We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1614 N St Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78215
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #305 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    13
    25
    19
    51
See reviews for
37
25
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If I could give this hotel less than a 1 I would. I paid for a room for 3 people, only given a room with a king sized bed. Only one towel, had to argue with the "staff" to get more. And then I had to go to Target & buy towels for my family to dry with after showering.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

It is good to hear from you, though I'm sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the service, accommodations and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we want to assure you that the housekeeping and hospitality issues which you... More 

Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon entering the lobby which was dark, cluttered, and generally messy. We were greeted and were giving a room. While doing the required paperwork I noticed that the clerk had written down my credit card number of which I objected. I believe he crossed it our but was not sure of it. The room was not very clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

We are very sorry for this experience that you had during your stay with us. We have discussed these issues with our staff and we will definitely take necessary actions to prevent this from happening again in the future. We hope that you'll give us another chance to make it up to you and we will show you how much... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this super 8 this past weekend and we will not be coming back! First of all they advertised being close to the river walk, by close they left out a mile and half walk trough poorly lit, unsafe streets. Second of all it is very close to the highway and it is incredibly loud. Lastly, the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

I deeply regret to learn that you found this experience to be so terrible due to issues that should have been immediately addressed. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issues that you encountered during your stay in our hotel. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing the issue. It is our sincere... More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

It was a very unpleasant stay. The room was not vacuumed and the bed sheets looked liked they weren't change. The shower heads were broken so we had to take a shower in cold water.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

It is disheartening to learn that you experienced so much difficulty during your stay. I am sorry that your room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our maintenance and housekeeping staff. We hope that you will accept our sincerest apologies and return to be impressed by the improvements we have made. More 

Bozeman, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

First of all, if you arrive after dark you have to check in through a 3" slit in a window connected to the front desk, while standing outside, rain or shine. They won't let you inside, even if there's a torrential downpour and a line of ten people. If you have the need for a rollaway bed here, don't. Sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

I am so disappointed to hear that you were so dissatisfied with our accommodations and services and that our rating for your experience is so low. Any issue related to pest alerts is quickly addressed through professional treatment and investigation. Our staff is held to a high standard of hospitality and I hope you will accept our sincerest apologies if... More 

Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

I stayed here with two other people in a room with two beds, so we had to request a rollaway mattress. When we opened it, we found there was a large pile of RODENT FECES collected in the crease. We told the staff and they brought out another one which they said they cleaned first. The staff member was present... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

I assure you that we have the highest standards of cleanliness and that your comments are very important to us and are being addressed immediately with our staff. We are thoroughly investigating this claim and that although we have not yet found any evidence of a rodent infestation, we are taking the necessary precautions to ensure that nothing is missed.... More 

Jasper, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Hotel room was located less than 100 feet from a two tier interstate highway that was so noisy 24 hrs a day that made sleeping impossible, possible gunshots from a nearby room at 6:30 am, broken shower that was not repaired,thousands of ants in the room. people fighting in room next door, police summoned to incident.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gautam S, Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you experienced such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent stay with us such as noisy highway, broken shower, and ants in the room. I assure you that each issue mentioned is being investigated and addressed and we thank you for taking the time to point out the areas where we can... More 

Victoria, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I'll start with the positive things first. The staff was nice and the room was clean. Other than that, this place was a real dump and I'll NEVER stay there again. It is not close to the Riverwalk like it claims and you literally walk through the ghetto to get there. They charge as much as a nicer room closer... More 

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gautam S, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated, though it is very disappointing to learn of the bad impression we made with the state of our accommodations. Know that your voice is of tremendous importance to us and we are confronting each of the issues that you mentioned to ensure that no guest has this experience in the future. I am so sorry... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I booked the hotel and when i got there the front desk guy told me that he did not received my info and he wanted to charge me again besides that i bokked a double bed room and he told me they only had one bed room available aaaand besides that he gave me the wrong room keys and whe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gautam S, Manager at Super 8 San Antonio/Downtown Riverwalk, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconveniences (double charge) during your most recent experience with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues and misunderstandings right away. I hope you'll accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service and convenience that you encountered. We hope you'll return to enjoy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#127 of 352 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#8 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#165 of 352 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay