We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Hotel amenities
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    6
    9
    17
See reviews for
6
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We arrived at this hotel on august 2013 without previous reservation, fortunately they had vacancies. The room was big but not very clean. Our room was on the second flood but there was a lot of noise from the street. The breakfast was very poor, no fresh products all was packed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of our property and we apologize that your stay wasn't more pleasant. We're sorry that you didn't bring the cleanliness of your room to our attention while you were here. We would have been more than happy to make it right for you. As for the street noise, that's one of the drawbacks of... More 

Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Service is a joke and hotel is dirty. A place to be avoided. I politely asked for a bath towel at the reception explaining that there was no towel in my room. The receptionist said that there are two bath towels in every bathroom. I said again that I have checked in mine and there was no towel. She pretended... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ms_Maggee_May, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and I'm so sorry that our customer service was not as it should be. As you know, people do steal the towels, ashtrays. alarm clocks and irons, etc. from hotels and it seems that our front desk staff was a bit over zealous about protecting the hotel's property; however, that is no... More 

mendham, new jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I signed up for the Steamtown Marathon late, and the last hotel room available within walking distance to the busstop to the start of the marathon was a smoking room at the Red Carpet Inn. I called EVERYWHERE and begged, suites, anything??? Nope. Stressed about smoke, I brought Febreze, and asked them to open the windows. They said the windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you with a room at the last minute, however, nonsmoking rooms go very fast for the marathon, since most runners don't smoke. I'm sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your room and I have instructed housekeeping to pay closer attention to... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

On arrival at the motel, tired after travelling all day we took a quick glimpse at the room which was nearly in darkness. Decided to check in and took the cases to the room. Well when we found the plug sockets to turn the lights on. Oh my God!. The room had obviously not been hoovered this year and probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your frank review of our property. I'm terribly sorry that you didn't find your stay more pleasant. I have brought your concerns to the attention of our housekeeping and maintenance staff to check all rooms thoroughly, since I don't know exactly which room you stayed in. As for the other guests staying here, we rent to anyone... More 

Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I choose this place due to the price as it was cheap and near my internship. The price I was given through Expedia was $147 and it stated a refrigerator & microwave were included. At check in, I was told it was $20 extra a day to get a room with a refrigerator. I declined and then was told I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

We're very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The rate that you received through Expedia did not include tax. Our tax is 13%. 6% State and 7% County tax. Also, if you felt there were discrepancies in your bill upon check out, we would have been more than happy to go over it with you... More 

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The best thing I had was the access to the internet location and the parking space they have. Other than that, all was bad to me. Cleanliness of the room and the staff who came to clean my room were terrible. The swimming pool was also terrible. I can't recommend it to any of my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your August stay with us. We deeply regret that your 7 days at our property was not more pleasant. We take pride in giving all our guests the best service possible. It would have helped us to make other future guests stays more enjoyable if we had gotten your review sooner. That way, we could... More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ugh...! This is a perfect example of people managing a facility who have poor quality standards. The rooms were quite dated, Bathtub riddled with cigarete burns, the shower head was a super water saver type, no dirt remavl with this. The morning breakfast consisted of yesterday's milk and OJ, being 1/3 filled @ openoing time 7:00A.M. The morning staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and for showing us your perspective. We try very hard to keep our property nice, while keeping our prices as low as possible, but it makes it very hard when inconsiderate guests damage our property. We will do our best to have the nicest property possible at the most reasonable price possible. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Make sure you have cash on you, because there is a $50 cash only security deposit required at check-in. Once we got to the room, we saw how sketchy and run down the back of the hotel looks like, the bath tub had mildew and was very dirty, there was a dead beetle body under my comforter, at breakfast, there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I'm terribly sorry that you did not find your stay more pleasant. The conditions that you state are unacceptable and I have instructed our housekeeping and maintenance staff to go through all back rooms with a fine tooth comb. I trust that the next time you stay with us... More 

Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked this room at the last minute mainly because the it cost half as much as the other 2 hotels nearby (the Radisson and Hilton). Between the low prices and the negative reviews, we were definitely worried that it was not going to be a good experience, but we were most definitely wrong! From the outside it looked like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
dharmacorp, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kindly honest comments. Our main goal is to keep price for the hotel room rental affordable while providing a clean and comfortable place to spend a night. Our downtown location adds value for money if one prefer to stay closer to downtown life. More 

Petersham, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

As a city Scranton hasn't discovered how to appeal to visitors. The downtown area is missing good options for dining and relaxing, especially for people who have come to visit the National Park's Steamtown. This motel certainly did not offer anything other than a very low rate. It certainly deserves a low rating. My first "nonsmoking" room smelled like it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm very sorry that you were not very pleased with our property or our area. I have warned our housekeeping staff to be more attentive to their work, especially if they find someone has smoked in a nonsmoking room. As for your issues with our internet, we have recently upgraded our system... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question