We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    6
    8
    10
    19
See reviews for
7
13
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Nottingham PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We arrived at this hotel at 1:10 in the afternoon and hoped to check in since check in was at 2:00. We were told that we would have to pay an extra $10 to check in before 2:00 so we sat in our car. We had hoped to check in and get settled since we were going to a concert.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Room 147 was smelly, the tables were carved up, the wallpaper was falling off the wall, the shower soap holder was just sitting on the back of the toilet, there was grafitti on the bathroom door, the mirrors were dirty, towels had stains, cigarette burns on the side of the tub, cigarette burns in the bedspread and sheets, blood ?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blairsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

We stayed for one night in Scranton and the place was filthy. The floors were dirty,, the carpet around the wall was falling off, there was no hot water in the shower, only lukewarm with the cold shut off. We had a cat who went behind the mattress and headboard and when we pulled the mattress away there was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Scranton hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Was this place perfect? No. Was it as horrible as some of the reviews made it seem? Not even close. You get what you pay for. This was perfectly up to standards considering the price. The room was generally clean. A good TV. Yes there was some road noise, but that's to be expected with this type of hotel. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

The staff is very nice. Had a late check in & was very tired. Peter at the front desk was very cheerful and helpful! Room 101/roomy even w/ King Size bed/ smoking/very clean/ I was impressed! TV Good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The room: -had stained towels -had another person's hair in the bathroom - long and dark - ours is short and blond -shower temperature fluctuated -carpet was not cleaned -TV was not plugged in. I had to pull dresser out and reach for plug. After which the remote didn't even work. The batteries had corroded. -I told the front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and we apologize that your room was not up to your standards or ours. I wish we knew what room you stayed in so that we could check it thoroughly, but I have instructed maintenance and housekeeping to check all rooms so that these problems do not happen again. Again, I deeply... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We arrived at this hotel on august 2013 without previous reservation, fortunately they had vacancies. The room was big but not very clean. Our room was on the second flood but there was a lot of noise from the street. The breakfast was very poor, no fresh products all was packed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property and we apologize that your stay wasn't more pleasant. We're sorry that you didn't bring the cleanliness of your room to our attention while you were here. We would have been more than happy to make it right for you. As for the street noise, that's one of the drawbacks of... More 

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Service is a joke and hotel is dirty. A place to be avoided. I politely asked for a bath towel at the reception explaining that there was no towel in my room. The receptionist said that there are two bath towels in every bathroom. I said again that I have checked in mine and there was no towel. She pretended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ms_Maggee_May, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and I'm so sorry that our customer service was not as it should be. As you know, people do steal the towels, ashtrays. alarm clocks and irons, etc. from hotels and it seems that our front desk staff was a bit over zealous about protecting the hotel's property; however, that is no... More 

mendham, new jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I signed up for the Steamtown Marathon late, and the last hotel room available within walking distance to the busstop to the start of the marathon was a smoking room at the Red Carpet Inn. I called EVERYWHERE and begged, suites, anything??? Nope. Stressed about smoke, I brought Febreze, and asked them to open the windows. They said the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a room at the last minute, however, nonsmoking rooms go very fast for the marathon, since most runners don't smoke. I'm sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your room and I have instructed housekeeping to pay closer attention to... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

On arrival at the motel, tired after travelling all day we took a quick glimpse at the room which was nearly in darkness. Decided to check in and took the cases to the room. Well when we found the plug sockets to turn the lights on. Oh my God!. The room had obviously not been hoovered this year and probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review of our property. I'm terribly sorry that you didn't find your stay more pleasant. I have brought your concerns to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance staff to check all rooms thoroughly, since I don't know exactly which room you stayed in. As for the other guests staying here, we rent to anyone... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scranton
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Scranton
Days Inn Scranton
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay