We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort

351 Thames Street, Newport, RI 02840
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    70
    30
    7
    14
See reviews for
52
213
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (386)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Newport is an excellent town and Forty 1 North is the best place to stay, and we have stayed at quite a few! While there are other places to stay that are very nice Forty 1 is our favorite. Its location is the absolute best right in the center of everything. The hotel itself is very modern looking, but cosy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
12 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The drinks were excellent with a heavy pour but were expensive -about $15 each. We also ordered a bowl of lobster bisque @ $15 but it's the best I've had in Newport. Then we ordered seared scallops (4 count) and calamari. @ $30 & $25 or thereabouts. Very tasty. I'd eat here again. Ambience is lovely. Just bring your wallet!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear RamponaO, What lovely compliments, especially about our lobster bisque! We are glad you enjoyed the food, drinks and ambience. Thank you so kindly for taking the time to share your experience, as feedback is the best way for us to continue improving. We will hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Julie More 

Moodus, CT
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Found a nice 2 night package on Jetsetter for this hotel. Must say it was in the top 5 of anywhere I have stayed, and I have travelled for work and pleasure for a long time. Maybe since Newport is less than 2 hours away, but the weekend my wife and I spent here was so nice, easy, and stress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear Doug G, It's so great to hear you had such a stress free and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Since you are only a few hours away, hopefully we will see you again soon. The warm breezes are certainly a nice addition to our water view rooms! Again, thank you... More 

Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The entire staff is so friendly and helpful from managers, cleaning staff and parking attendants. They truly made us feel as if we were regular patrons. The room and bath are spacious with features of a fireplace and high resolution TV. The location is superb which is on the waters edge of Newport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear Alfred O, We are so grateful you took the time to provide feedback. Thank you especially for the kind words about our staff. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed both the comforts of your room and the convenience of our downtown location. We will look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Julie More 

East Falmouth, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

My husband and I have birthdays a day apart and try to get away for a couple days each year. This was our second visit to 41 North and it did not disappoint. The rooms are so comfortable and cozy that you can really relax. We also had a king suite this time with the balcony overlooking the harbor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dedowens, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind comments, especially about our staff. We are glad to provide you a cozy and relaxing atmosphere for your birthday trip! We hope to see you sooner than next year's birthdays, maybe enjoying your balcony in some warm weather this summer. Again, we truly appreciate the feedback.... More 

Rowayton, Connecticut
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

We are scheduled to visit there tonight. It is snowing -everything cancelled in CT-schools etc. They wont let us rebook. Even AIRLINES let you rebook in this kind of weather. Don't BOTHER with these people. $500.00 down the drain. Who on EARTH do the think they are? MANY other nice places in Newport.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bondud, We are genuinely sorry you had to cancel your trip to Newport. We hope to have an opportunity in the future to offer you the experience we strive to provide our guests. Please let me know if you return to Newport. Sincerely, Julie More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

My wife and I had an amazing stay while we celebrated our 1 year anniversary as well my 40th b-day. Last year, we got married in Newport and many of our guests stayed at 41 North so we decided to come back for our 1 year. We had a great time. The staff and food were fantastic. We are both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear Peter R, Thank you so much for your endorsement and your kind words about our staff. We are so thrilled to have been a part of your celebrations. Hopefully we will see you again sooner than next year's anniversary-- perhaps over the summer when you can enjoy our Pavilion Bar on the harbor. Please let me know when you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

This was our fourth year back to 41 North. We absolutely love it!!! It has been a yearly tradition to celebrate my kids birthdays. It is located right in a marina so you feel like you are almost in the water if you are in a room on the water side. The hotel is first class and also Eco friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, Manager at Forty 1 North Hotel and Marina Resort, responded to this review

Dear KBucci, Thank you for your great review and especially for making Forty 1 North the destination for such a special tradition with your family. We are so grateful you took the time to share such kind words about our staff. Please let me know next time you join us so I may welcome you back personally. Warm Regards, Julie More 

Oxford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

We spent two nights at Forty 1 North and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is close to everything which was good since it was so cold. Breakfast at the restaurant was included with our package and was excellent. Room was small but nicely appointed with a waterview. Fireplace in room warmed you up very quickly. Shower was over sized with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Visited Newport in November for a quick getaway from NYC. Forty 1 North was perfect for a quiet romantic weekend. Being that it is the off-season, my boyfriend and I felt like we had the whole town and hotel to ourselves. The hotel was very nice and the staff was friendly upon check-in. I loved our room - very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

981 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (773)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Grand Suite (184)
Viewed
Harbor View Suite (117)
Viewed
Premium Water View Room (101)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (210)
Viewed
The Hotel (106)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question