We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceancliff Hotel

65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02042
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oceancliff Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Oceancliff Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    17
    9
    8
    12
See reviews for
25
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Make sure that you understand that there is the Oceancliff Hotel (VERY pricey!) and then the Oceancliff Resort 1/2 (reasonable but bare bones!) The property is VERY dated and there is no daily housekeeping (unless arranged). Towels must be turned in daily by the guest for new ones and the elevator was not in service (awaiting inspection our entire visit)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When you marry the love of your life, how can things get any better? They can't. But it does not hurt when the weather is just right and the setting is perfect. OceanCliff and its team deserves much praise for its attention to detail, personalized service and delivering what they promised. Our sales contact Kate was professional and provided us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose to stay over for our cousin's daughter's wedding! Brilliant. All the reviews are correct about the noise - but it was our group so.... It was ok. The staff were really great - wonderful setting, lovely old building. Yes the beds were hard, and the A/C controlled by the front desk, and no fridge in the room, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have an Owner's Suite and the room is excellent. A king bed, two full bathrooms, a sleeper sofa in the living room, and a full kitchen. The bedroom bathroom also has a jacuzzi tub and double sinks. We stay here with our three kids and add a cot. The room still accommodates us fine. There is a restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

visited the ocean side bar and enjoyed few cocktails. Excellent place to rewind, causal walk and weddings. One can enjoy the sightseeing of all the sail boats passing by with a birds-eye view. The staff is extremely courteous and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in town to celebrate our anniversary. We chose Oceancliff because the location was set away from downtown Newport and was beautiful. The back yard was stunning, breathtaking views of the water and sailboats. We stayed in room 9. It was very spacious and nicely appointed. My only reason for not providing a 5 star review is because the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kristen W, Public Relations Manager at Oceancliff Hotel, responded to this review

Momopies, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at OceanCliff! While we are happy to hear that you really enjoyed your accommodations and the stunning views, we are very sorry that the noise from the wedding woke you. We always want to provide a five star experience for all... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over rated. They feel they're quite important in Newport. They aren't. They're food and service aren't up to par with the neighborhood. The property should command a huge following, but they're wasting the location and overcharging the clientele.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kristen W, Public Relations Manager at Oceancliff Hotel, responded to this review

William C., thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing to dine with us at the Safari Room. We're very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. We never enjoy hearing when our guests are less than satisfied and I have shared your comments with our management team. We hope that despite your recent... More 

East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Loved my stay here. I stayed in Room 30 - a one-bedroom unit. It was wonderful. Bedroom, master bath, living room, kitchen and another bathroom. Also a cute little balcony. Really nice space. Everything seemed new. Full cable, wi-fi, nice pool and hot tub right by my room. Staff was pleasant, beautiful grounds, can't complain about anything!! Location was perfect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We attended a wedding here and had family who stayed both in the main guest room area and in the Gatehouse. Accommodations were fair -- expensive and needed some basic maintenance. Although this is a historic hotel, the issues were things like stains on the couch in the common area, peeling wallpaper, etc. There was WiFi in the room. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the grounds are spectacular. The room, which cost over $300 a night, was dated, very basic and too small for the furniture in it-but that was not what will keep us from going back. If you look at their website it says in VERY small print at the VERY bottom of the page that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#11 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 974 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#1 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay