We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Motel

#2 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
1460 US 211 East, Luray, VA 22835
Hillside Motel
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    30
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Goxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night en-route from Washington DC and because it was well placed for the wonderful Skyline Drive. Check in was quick and efficient and the lady on the desk was very helpful. The room (19) was very spacious with 2 separate bedrooms each with a double bed, and a decent size bathroom. The décor and furnishings are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

want to give a review of our stay at Hillside,,,what a great and comfortable and clean and scenic stay we just had at Hillside! room 19 was perfect for our needs,,room were clean,,, comrtable and we enjoyed the picnic and pool area as well and loved he view! we wil def be back here again and the value for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was very easy to get here. The woman working the counter was very friendly and helpful in both dinner and breakfast places. We arrived in the evening and enjoyed taking in the view from the porch outside the room. We later went to a firepit area and enjoyed the view from there as well. The room was spacious, especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FDG1969, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time and providing us with you experience at the Hillside Motel. We appreciate the kind words around our staff, that you enjoyed the views from our property and your pleasure with the size of the room. We strive to have the motel to be "family oriented". We do apologize that the mattress was a little soft... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean and comfortable. Friendly and accommodating staff. Somewhat older rooms, but everything worked. Very nice firm mattresses. Good size bathroom. Good linen. Will be staying for my third visit. Note that this is not the University Club of New York city. It is, however, a clean and convenient place to stay near the Luray attractions. Kid and pet friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FDG1969, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hillside Motel. It was a pleasure to welcome you as our guest. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed some the the attractions here in our town of Luray and was satisfied with the room! The motel was built in the 1940's but we work hard at keeping them clean and comfortable for our... More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lady at the front desk was helpful. She shared what we can do and not do in the area. The bathroom was renovated and they did a great job. The look of the room on the outside was cute. My child was able to used the swimming pool which was nice; no crowd. The only bad thing I didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and sorry to hear about the unwanted smell. We have taken extra measures in removing any odors from the room. Thank you for the compliment on the bathroom and we are happy that your child enjoyed the pool! We hope that if you are ever in the area again that you give us another chance to... More 

Sun City Peachtree, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Unfortunately, during our 46-day road trip, we ended up staying at the Hillside Motel when it was sold out. We got the last available room for one night, and then switched rooms for another night. There were problems with both rooms. First, Room #15: We were unable to get any cold water from the sink; it was all scalding from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Our motel has been a family owned and operated business since 1942 and we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and welcoming our guests as if they were a guest in our home. We did communicate that we were at full capacity and you would be required... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Though the rooms look clean enough it appears the beds in room 17 are flea infested, possibly a gift from a previous four legged friend. I'm sleeping in the car tonight, as my husband refuses to forfeit our 85 dollar room charge. Hope he doesn't end up with a million bites. It will be a long day of hiking if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the room. We have inspected the room that you listed and found no issues with the room. Each room has the linens changed after each guests stay and throghly cleaned. In addition our motel is maintenance monthly for pests. In looking back at our books the room that you reference has... More 

Hatboro
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Hillside for one night with our dog, Grace. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely accommodating. A large area to walk our dog. Very close to national park and nice downtown walking trail. Definitely will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hillside. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and your adventures in the town of Luray. We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again! Thank you, Diane More 

woodbridge, va
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Last minute decision to visit Shenandoah NP over Memorial Day weekend. Hillside had a vacancy, a reasonable nightly rate, and a fair pet fee ($20?) so we were happy with decision to stay there. The little play area was a hit with our small children and the location (a few miles west of Thornton Gap) can't be beat. Next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. So happy you choose us and liked our accommodations. We hope if you are ever in the area again you choose us. Thanks Diane More 

Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

This cute little motel is a mom & pop motel. The people are so friendly, it felt like staying with family. My daughter and I stayed two nights and visited Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. The motel isn't fancy, but it's very clean and comfortable and has a nice pool. It's right off the highway, but the traffic was minimal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FDG1969, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us. We are so glad you had a memorable trip and hope you choose us again if you are in the area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
3.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 8 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 711 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#3 of 8 in Luray
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown of Luray
15.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
15.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities