We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Fonda on the Plaza

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Special Rate
Summer Rooms from $219
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
La Fonda on the Plaza
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    946
    336
    89
    36
    39
See reviews for
234
632
67
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1446)
  • Mar-May only
    (387)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (425)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (333)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (301)
All months
There are newer reviews for La Fonda on the Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

On a recent business trip to Santa Fe one of the more expensive resorts at which we usually stay had no rooms available for us. My wife and I had walked by and visited the La Fonda and eaten in its wonderful french pastry shop many times, but we had not stayed there This time we did. We will make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review

I am so happy that you and your wife have discovered a new “home” in Santa Fe. It’s truly an honor to receive guests who so greatly appreciate our historic charm and accommodating nature. Santa Fe really is an excellent spot to take advantage of some extra time for relaxation, exploration, and excellent food. In fact, Santa Fe was recently... More 

Wabash, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We recently spent 3 nights at La Fonda upon the recommendation of friends. We had a small suite located on the main floor and were pleased with the room decor and comfort of the bed. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of great sights, shopping and restaurants. Some of the best shops were actually in the hotel!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Hotel and Brenda at the front desk was perfect. Location was the best!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We were guests at La Fonda Hotel as part of a medical conference in Santa Fe, and found the hotel to be both lovely and lively. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a large, king bedded room overlooking a plaza. In an alcove, there was a couch, tables and ample room for our suitcases. We were supplied with a coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Rather than write an entirely new review, I'll simply copy and paste my e-mail to the manager of La Fonda. Plan and simple the service is awful. Dear Sir/Madam: My partner and I just returned back from our vacation in New Mexico. We stayed at La Fonda in Santa Fe from October 8 through to October 11. While we thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for contacting me directly regarding your recent stay at La Fonda. I was so disappointed to receive the feedback about how unpleasant your stay was, and I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincere apology. Substandard service is inexcusable, and substandard service on multiple levels calls for immediate evaluation. So, thank you for bringing these... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed there for 1 night. Excellent room, clean, comfortable beds. Normally we never eat in hotels, but a lotta restaurants were closed (mondaynight) and the food here was really good! Not middle of the road at all.... a good contemporary kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel is in a great location - right in the centre of town near the plaza. Incredibly friendly staff. While some of the rooms have lovely views they are very run down. Linen was stained and had several holes. The bath was filthy. Overall a disappointing room for $200 a night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review

Thanks for acknowledging our incredible staff and our great location. I was, however, sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your room accommodations. Cleanliness is one of our priorities, so of course I was surprised by your comment about stained linens and a dirty bathtub. Typically, we go out of our way to remedy these kinds of complaints in... More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We are frequent vistors to the La Fonda and always find it a joy to stay there. What makes the stay so nice are the staff. A special thanks to Brenda for helping make are stay the best. Again Brenda and the other staff are tops, so thank so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Redlands, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just visited for a week the La Fonda on the Plaza and it was very nice. Room numbering somewhat confusing but the hotel staff was very helpful in helping us find our way. In sour week stay I witnesses several instances if outstanding behavior by the staff and on the last day a very rude patron was making everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

La Fonda is the epitome of customer service. The staff, headed by the night manager, Mark Najera, rescued my sister and me from an unfortunate experience at another accomodation. They were creative, caring and courteous and we enjoyed our four-night stay in this ideal, convenient location surrounded by a traditional setting and comfortable amenities. Relaxing in the plaza, knowing your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. I was pleased to hear you were “rescued” by our staff, and able to experience the full spectrum of La Fonda’s many comforts. I wholly agree with your description of our staff and night manager, Mark Najera, as “creative, caring, and courteous.” These... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(8)
  • Parking garage(8)
  • Hotel restaurant(6)
  • Hotel staff(4)
  • Friendly and helpful(4)
  • Hot tub(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

878 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (455)
Viewed
Room/suite (129)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (107)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (67)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (66)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Fireplace (58)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)
Viewed
Traditional King Room (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay