laundry room door was open and totally filthy. We proceeded to room and even after a guarentee 3pm check in the room had not been touched.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I arrived and was charged nearly $60 more than I was quoted on the phone. Yes, I had changed my reservation prior from 4 nights to 2(glad I did) and was told at checkin that the systems known delay in updating changed rates/corresponding reservations was to blame. While this may be true, representatives should say they are unable to give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel 6
Newport Motel Six

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay