We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inn of the Governors

#12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Offers & Announcements
Free hot buffet breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
Add Photo

1,097 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    651
    352
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
222
502
54
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1097)
  • Mar-May only
    (287)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (319)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (308)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are nice and the free breakfast is excellent. There is no pool, which was a disappointment. Also, we took advantage of the 50th anniversary special, booking 5 months in advance. Despite booking that far in advance, we ended up with a room facing Alameda Street. There is a relatively high wall between the room and Alameda. However, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Mia4all, Thank you for your review. I'm happy to know your room was a nice and the breakfast was excellent. My apologies that your room was noisy and you were not notified of the pool renovation. We are making every effort to contact all our our guests in advance to ensure notification. If you have an opportunity, I would... More 

Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 4 nights this week and were very pleased with our stay. The room was comfortable and quiet with a fireplace and balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful. We got the room special stay 3 nites get the 4th night free, what a deal. The included full breakfast is very good, and the $15 per day credit in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Sherry C, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Inn. We are so pleased your first stay won't be your last. It's great to know that your room was comfortable, the staff friendly and that the breakfast was wonderful. Our 50th anniversary package is such an excellent way to give back. Just to clarify, the 4th night... More 

Allen, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is excellent & the staff make it truly special. They are cheerful and helpful - we see the same employees each visit so they must be treated very well by the owners. It really seems like they love their jobs and their service is fantastic. The breakfast is wonderful with lots of variety and the rooms are always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Larry C, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Inn of the Governors. I'm thrilled that our service is one of the things that keeps you coming back. I can say that our employees really do love their jobs and the management does all we can to treat them like family. I also appreciate... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was my second stay, the first at New Years 10 years ago. You know they say places are never as good as you remember? Well, it was even better at the Inn of the Governors The only drawback was we were not advised the pool was under construction. However as it was unseasonably cold (we even had a blizzard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Barbara M, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so pleased you returned for a second visit and that it was better than you remembered. Please know that I am so sorry we missed informing you of the pool renovation. Our goal is to notify guests when booking or 2 weeks prior to arrival. It's wonderful... More 

los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed three nights at the beginning of May. We've stayed at other hotels in Santa Fe in the past, and the Inn of the Governors stands out for the following reasons: great location, two blocks off the Plaza; excellent breakfast; free parking; excellent free wi-fi; free sherry tasting every afternoon; nice clean rooms; all at a rate I thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear uskatz, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Inn of the Governors. I'm delighted to know that you find us to be a great value, an excellent location and the green chile is a great breakfast addition. I hope the city's water main break was not too much of an inconvenience. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very clean room, walking distance to the whole city, best breakfast ever, friendly and helpful staff. Free wi-fi! Very comfortable bed. Corner room was a little noisy, trash truck came at 4:30 am. The great experience made up for the early awakening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear derek p, We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We love knowing your room was very clean, we have the best breakfast ever and our staff is friendly and helpful. My apologies that the outdoor noise woke you early. Thank you for choosing the Inn and we hope to welcome back... More 

Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here numerous times in last 35 years. It's always great and a value price for this excellent location. You should stay here if this is your 1st trip to Santa Fe because you can search the whole area from this central point. I have so many fond memories of trips to this town & Inn of Governors is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear bil1026, Thank you for your continued patronage! We are so proud to have such a loyal following. It's wonderful to see that the Inn plays a part in many of your fond Santa Fe memories. We look forward to your next visit. In Health and prosperity, Sam Gerberding General Manager Inn of the Governors More 

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a nice mid range hotel near the center (plaza) of Santa Fe. A short walk from everything. The room was clean and spacious and comfortable. The staff was very nice. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was one of the best we ever had in a hotel. The beacon was about a qurarter inch thick and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear Bob Q, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Inn. It's wonderful to see you especially liked our buffet breakfast and that our staff was very nice. I'm so pleased to know you will recommend us as a real value. We hope to see you at the Inn the next time your travels bring you to Santa... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights recently, and have all good things to say about the Inn of the Governors. Checkin was a breeze. My room (a king size with working fireplace!) was very spacious, with a small outside patio large enough for two to sit. There was a decent workdesk with four plugs for devices, a large sofa, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear EricNilson, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased you found us to be a great hotel with a convenient location and a terrific breakfast. I also appreciate knowing our desk set up was conducive to getting work done. I hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Santa Fe. In Health... More 

huntsville, al
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our first visit to Santa Fe could not have been better. We picked a great place to stay that included a $15.00 credit per day at the restaurant downstairs. Which had the best house margaritas ever! The Inn was in a great location for walking around town during the day and night. We will return - but for more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Samuel G, General Manager at Inn of the Governors, responded to this review

Dear jojoHuntsville_AL, Thank you for sharing your experience with other on trip advisor. It's great to know you enjoyed our fabulous house margaritas. We take great pride in offering one of the best in town at a reasonable price. We are so glad you found us and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

634 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (216)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (57)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (405)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe King (92)
Viewed
Pool (26)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (40)
Viewed
Superior King Fireplace (85)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)
Viewed
Traditional Double (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay