We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area

Hotel website
Hotel deals
102 El Paso Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    49
    38
    19
    22
See reviews for
71
34
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (180)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you Shelby for all the great tips and help during our stay you were amazing!!! Our family had a wonderful time in San Antonio.. the only downside would be the WiFi it needs a boost for sure but other than that the rooms were roomy and clean and we had a great time...

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Shelby was welcoming, friendly, and helpful at check-in and throughout our stay. There is lots of upside at this hotel. The room is very nice, clean and well maintained. The pricing is very reasonable. The hotel appears to be nearing completion of renovation. The breakfast area is pretty congested, but imagine that will improve. Some minor downside; housekeeping collected towels... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arlene, Shelby, Rudy Thank you for checking all of us in at the Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Downtown-Market Area. You guys rock!! Everything was great when we got to the hotel from a long trip to Texas. The staff made us feel welcome. Best Regards, Colorado Springs Food Guy

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel everyone very friendly and accommodating. Market square walking distance breakfast hostess Gloria very friendly and always kept breakfast full ... plenty of space in the suites.... very easy access to the Riverwalk and Alamo dome

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn & Suites Alamo} thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us smile when we hear our Guests had a good stay and provide feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

edinburg, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a huge hotel. The staff is very nice. I had to be moved a few times but at the end I was satisfied with my room. One of my rooms had the shower broken, then they moved me to a room that smelled like smoke. I finally settled for a room that it took like 5 minutes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn Express Alamo) on your recent visit to our city. Customer Service is our #1 priority and when we receive feed back such as yours, it makes our DAY! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon check-in we were told the room we paid extra for was not available. We were given another room with a balcony. I have two young kids...this was a nightmare! We asked to speak with the manager and were td they were not available. After unpacking in our room, we found MOLD, yes MOLD in our bathroom! I requested another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlene U, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. More 

Copperas Cove, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There is only one elevator and it is very slow. The rooms were comfortable. The Food was decent. There was construction going on. The ladies managing the food court provided outstanding service. Overall, the hotel is not bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlene U, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn & Suites Alamo} thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us smile when we hear our Guests had a good stay and provide feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

What a dissappointment! This should not even be a Holiday Inn property. We booked a 2 queen suite and were excited to stay down by Market Square. Our excitement quickly vanished when we stepped into the hotel. The "lobby" was tiny, hot and dust everywhere. There was a folding table with a cheap black tablecloth thrown over with 2 desktops... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area. More 

Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The room was comfortable and housekeeping very efficient. The A/C unit in the room is very loud, so you need to turn TV volume up considerably. Front desk staff all were friendly and helpful. There is ongoing renovations on the first floor regarding the breakfast room, so you need to go down the hall to eat after picking up what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn & Suites Alamo} thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us smile when we hear our Guests had a good stay and provide feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

You get exactly what you want when booking this hotel: clean rooms a good bed, a nice shower and if you want a hot breakfast. We stayed just for one night when traveling around San Antonio and were very satisfied with it. We would stay there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlene U, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio-Downtown Market Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel (the Holiday Inn & Suites Alamo} thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It makes us smile when we hear our Guests had a good stay and provide feed back. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

276 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (205)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (13)
Viewed
Standard King Room (43)
Viewed
Standard Room (47)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)
Viewed
Whirlpool Suite (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
BEST WESTERN Alamo Suites
#89 of 352 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#167 of 352 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Do...
#121 of 352 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay