We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Newport hotels

Motel 6 Newport

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Hotel amenities
Motel 6 Newport
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Newport to your Saves list
40%
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Newport
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    27
    31
    12
    26
See reviews for
20
37
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Pa.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are looking for Newport Elegance, this is not for you! If you enjoy a sparsly furnished, but very clean overnight room for under 50.00 , this is the place you want. We advanced booked with Priceline and got a room for 2 for 49.00 per night! We would stay there again. Our visit to Newport only lasted 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frazer
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I started our New England trip in Newport. We were not looking for opulence; just a decent, inexpensive ($47 in 10/13) night's sleep. It's convenient: only a few minutes outside of town. We would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to Newport for one night, but then subsequently extended my stay by three more. When paying for the extension, I specifically asked if the rate was going to be the same $59.99/night, and was told yes by the desk clerk. However at check out that turned out not to be the case, and they had already billed my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Allentown PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I didn't actually stay here. I did reserve a room. I spent 5 minutes talking to my husband about how we get out of this place. Fortunately, they refunded our money and we went to another hotel. You do get what you pay for and this hotel was about $70 per night. No shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer, closet...much of what I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Newport, responded to this review

Poodle_Mommy, Thank you for posting your review. At Motel 6 we pride ourselves on giving our guests confidence in quality and comfort and we are sorry that due to the absence of amenities expected you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please contact Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 so that we have a record of your visit, can further... More

Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

There was a dog barking loud in a room next to ours. Someone left the dog in the room and spent the night out, crazy. Very noisy motel. I was able to hear all the guests coming in at all different time of the night. I do not recommend! Please avoid this motel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have one word to describe this motel: Yuck! The motel reeks of cigarette smoke and does not offer basic amenities in the room like a hair dryer or shampoo and conditioner. You have to buy the shampoo and conditioner in a vending machine. We booked a non-smoking room and were told upon check-in that the motel only had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My daughter and her husband had reservations at this hotel for her sisters wedding. 2nd floor was filthy at 4:24PM with laundry carts all down the hall and bags off trash from rooms everywhere. Laundry room door was open and totally filthy. We proceeded to room and even after a guarentee 3pm check in the room had not been touched.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I arrived and was charged nearly $60 more than I was quoted on the phone. Yes, I had changed my reservation prior from 4 nights to 2(glad I did) and was told at checkin that the systems known delay in updating changed rates/corresponding reservations was to blame. While this may be true, representatives should say they are unable to give... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Wellesley, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I booked a different to stay during the 2014 Newport Folk Festival, and when a cheaper room became available online at the Motel 6, I grabbed it and paid with a credit card. I called the hotel to be sure that everything was squared away and they confirmed that a room was in my name and it was booked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I spent 2 days here last year and didn't think it was bad for the price. I booked here again for a week. This visit was better than the first. Upon arrival the gentleman was very pleasant. He even adjusted the price that the booking.com had quoted. 100.00 cheaper than the reservation stated. The motel did drastic changes to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Do you own or manage Motel 6 Newport?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Address: 249 JT Connell Hwy., Newport, RI 02840
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel 6
Newport Motel Six

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay