We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Scranton hotels

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
27%
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Scranton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (36)
  • Photos (17)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    8
    16
See reviews for
6
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival at the motel, tired after travelling all day we took a quick glimpse at the room which was nearly in darkness. Decided to check in and took the cases to the room. Well when we found the plug sockets to turn the lights on. Oh my God!. The room had obviously not been hoovered this year and probably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review of our property. I'm terribly sorry that you didn't find your stay more pleasant. I have brought your concerns to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance staff to check all rooms thoroughly, since I don't know exactly which room you stayed in. As for the other guests staying here, we rent to anyone... More

Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I choose this place due to the price as it was cheap and near my internship. The price I was given through Expedia was $147 and it stated a refrigerator & microwave were included. At check in, I was told it was $20 extra a day to get a room with a refrigerator. I declined and then was told I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

We're very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The rate that you received through Expedia did not include tax. Our tax is 13%. 6% State and 7% County tax. Also, if you felt there were discrepancies in your bill upon check out, we would have been more than happy to go over it with you... More

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best thing I had was the access to the internet location and the parking space they have. Other than that, all was bad to me. Cleanliness of the room and the staff who came to clean my room were terrible. The swimming pool was also terrible. I can't recommend it to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your August stay with us. We deeply regret that your 7 days at our property was not more pleasant. We take pride in giving all our guests the best service possible. It would have helped us to make other future guests stays more enjoyable if we had gotten your review sooner. That way, we could... More

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ugh...! This is a perfect example of people managing a facility who have poor quality standards. The rooms were quite dated, Bathtub riddled with cigarete burns, the shower head was a super water saver type, no dirt remavl with this. The morning breakfast consisted of yesterday's milk and OJ, being 1/3 filled @ openoing time 7:00A.M. The morning staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and for showing us your perspective. We try very hard to keep our property nice, while keeping our prices as low as possible, but it makes it very hard when inconsiderate guests damage our property. We will do our best to have the nicest property possible at the most reasonable price possible. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Make sure you have cash on you, because there is a $50 cash only security deposit required at check-in. Once we got to the room, we saw how sketchy and run down the back of the hotel looks like, the bath tub had mildew and was very dirty, there was a dead beetle body under my comforter, at breakfast, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I'm terribly sorry that you did not find your stay more pleasant. The conditions that you state are unacceptable and I have instructed our housekeeping and maintenance staff to go through all back rooms with a fine tooth comb. I trust that the next time you stay with us... More

Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked this room at the last minute mainly because the it cost half as much as the other 2 hotels nearby (the Radisson and Hilton). Between the low prices and the negative reviews, we were definitely worried that it was not going to be a good experience, but we were most definitely wrong! From the outside it looked like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dharmacorp, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kindly honest comments. Our main goal is to keep price for the hotel room rental affordable while providing a clean and comfortable place to spend a night. Our downtown location adds value for money if one prefer to stay closer to downtown life. More

Petersham, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As a city Scranton hasn't discovered how to appeal to visitors. The downtown area is missing good options for dining and relaxing, especially for people who have come to visit the National Park's Steamtown. This motel certainly did not offer anything other than a very low rate. It certainly deserves a low rating. My first "nonsmoking" room smelled like it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm very sorry that you were not very pleased with our property or our area. I have warned our housekeeping staff to be more attentive to their work, especially if they find someone has smoked in a nonsmoking room. As for your issues with our internet, we have recently upgraded our system... More

Pittston, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was not intending to stay in Scranton but that's what occurred. I searched for a motel that I could drive up to and unload, since my SUV was loaded to the gills. That's the one reason I drove the 10-15 miles from Pittston PA. On a Friday night I was scrambling and so I settled and accepted the circumstances.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. I'm deeply sorry that you were dissatisfied with our property. We take your criticism to heart and will do our best to make the necessary improvements and updates to our property. I have shared your remarks with both our... More

London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August during a trip to the States to see a band nearby. We got the Greyhound to Scranton and this place wasn't too far a walk from the station. It is in a quiet area of town, but we did not feel unsafe. The rooms are ok, we didnt leave with any bites,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your past stay at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. We continually strive to give our guests a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. The information that you share allows us to see our operation from your perspective and make improvements where needed. More

Batavia, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. Room was clean and comfortable with all the normal amenities, frig, hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc. Breakfast was included and we expected the normal continental of fruit, donuts, rolls, muffins and so on but were pleasantly surprised with a hot breakfast that included scrambled eggs and make your own waffles that were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Address: 320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Scranton
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel Scranton
Red Carpet Inn Scranton
Scranton Red Carpet Inn

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
86

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer