We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Buffalo hotels

Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Delaware Ave., Buffalo, NY 14202
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Buffalo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
jilliam3224 Rochester, NY
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (117)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    84
    51
    24
    13
See reviews for
43
46
24
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While not the newest property in the world, it's a solid choice. Easy to get to, convenient location- next to a Walgreens, early opening Starbucks a few blocks away- the hotel was very clean and comfortable. Anchor Bar is right around the corner. The staff is friendly and quick. Quiet, nice beds. There's a full bar and restaurant as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is excellent if you need to be near the hospital campus in downtown Buffalo. Free open lot parking. Lobby is nice. Staff at the desk friendly. Now, the drawbacks. No breakfast included. Bathroom was tired and the space was so small that the door couldn't open fully because of the toilet. Housekeeping staff were really noisy each morning. But,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Nancy E, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in... More

Dallas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly and personable reception with dinner/restaurant tips to boot. Got a spacious, quiet, clean room on upper floor with nice view over downtown Buffalo. Comfortable king bed, fridge (with freezer shelf that does not freeze), micro wave oven. flat screen TV, analog programming. The manager on duty allowed my motorcycle to park in a corner under the awning/entry roof to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benalla, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Hotel is showing its age, bar area now offers happy hour drinks and light snack on tuesday night which we were lucky enough to be there on the night. Bar and reception staff great. Evening dine in was good size meal. Breakfast average. They really need to offer self serve bare bones breakfast included in booking price. Most travellers prefer good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location near the trendy areas of town. Walking distance to the Anchor Bar (home of the original buffalo wings). Staff was friendly. Carpet in room recently updated. SMALL bathroom. would stay here again based on proximity to trendy neighborhood. Breakfast at hotel restaurant was average and server was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dash242: Thank you for taking time to post your comments about the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. It’s good to see that you had time to enjoy some of what Buffalo has to offer. There is a lot to do in and around the area and the summer is busy with festivals and events. We hope you can join us... More

Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As you can see by others well traveled contributors, this facility needs some TLC. The staff is very friendly and recognized my platinum status. The rooms are nice but again need updating. The best secret here is the "bin 620" lounge serves a happy hour between 4-7 on New York wines. Several locals go here to get the good wine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Vikes54: Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. Your feedback and comments are welcomed and help us to identify areas where we can better serve our guests. You nice comments about the staff and Bin 620 were a pleasure to read. We are going to be updating the wine list in the Bin so we... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Staying here for about a week, a so far the front desk was very welcoming and the lobby was beautiful. But when I went up to my room by stairwell, the stairs looked like they had several hundred layers of this really ugly green paint from which you could literally smell going up the four flights, also the paint was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Nick E: Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, however, we wish your experience had been memorable for better reasons. It appears that we failed you as our guest and we would like to apologize for not providing you with the comforts and services you should expect from Holiday Inn. We will use your... More

Minnesota
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed for one night on a business trip. The front desk was very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed walking in the neighborhood and eating at two local restaurants. I would be happy to stay here again when I am in Buffalo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ReeSue: Thank you for your kind review of the Holiday Inn Downtown. We are glad to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy the local area and fresh air. It will be our pleasure to host you again in the future. Have a great summer and visit soon. More

Alpine, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at the hotel for one night as we had an 8:00am check in at the convention center the next morning. The view from our 8th floor window was great, we just missed a fireworks show that ended as we were walking back from the Anchor Bar. The room was spacious, beds and pillows comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TaDiGra: Thank you for taking time to tell others about our hotel. Too bad about the fireworks. Guess you are going to have to visit again so you can have another chance to see them from our 8th floor. If you’re looking for a reason to return, the baseball season has kicked off and a Buffalo Bison’s AAA game... More

Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel worked out great for a visit to Buffalo State. The room was clean and well kept. The beds were good too! We called the hotel direct and got a good price. The best thing was It was close by the falls and the outlets. We took the option for breakfast included in the price and it was good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear BMWnRVM: Thank you for your kind review. Buff State is a good college and if your son decides to go there we would be happy to have you back during your visits. Trips into Canada are not difficult and it’s more of an urban legend about taken cars apart for searches. We hope we didn’t discourage you from taking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown

Address: 620 Delaware Ave., Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Buffalo Holiday Inn

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Other (53)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. We are located in the historic Allentown district of Buffalo and near quaint shops, restaurants and attractions. The hotel is a city high-rise with 167 rooms, and renovated meeting and banquet facilities. We offer a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a fitness center. Be sure to stop by our award winning restaurant, Grille 620.Take in the many historical sights of Buffalo while staying at the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. Located adjacent to the Wilcox Mansion, site of the Teddy Roosevelt inauguration and just a few minutes from Frank Lloyd Wrights Darwin Martin House. While staying with us, take in a show at Sheas Performing Arts Center, the Irish Classical Theatre or enjoy a little Shakespeare in Delaware Park. Art lovers will be thrilled to visit the Albright Knox Art Gallery and the Burchfield Penny Art Center located minutes away at Buffalo State College.Come and stay with us for the annual Allentown Arts Festival; the event is held right outside our doors! State and federal office building are less than 4 miles away, and we are approximately 5 minutes to the New York/Canadian border. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
160

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer