We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    120
    99
    42
    35
See reviews for
116
102
28
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (411)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Staff was sufficiently pleasant. Whole hotel smells old and musty. Nothing was really clean. Random little things were broken here and there (mirror frame in the bathroom, chipped furniture). Hallways were dirty. Overall, desperately needs a renovation. Might I suggest not using ragged brown tile everywhere. I get the whole southwest theme seen throughout the city, but its just seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. Sorry we were not able to exceed your expectations. We should be done renovating our rooms early summer 2015. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
91 hotel reviews
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. Within easy walking distance of most attractions this is a good location for visiting San Antonio. The staff for the most part is nice although the overnight and early morning staff seems to be too much all about business. A little more friendliness in the early morning would be nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the kinds words, I am glad you enjoyed yourself. I will make sure the early morning team gets a little more coffee too. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

Bellevue
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It pains me to do this but this hotel disappointed me on so many levels that I can't help but share it with you. I had one of the newly renovated rooms and it was fine but the service level was awful. I arrived late but the restaurant was still supposedly open so I stopped in. I found the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for posting I am sorry that your meeting expectation were not met. I know your company has been happily staying with us for many years and recently changed the meeting setup which has taking the instructors by surprise. Hopefully going forward we can work with them to ensure everyone is satisfied. Ben-GM More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Location was right off the highway and not to far from the heart of downtown. When my husband and I arrived at the hotel the front desk staff were very warm and inviting. The hotel was older but I was still optimistic because the front desk area was nice. I was immediately disappointed in my room because it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our staff and they were able to take care of you. Please accept my apology for seeing an insect. I will be sure to past on your comment to our pest control company that does regular weekly treatments Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

East Moline
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to attend a class for work. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is old but under renovation. Was told it was the first Holiday Inn built in San Antonio! The room was quiet and comfortable. The only complaint I have is the hot water for showers does not exist! And the wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay! I am happy to hear you would return. Safe Travel! Ben-GM More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After being on the road for 3-4 hours from Dallas to San Antonio, our greeting was not the best. We had to deal with the rudest person who act like he didn't even want to be there. We reserved two rooms from Friday-Monday. All together we paid a good $900. He made us feel so unwelcome and unwanted. I'm not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for posting about your visit. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

kerrville
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
46 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I got a great price on Expedia . $58. The room was clean but 2 star not 3. Hotel built in 60s but under renovation . Rooms quiet.Free parking . Staff all pleasant. Easy off i10 but a mile from riverwa

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to post about your stay. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For what I paid, I thought I was going to get a nice room and nice stay. Big time over paid. I booked a king size room and all they had for my stay was 2 full beds. The key did not work for my room. There was mold above the shower on the ceiling and behind the door in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. I am sorry we didn't exceed your expectations. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

Harlingen, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first time staying at this hotel. I normally travel for business and pleasure and have stayed at many hotels in downtown San Antonio. This is one of the best properties I have stayed at. Rooms are great, they offer firm and soft pillows, check in and out was a breeze. Front desk staff was friendly and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

Veszprem, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed for two nights and I got decent sleep so no complain on that. BUT!! The whole hotel has to do a extreme hotel make over! It was spring break but charge 300 dollar for a night is ridiculous when its in that bad shape! Breakfast was good and nothing to complain about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay. I am sorry we didn't exceed your expectations. Safe Travels! Ben-GM More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • River walk(5)
  • FREE parking(5)
  • Very nice(5)
  • Market Square(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question