We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OceanCliff Hotel

65 Ridge Road, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
OceanCliff Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the resort very much. Even though the location was a little out of town, we enjoyed the quiet and and the views. Pros--Roomy and spacious suite with 2 full bathrooms, full size frig, great microwave, full kitchen supplies, awesome fireplace, water views, short walk from the parking lot, comfy furniture, decent cable but who... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

I stayed here with my husband and daughter as we were attending a wedding on site this fall. Overall the hotel was very nice and I thought everyone working there was great. The wedding was also a great time. The rooms were a little outdated and my biggest complaint is that beds are extremely loud. This was difficult for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank 394ericab
Kristen W, Public Relations Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this review

394ericab, thank you for choosing to stay with us at OceanCliff and taking the time to leave us a review. We’d first like to thank you for your kind word s about our team- we’re very lucky to have the individuals that we do! With that being said, we’re sorry to hear that you weren’t thrilled with the rest of... More 

Nyc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Old, tired and lacking in the amenities that a resort charging this much should provide. The best thing I can say about this place is the setting. But, to get there, one has to drive over many winding country roads. I was there on a foggy Tuesday evening and think I may have been the only guest. I was tired... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan K
Kristen W, Guest Relations Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan K, thank you for choosing to stay at OceanCliff and we are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. As OceanCliff is a historic property, you are correct in noting that we do not have an elevator. However, we do have a bellhop available to assist with luggage and our staff is more than... More 

NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

Isolated and a long way on windy roads from town center. But with a wonderful view. However, no elevators, no bellhops to help with luggage; breakfast which was minimal is only until 9:30-rather early for a resort. The 2nd floor rooms are large but the 3rd floor is attic space. Beds are fine but bring eye shades as the curtains/shades... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CJENY
Kristen W, Guest Relations Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CJENY, thank you for choosing to stay with us at OceanCliff and taking the time to provide us with feedback. We always strive to provide our guests with a great experience and we are very sorry we did not live up to that standard in your case. As OceanCliff is a historic property, you are correct in noting that... More 

SoConnecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2015

We went on Mon, - Wed, no events , (August 24-26) well one small 35 person cocktail party,and just about had the whole place to ourselves. The room was good, the bed was bad, the view was as good as it gets. The tell tale was a discounted rate, (hence, no weddings ) , I will look for the discounted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bicyclenut
Kristen W, Guest Relations Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bicyclenut, thank you for choosing to stay with us at OceanCliff and taking the time to write a review about your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our fantastic mid-week rates. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your bed, but we are happy to hear that... More 

Monroe
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Let me start of by saying we did stay in the timeshare/ oceancliff I&II. The main Oceancliff hotel is a boutique hotel, but i wouldn't stay there the night of a wedding! I just went to visit the place and felt awkward going into the lobby with all the wedding guest when I was just leisurely dressed. The timeshare apartments... More 

Helpful?
Thank RYF18
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

If you can relax and be in the moment this is a wonderful mid week escape. Stay at the hotel not the timeshare. Watch the sunset holding hands with your lover in their Adirondack chairs. Enjoy the view from your beautiful room room. Their restaurant is closed on Tuesday. Avoid the weekend craze. This place is so beautiful the always... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
Kristen W, Guest Relations Manager at OceanCliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrew B., thank you choosing to stay with us at OceanCliff and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We are delighted that you had such a fantastic visit and got to enjoy one of Newport’s stunning sunsets during your stay. You are correct that midweek is a wonderful time to visit us for a relaxing... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2015

did not stay here, but went to a wedding and it's an A+ venue. Great views, outdoor venue as well as indoors, Food was great, service was OK. Others who did stay in the hotel said that it was very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank ihatescreennames2
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Thisisthebest kept secret in Newport. The staff is incrediblhelpful. Iarrived at 4:30 in themorning and the young lady who was on duty carried all my luggage upstairs. and Ihad a lot of luggage. a dog, too. the food is fantastic, beautifully prepared, fresh seafood you wouldnot believe.The view is positivelystunning. They were very accomodating,alot of kids working there but all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Make sure that you understand that there is the Oceancliff Hotel (VERY pricey!) and then the Oceancliff Resort 1/2 (reasonable but bare bones!) The property is VERY dated and there is no daily housekeeping (unless arranged). Towels must be turned in daily by the guest for new ones and the elevator was not in service (awaiting inspection our entire visit)... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Mary M
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#13 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.8 mi away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#2 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay