We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yankee Peddler Inn

113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yankee Peddler Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Yankee Peddler Inn
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
22
73
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a lovely overnight at the Yankee pedlar Inn in Newport RI in late October. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast more than adequate and the situation of the B&B in Newport, within walking distance of the centre of Newport was excellent. We both drove to the Mansions and also took the tourist trolley... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had 3 days in Newport, staying at the Inn. It was an excellent place to base yourself for a New Port stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Great value, and we would, without hesitation, stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was so difficult to find anywhere to stay in Newport that accomodated three. Thankfully, we found this quaint inn very well located in Newport. We were not disappointed. It is in a heritage property and our room was quirky but in a great way. It was very large, beds were comfortable and bathroom was very clean and modern. Addition... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were able to book their last room this weekend when another inn reservation fell through. Not only was the staff incredibly friendly, but they had a lot of great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing. And my mom has trouble with stairs, so we were very lucky to get a room on the first floor. The room itself was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Be warned that getting to the Yankee Peddler isn't tricky but requires good navigation - large parts of Newport are one way only and parking is around the back of the inn off a little side street (Mary St I think??). If you park on the street for more than a few minutes apparently you get a fine. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear CityLawyerLondon -- Thank you for the thorough, thoughtful review. You are correct that the one-way streets of historic Newport can be slightly confusing to first-time visitors! The good news is that we are located very centrally and offer free parking (one car per room), so once you are here, it becomes very easy to do most things on foot.... More

Dallas, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We picked this place for our stay in Newport based on the price and reviews. We got our room on the 3rd floor and when we stepped into the bathroom it was absolutely nasty. It looked like the back of the toilet seat hadn't been cleaned in months and there were hairs in the shower and on the bathroom floor.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H: I am so sorry this happened and wish we'd known of the problem when you first discovered it. Clearly, we would have taken care of it immediately! As you can see from numerous other reviews, we place a very high priority on cleanliness and many guests have commented on just how clean everything is. The only possible... More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is not a luxury establishment, but it is a beautifully maintained, atmospheric inn, with a friendly, helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and a location that allows easy walks to great restaurants and a simple drive to the mansions you'll want to visit. (There is also on-site parking, so everything is made easy.) One caveat: we live in New... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Yankee Peddler while working the Newport Boat Show. From the moment we checked in to the time we left, the staff was extremely accommodating. The location was perfect within walking distance to both the waterfront,shops and restaurants. We especially enjoyed spending time on the rooftop where we had the opportunity to meet several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. My children said I was back "in" for choosing this hotel. After some unusual accommodations in the wilderness my family was disappointed that I had not chosen a cushy chain hotel for our Newport visit. But they quickly changed their minds when we checked into our room. We stayed in (what I think is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear greengirl11: How nice to hear that your family loved their time at the Yankee Peddler. It sounds like you really understand and appreciate what we offer, which is a genuinely Newport experience in a wonderfully central and convenient location. Our neighborhood is known as "Historic Hill" -- it lies, as you said, just a few blocks from both the... More

Bristol
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were in the coach house next to the main house, but that was fine, we had keys to the main house and if was open most of the time anyway. The rooms were nice and comfortable and had free wifi and there is free parking. The roof terrace is perfect to sit and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura C, Manager at Yankee Peddler Inn, responded to this review

Dear EmmaandKrisBristol: Thank you for taking time to write a review! So nice to hear you enjoyed the Carriage House, where we offer 5 guestrooms slightly less "vintage" in style than the 15 rooms available in the Main House. Some people choose the Carriage House for precisely that reason (and the more affordable price tag helps, too!). Yes, of course,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Yankee Peddler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Peddler Inn

Address: 113 Touro St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Yankee Peddler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Peddler Hotel Newport

578 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (533)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #17 (46)
Viewed
Carriage House Room #19 (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #14 (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Room #6 (51)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (42)
Viewed
Superior Room #1 (52)
Viewed
Superior Room #2 (51)
Viewed
Superior Room #7 (56)
Viewed
Superior Suite #3 (76)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay