We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Scranton hotels

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
29%
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Scranton
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    5
    7
    15
See reviews for
6
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best thing I had was the access to the internet location and the parking space they have. Other than that, all was bad to me. Cleanliness of the room and the staff who came to clean my room were terrible. The swimming pool was also terrible. I can't recommend it to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your August stay with us. We deeply regret that your 7 days at our property was not more pleasant. We take pride in giving all our guests the best service possible. It would have helped us to make other future guests stays more enjoyable if we had gotten your review sooner. That way, we could... More

Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ugh...! This is a perfect example of people managing a facility who have poor quality standards. The rooms were quite dated, Bathtub riddled with cigarete burns, the shower head was a super water saver type, no dirt remavl with this. The morning breakfast consisted of yesterday's milk and OJ, being 1/3 filled @ openoing time 7:00A.M. The morning staff was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and for showing us your perspective. We try very hard to keep our property nice, while keeping our prices as low as possible, but it makes it very hard when inconsiderate guests damage our property. We will do our best to have the nicest property possible at the most reasonable price possible. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Make sure you have cash on you, because there is a $50 cash only security deposit required at check-in. Once we got to the room, we saw how sketchy and run down the back of the hotel looks like, the bath tub had mildew and was very dirty, there was a dead beetle body under my comforter, at breakfast, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I'm terribly sorry that you did not find your stay more pleasant. The conditions that you state are unacceptable and I have instructed our housekeeping and maintenance staff to go through all back rooms with a fine tooth comb. I trust that the next time you stay with us... More

Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked this room at the last minute mainly because the it cost half as much as the other 2 hotels nearby (the Radisson and Hilton). Between the low prices and the negative reviews, we were definitely worried that it was not going to be a good experience, but we were most definitely wrong! From the outside it looked like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dharmacorp, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kindly honest comments. Our main goal is to keep price for the hotel room rental affordable while providing a clean and comfortable place to spend a night. Our downtown location adds value for money if one prefer to stay closer to downtown life. More

Petersham, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As a city Scranton hasn't discovered how to appeal to visitors. The downtown area is missing good options for dining and relaxing, especially for people who have come to visit the National Park's Steamtown. This motel certainly did not offer anything other than a very low rate. It certainly deserves a low rating. My first "nonsmoking" room smelled like it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm very sorry that you were not very pleased with our property or our area. I have warned our housekeeping staff to be more attentive to their work, especially if they find someone has smoked in a nonsmoking room. As for your issues with our internet, we have recently upgraded our system... More

Pittston, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was not intending to stay in Scranton but that's what occurred. I searched for a motel that I could drive up to and unload, since my SUV was loaded to the gills. That's the one reason I drove the 10-15 miles from Pittston PA. On a Friday night I was scrambling and so I settled and accepted the circumstances.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. I'm deeply sorry that you were dissatisfied with our property. We take your criticism to heart and will do our best to make the necessary improvements and updates to our property. I have shared your remarks with both our... More

London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August during a trip to the States to see a band nearby. We got the Greyhound to Scranton and this place wasn't too far a walk from the station. It is in a quiet area of town, but we did not feel unsafe. The rooms are ok, we didnt leave with any bites,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your past stay at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. We continually strive to give our guests a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. The information that you share allows us to see our operation from your perspective and make improvements where needed. More

Batavia, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. Room was clean and comfortable with all the normal amenities, frig, hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc. Breakfast was included and we expected the normal continental of fruit, donuts, rolls, muffins and so on but were pleasantly surprised with a hot breakfast that included scrambled eggs and make your own waffles that were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were very pleased with the staff and their helpfulness. The room was very nice and quite adequate. The restaurant on the other hand was not good. The waiter didn't know the menu. He had to run back and forth to the kitchen to get answers to basic questions. He was the only one for waiting and seating. We waited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Walked into the lobby, and it smelled badly - pretty disgusting. Then I noticed the wall behind the front desk: extremely dirty wallpaper peeling off of the wall and being tacked down with rusty nails!! I wanted a cheap room, but was unwilling to risk it... neighborhood looked a bit too tough for my taste as well. Scruffy, wrinkled attendant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. We are disappointed that you found our lobby and location uninviting. I have referred your review to our maintenance and front desk managers to look into their specific areas. Our property is located downtown and the area is... More

Been to Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Scranton
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel Scranton
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel
Red Carpet Inn Scranton
Scranton Red Carpet Inn
Address: 320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 hotels in Scranton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.