We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Motel

#2 of 8 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
1460 US 211 East, Luray, VA 22835
Hillside Motel
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Sun City Peachtree, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately, during our 46-day road trip, we ended up staying at the Hillside Motel when it was sold out. We got the last available room for one night, and then switched rooms for another night. There were problems with both rooms. First, Room #15: We were unable to get any cold water from the sink; it was all scalding from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HillsideMotelLuray, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. Our motel has been a family owned and operated business since 1942 and we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and welcoming our guests as if they were a guest in our home. We did communicate that we were at full capacity and you would be required... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Though the rooms look clean enough it appears the beds in room 17 are flea infested, possibly a gift from a previous four legged friend. I'm sleeping in the car tonight, as my husband refuses to forfeit our 85 dollar room charge. Hope he doesn't end up with a million bites. It will be a long day of hiking if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the room. We have inspected the room that you listed and found no issues with the room. Each room has the linens changed after each guests stay and throghly cleaned. In addition our motel is maintenance monthly for pests. In looking back at our books the room that you reference has... More 

Hatboro
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Hillside for one night with our dog, Grace. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely accommodating. A large area to walk our dog. Very close to national park and nice downtown walking trail. Definitely will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hillside. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience with us and your adventures in the town of Luray. We are pleased to hear that you would stay with us again! Thank you, Diane More 

woodbridge, va
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last minute decision to visit Shenandoah NP over Memorial Day weekend. Hillside had a vacancy, a reasonable nightly rate, and a fair pet fee ($20?) so we were happy with decision to stay there. The little play area was a hit with our small children and the location (a few miles west of Thornton Gap) can't be beat. Next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice review. So happy you choose us and liked our accommodations. We hope if you are ever in the area again you choose us. Thanks Diane More 

Portsmouth, Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

This cute little motel is a mom & pop motel. The people are so friendly, it felt like staying with family. My daughter and I stayed two nights and visited Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. The motel isn't fancy, but it's very clean and comfortable and has a nice pool. It's right off the highway, but the traffic was minimal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FDG1969, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to have you and your daughter stay with us. We are so glad you had a memorable trip and hope you choose us again if you are in the area. More 

upstate ny
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

We stayed here one night and found the 'mom & pop' atmosphere of the place quite charming. We only dealt with the staff on check-in and she was very nice and helpful. Left early the following morning with the ease of a key drop off. The room we had was basic but very clean, had good wi-fi, and the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FDG1969, Owner at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear you would choose us if you are in the area again. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Talk about felling at home, away from home... this place has it all. Views, clean rooms and friendly staff. We enjoyed our night stay and would definitely return. Would recommend some upgrading, which the 3rd generation owner is working on. They updated the swimming pool last year and starting on some for this year. I would suggest a firmer mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hillside Motel and appreciate your kind words of our staff. We look forward to you staying with us again. More 

Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Stayed at Hillside two nights while hiking in Shenandoah Nat. Park. Chose the place based on reviews, bonus is it is pet friendly - we had two small dogs with us. Owners were nice, pleasant folks. Check-in a breeze and our room was very clean and comfortable. No problems with the pets and we had everything we needed. A bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We glad that you had a great stay and look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in the area. More 

New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Why am I amazed that the best wifi is always at a small 'mom & pop shop'? Big hotels can't afford to upgrade their service but little motels can? Anyway. Clean room, centrally located, very nice staff. Nice sized room with huge bathroom. Basic motel, not fancy. And they had windows that opened and a screen door. Plus chairs to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you had great WiFi service and a great stay with us. Thanks for taking your time to share your visit. Please choose us again if you are ever in the area. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

My husband and I stayed here while in the area for a wedding. The staff was extremely nice, the room was small but very clean and warm. Suited our needs for one night just fine. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
FDG1969, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

So happy to hear the positive comments of our staff. They do their best to help ensure our guests stay are great. We are happy to hear you will choose us again if ever in the area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities