We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

4.0 of 5 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    235
    162
    65
    23
See reviews for
105
123
27
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (654)
  • Mar-May only
    (163)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (202)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been to several Marriott hotels, and I have never experienced such bad customer service. The person at the front desk was not even willing to help us with our reservation. We were told to call a number or rebook online. Went to another hotel instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark V, Director of Rooms Operations at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Marie C., Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. Please accept our sincere apologies for service failure you experienced here at the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk. Our goal is ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience. We strive to host brilliantly and we are sorry that we failed to do so for you. You’re a... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

hotel was in a great location, service was great and the room was very spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly, asked me several times if I needed help and I think they knew I was from out of town because they asked if I needed directions, which I did. The hotel sits right on top of the riverwalk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark V, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear JWFan515, Thank you for rating our hotel. As you discovered, we are ideally located on the River Walk, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the convention center. As you also discovered, our staff is warm, friendly and very eager to create the best hotel experience possible. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back... More 

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reserving our room 3 months ago for our daughter's birthday and checking in ahead, asking for a late check-in, etc.; we arrive at the hotel late at night having traveled quite a while to get there, we were so upset that they had no room for us. only a king size bed which does not accommodate our family of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Mark V, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear J14leroux, Please allow me to apologize for the confusion you encountered at check in. We pride ourselves in providing exceptional service and taking the very best care of all our guests, but it seems we failed you. We do our very best to honor all guest requests, unfortunately, we were committed on double beds throughout the entire hotel. Celebrating... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were very clean and well kept and the beds were comfortable. However, if you are in a room, within 4 or 5, near the elevator make sure you bring earplugs. I had asked for a room away from vending and elevators, but ended up 2 away from the elevators (a bank of 4). Listened to them all night long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Working in San Antonio and the wife came down for New Years and we booked a room at the Marriott at the river walk. Had a room on the 25th floor and the view was facing the river. The room was newly remodeled and was very nice. View was excellent as you could see the part of the river walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, MS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a three day conference here, good staff and good meeting space. The rooms are kept up, but smaller than some competing more modern hotels. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Free wifi in the lobby but no free wifi in the rooms. They say it will be free for Marriott members soon. Experienced beggars on the riverwalk nearby, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dulles, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I went to San Antonio in mid December. To make the story short.....my husband who is a Platinum Premier( life time platinum ) couln't even get a suite. We were given a room that was not accetable, and after speaking with the Director of operations, we were given another room, but we had to stay one night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark V, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear Sweetie897, Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott. As a Platinum Rewards member, you’ve come to expect only the best in accommodations and service. I’m sorry we did not live up to those expectations. As you noted, we are in the midst of renovating all the guest rooms; we apologize for the inconvenience this caused. We respectfully ask for... More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room is tired and the lobby is busy and a bit confusing. From what I understand this property is undergoing renovation which is sorely needed. The location is very good on the riverwalk and across from shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark V, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear heavybiztraveller, Thank you for posting your review. The hotel’s proximity to the River Walk and the convention center lends itself to our hotel hosting many convention attendees and families alike. You experienced one of those very busy times. I hope you will be able to re-visit us after the completion of the rooms renovation; I’d like to know what... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being a Life time platinum member this was my worst experience. I had called ahead of time to make sure we got a high floor, which was promised to me. When we checked in we had been assigned the lowest floor possible. The room was not the best. Tile around bath tub were dirty/stained. Some lamps did not work. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark V, Director of Rooms Operations at Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review

Dear kund20142014, Thank you for taking the time to provide this review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the discomfort and service failure you experienced here at the San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction, and it is very disheartening when we do not achieve that goal. We did not meet your, or our... More 

Dallas, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wanting to enjoy the Christmas lighting of San Antonio's River Walk, we went there for the weekend, picking the Marriott on the riverwalk as our hotel. We received a friendly greeting and when I requested complementary upgrade the Asst. Manager handling my request responded by putting us in a large room on the 23rd floor overlooking the River Walk. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 889 East Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio

308 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (139)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
King Room with Water View (33)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay