We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn of the Governors

3.5 of 5 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Hotel website
Announcement
Pool Upgrades
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Inn of the Governors
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    330
    63
    14
    10
See reviews for
205
467
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1023)
  • Mar-May only
    (239)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (319)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (308)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (157)
All months
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

The hotel is a very good hotel! Excellent location by the plaza, breakfast is excellent and included. Very nice bar. We always stay here when visiting Santa Fe! Very friendly staff. My only negative comment is the fact that the heating /cooling unit is very noisy! Kept me up at night! Also the kiva fireplace was smoking the room when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Atlasoftheworld123, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoy our location, breakfast, bar and staff! My apologies that your room's heater was noisy. Could you please contact me directly so that I may know your room number? Our chimney' are swept on a regular basis, but I will have that room's chimney... More 

Boulder
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The Inn of the Governors is both extremely well-located and well-run. The management coordinates its many services with attention to detail. Our traditional room was very comfortable, the breakfasts are generous if not exactly gourmet, and the staff are nearly all excellent. We encountered only one staff person who was less than welcoming and helpful among the many we met... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear CSBoulder, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. My sincerest apologies that the noise from the leaf blower interrupted the tranquility of your visit. We have found that this arrangement is the most efficient way of removing the multitude of leaves. So lovely on the trees in late fall, yet such an eyesore... More 

Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

This was my second visit to the Inn of the Governors. Once again it did not disappoint. The King Suite was the best with a working kiva fireplace (wood provided), balcony and nice sitting area. The rooms are decorated in a Southwestern kitsch but it kind of adds to the character. Bathroom is large enough, very clean and products are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear hellogoodbye_7, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn. We are so pleased you had an awesome stay! We especially appreciate that it's our character that keeps you coming back. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. In Health and prosperity, Sam Gerberding General Manager Inn of the Governors More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Inn of the Governors. The first day we checked in we enjoyed the sherry happy hour while chatting with fellow guests. The proximity to the square is optimal. The first day we parked and walked to shopping and then to dinner. We built a fire in our room both nights. Ken at the front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear RussellTnT, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent visit to the Inn of the Governors. It's wonderful to know that you found us to have ideally captured Santa Fe! We also appreciate that Ken was very helpful to you during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the Inn soon. In Health and prosperity, Sam Gerberding... More 

New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Thanks to trip advisor we booked a room for 5 days and we were not disappointed. Located very close to the plaza we were the envy of friends who stayed elsewhere. Our room was delightful though the bathroom was small. We had a fireplace which we didn't use. The only complaint I have is that there wasn't enough room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Susan S, Thank you for your recent review. We very much appreciate your comments. I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that the housekeeping service was perfect. My apologies that the drawer stuck. I have alerted our maintenance staff to check that room. I hope to welcome you back again soon. In Health and prosperity,... More 

Peabody, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We spent four nights at the Inn of the Governors and really enjoyed our stay. The location was just blocks from the Santa Fe Plaza. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and very complete. After a day of sightseeing, shopping, etc., the free sherry hour was a welcome respite. The room was comfortable and parking was included. This is a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear WeGoOut, We are so pleased you found us to be a great bargain in Santa Fe. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It's quite gratifying to know you found the breakfast to be wonderful and complete and that the tea/sherry hour was a welcome respite. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. In... More 

Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We just returned from a trip to Santa Fe and Taos NM. We stayed at the Inn of the Governors downtown Santa Fe. It was a perfect location, not too pricey and it had a very good breakfast every morning included with your stay. The rooms had a kiva and a view. The staff was very helpful when we needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Kerri K, Thank you for sharing your review! We love knowing that you thought the location was great and encountered great staff. Parking can be a bit of a squeeze on busy weekends. Generally, we have our parking attendant on duty during these times to offer assistance. If, for some reason, she's not available, the front desk can direct... More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

The location is walking distance to many of the sights in Santa Fe. It is a good choice, if you do not have a car. Staff was friendly and helpful. The property is well maintained and the style of the property is charming southwestern. Breakfast buffet had many different choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Wehogirl, Thank you for staying with us and for posting your recent review. It is wonderful to know you found our staff friendly and helpful, the property well maintained and that our complimentary breakfast offered many choices. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again. In Health and prosperity, Sam Gerberding General Manager Inn of the... More 

West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
27 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

The Inn of the Governors is a great hotel in a great location. Our room was beautifully appointed with a balcony, no less. It seemed like a boutique hotel although I think they have many rooms. The location is outstanding. You can easily walk to the city square and the Palace of the Governors as well as many other sites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Dan M, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room and our convenient location. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. In Health and prosperity, Sam Gerberding General Manager Inn of the Governors More 

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This is a wonderful location -- a couple of blocks from the Plaza downtown, several museums, dozens of restaurants and cafes and shops. The hotel's tasteful southwest decor really makes you feel like you're in Santa Fe. Staff is very helpful. Room was nice, bathroom fine but snug. It's very clean (and I'm picky). Free parking and Wifi! We got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear LATraveler1727, We greatly appreciate your thoughtful review! We enjoy knowing you found us to be conveniently located, the staff helpful and liked the room and decor. Looking forward to seeing you on a future visit. In Health and prosperity, Sam Gerberding General Manager Inn of the Governors More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Business Hotel in Santa Fe

623 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (206)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (54)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (405)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe King (92)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
Superior King Fireplace (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)
Viewed
Traditional Double (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay