We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yankee Peddler Inn

Hotel website
113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Yankee Peddler Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We had a OK stay at this inn. Didn't realize when we made reservation that we would be on third floor. Room was OK, but needed electrical system updated, as the TV only worked if you really shoved the plug into the outlet. They used extension cords, which was kind of scary, so we decided not to watch TV. Location... More 

Helpful?
Thank ktmccaf
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

the customer service was wonderful, they advised me on what to see and do. also where to park and maximize my stay. we were so happy with there advise. The also upgraded me which was so nice. it was in a great location

Helpful?
Thank maggie13042
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

My stay at the Yankee Peddler Inn was very nice. Nothing extraordinary, but I picked it for it's location as I was staying in the area for a wedding at the nearby Viking Hotel. The Yankee Peddler is a great value considering the area. The continental breakfast was passable, but really just average. I encountered a few frozen hard boiled... More 

Helpful?
Thank steffiedear
Valley Forge
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

We chose this place due to it's location - easy walk to downtown, and it's price. We stayed in the carriage house and were disappointed in the room. We expected it to be small, which it was, but it had no ambiance at all. Also, the building was very hot and we could not regulate the temperature. It was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank valleyforgejanice
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

My family has been staying at the Yankee peddler for over 30 years. I was there for one night on a business trip and could not believe how run down it has become. I stayed in the cottage and electrical cords were hanging all over. The bathroom had mold, see photos. And the front door had a vacuum next to... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarah O
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sara O -- We are truly dismayed and sorry that your recent experience did not measure up to your many previous visits. You will be pleased to know the Carriage House, where you stayed, is undergoing a new paint job at this very moment. Each year we make MANY improvements, in fact, but for the past couple of seasons... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

We stayed at the Yankee Pedlar inn for 2 nights following the reviews on Trip Advisor. As other guests have commented the location was perfect for seeing Newport. We also found the staff very helpful and courteous. However, we were extremely disappointed with our room which was in the main house (room 5). The decor and furnishings were very dated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luba L
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the inn for one evening. The staff were very helpful with restaurant suggestions. The room was clean and warm ( the weather was very wet and cold). Breakfast was a little basic but was what was advertised- continental.the location is very central to Newport village. Good value. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Sheley B
St. Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

We would echo many of the recent reviews, that the location is excellent, everything within easy walking distance. The staff is very friendly, and C. J. at the desk was helpful in providing recommendations on dining. The breakfast is advertised as continental, and we found it to be just fine. Our room was a bit small, but that is the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leftee2202
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

We were very pleased with this inn! We had a very nice room, very quiet. CJ, at the front desk was very personable and friendly! The breakfast was perfect for us and consisted of good coffee, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, breads, bagels, cold ham and cheese, and a few other things to get your day going. The inn itself is really... More 

Helpful?
Thank shspeari
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear shspeari -- Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad you enjoyed your experience and will be sure to pass along your kind words of appreciation to CJ! Room #4 in the Main House is a lovely one -- 2 queen beds with historic decorative fireplace, and it's toward the side and rear of the building so... More 

Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
372 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

We booked the Yankee Peddler based on a lot of good reviews and knew that we wouldn't be disappointed with its location which is excellent. Just over 5mins walk to the Wharfs. The main building of the Yankee Peddler is impressive and we had booked our tour of England on a reasonable sized budget. Check in was good and friendly,... More 

Helpful?
Thank BordersRover
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear BordersRover -- Thank you very much for staying with us during your tour of New England. We're glad to hear you were pleased in many ways -- especially with the inn's location, staff, cleanliness and reasonable rate in central Newport. We wish, of course, that you had been more perfectly pleased with your guestroom in the Carriage House --... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

584 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (533)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #17 (46)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #19 (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #14 (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #6 (51)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
Superior Room #1 (52)
Viewed
Superior Room #2 (51)
Viewed
Superior Room #7 (56)
Viewed
Superior Suite #3 (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 mi away
Jailhouse Inn
Jailhouse Inn
#24 of 100 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#4 of 100 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#30 of 100 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#22 of 100 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#40 of 100 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#41 of 100 in Newport
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay