We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Buffalo hotels

Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Delaware Ave., Buffalo, NY 14202
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
61%
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
TaDiGra Alpine, New York
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    80
    49
    23
    13
See reviews for
40
45
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpine, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A colleague and I stayed at the hotel for one night as we had an 8:00am check in at the convention center the next morning. The view from our 8th floor window was great, we just missed a fireworks show that ended as we were walking back from the Anchor Bar. The room was spacious, beds and pillows comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear TaDiGra: Thank you for taking time to tell others about our hotel. Too bad about the fireworks. Guess you are going to have to visit again so you can have another chance to see them from our 8th floor. If you’re looking for a reason to return, the baseball season has kicked off and a Buffalo Bison’s AAA game... More

Staten Island, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel worked out great for a visit to Buffalo State. The room was clean and well kept. The beds were good too! We called the hotel direct and got a good price. The best thing was It was close by the falls and the outlets. We took the option for breakfast included in the price and it was good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear BMWnRVM: Thank you for your kind review. Buff State is a good college and if your son decides to go there we would be happy to have you back during your visits. Trips into Canada are not difficult and it’s more of an urban legend about taken cars apart for searches. We hope we didn’t discourage you from taking... More

Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is nice and in a good location. We were able to walk to Anchor Bar and the Inauguration Site for Theodore Roosevelt is directly across the street. Downtown and waterfront are within walking distance. There is a Walgreen's adjacent to the parking lot. The parking lot is a little tight, especially when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear dbae27: Thank you for your thoughtful review of the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. Buffalo has a lot to offer all year long. Minutes from historical sites, Niagara Falls, ski resorts, the waterfront, shopping, theaters and much, much, more. We are delighted to see that you had a good experience and would recommend our property to others who have a... More

Guelph, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed a night last weekend and liked the customer service and the whole hotel was clean and inviting.. Rooms were good size and beds comfortable The location was perfect for any drive for shopping,dinner etc. No idea why negative comments? Staff and hotel service was great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Maria P: Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Downtown. It is a pleasure to read positive comments about the property and more importantly, the staff. It is very motivational for them to see their hard work makes a difference. We hope you get the change to visit again. There are... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Perhaps I should have walked (or ran) away when I was told the bed configuration I had requested was sold out or that the front desk clerk had to practically shout the information to me to be heard over the dozen inebriated folks yelling at each other in the lobby. Maybe the dirty sock in the elevator or the general... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear justen5, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your... More

Penfield, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room for a concert at the first Niagara center. I saw reviews about other customers having issue to get refund for canceling room. I was an idiot for not listening I understand policy but the concert was cancelled. All I did was ask for refund or reschedule for makeup date of concert. But the manager didn't care.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear keckert3663: Thank you for your comments regarding your recent reservation at the Holiday Inn, however, we apologize if you are unhappy with the cancellation policy of the “Book Early and Save” prepaid discount booked through the internet. IHG offers many rate programs to accommodate different styles of travel and needs. Internet discounts, AAA, AARP and Best Flex are just... More

Rochester, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family and I stayed here last Friday. Never been to Buffalo before and decided to take a trip from Rochester. Shannon checked us in at the front desk. She was awesome! Very friendly and helpful. She even had a crib set up in our room before we arrived since I had called earlier to request one. She gave us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear elys2315: Thank you so much for this kind review. We are proud of our staff and thank you for highlighting some of our stars that deliver that extra touch to guest service. We have a program that honors those on the staff when they are mentioned personally so we will make sure that Shannon, Crystal and Jessica all receive... More

Toronto, ON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this location before and usually do so when I'm travelling solo or with the guys for hockey. I was greeted on arriving and the staff was friendly. They looked after my request for a cab and I have nothing but praise for the human aspect of this hotel. Physically the hotel is slightly uptown but in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ovek66: Thank you for taking the time to comment and review your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Downtown. While it is true that our hotel is an older property, it is our staff that sets us apart from other hotels in the area. Our housekeepers work hard to keep the rooms and public space clean and ready for... More

NYC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

In Buffalo for a family visit. Chose Holiday Inn for proximity. Free parking a plus. At check-in the desk staff was friendly and efficient. The room was nice, television reception was the heat was fine. We found the bathroom a little dirty. When we told the desk and asked for a better cleaning for the second night it didn't happen.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear MPG47: Thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor. From your comments it looks like you had a good experience but we fell short of providing a memorable stay from beginning to end. We will meet with the front desk and housekeeping to find out where our procedures fell short and take actions so that situations... More

Youngstown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This facility desparately needs to be updated, granted a snow storm was coming through which caused my original room (524) to sound like the window was breaking, but the staff was more than accomodating to changing my room on the opposite side of the hallway (507) and the wind wasn't noticeable, but the heater smelled like it was cooking hair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hibuffalodowntown, Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Tyrone: Thank you for taking the time during your holiday travels to let us know about your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. We hope you were able to enjoy some of the sites in the area with the weather as it was. Seeing that you’re from Ohio, you are probably comfortable getting around in the snow... More

Been to Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown Hotel Buffalo
Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown Hotel
Holiday Inn Buffalo
Buffalo Holiday Inn
Address: 620 Delaware Ave., Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. We are located in the historic Allentown district of Buffalo and near quaint shops, restaurants and attractions. The hotel is a city high-rise with 167 rooms, and renovated meeting and banquet facilities. We offer a seasonal outdoor heated pool and a fitness center. Be sure to stop by our award winning restaurant, Grille 620.Take in the many historical sights of Buffalo while staying at the Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown. Located adjacent to the Wilcox Mansion, site of the Teddy Roosevelt inauguration and just a few minutes from Frank Lloyd Wrights Darwin Martin House. While staying with us, take in a show at Sheas Performing Arts Center, the Irish Classical Theatre or enjoy a little Shakespeare in Delaware Park. Art lovers will be thrilled to visit the Albright Knox Art Gallery and the Burchfield Penny Art Center located minutes away at Buffalo State College.Come and stay with us for the annual Allentown Arts Festival; the event is held right outside our doors! State and federal office building are less than 4 miles away, and we are approximately 5 minutes to the New York/Canadian border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Buffalo Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.