We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
414 Bowie Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Special Offer
2x HHonors Points
Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #88 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jess5K Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Rate this Hotel

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    160
    77
    38
    17
See reviews for
118
113
32
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (462)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here on the way across the country from AZ to LA. The hotel was clean and the staff were nice to us. The bed was comfortable, and a bad bed is noticed immediately by us, as is a dirty bathroom. There were two things that dragged down the rating of this hotel: the area around the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Busy time in San Antonio. Spring break, conventions, run etc. Hotel booked, but wouldn't know it. Well staffed and efficient. They know how to do the breakfast bar. Never a wait or a shortage. I' ve stayed at a lot of Hamptons. No surprises here. Thanks Zack!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDT, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your experience with our staff and your stay. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share with our online community the delightful experience you had at our hotel even when it was extremely busy. Spring Break is always a busy time in San Antonio, and we thank you for your patience... More 

Atlanta, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Ruben [--], General Manager was rude during my check in. I had a paper confirmation and my reservation had been cancelled. He screamed at me saying I must have cancelled it and would not honor my rate. He finally honored the rate after I asked for his business card. I filed a formal complaint about him. He is a nightmare!... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDT, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your communication with our staff was not to your expectations. We apologize for your inconvenience, and look forward to another opportunity. Regards, Michelle Stephan More 

Sachse, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel. No problem with the room other than the noise since we were near the pool entrance/exit and laundry room. I won't do that again. Good breakfast every morning though. The only thing that would've made this place better would be an indoor pool. The hotel is a block away from the Rivercenter Mall & Riverwalk and also the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDT, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your stay at our hotel. Please let me know when you plan to return, I will certainly make sure you are placed in a room that has less noise. Very sincerely, Michelle Stephan More 

McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this Hampon inn on Friday the 13th. The bed was very uncomfortable and I had a terrible nights sleep. The worst part was when I mentioned it to the girl at the front desk she just said Ok to my complaints. I thought she could of at least pretended like she cares about customer service. Also, no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDT, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at our hotel. I have shared your guest experience with our Front Desk to the supervisor and we are using this feedback to further train our staff. Very respectfully, Michelle Stephan More 

Pineville, Missouri
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is blocks from the Alamo and the Rivercenter Mall. Nice rooms and the service is acceptable. If I had any complaint, it would be that with all the new hotels in the area, the price might come down a little. Maybe there is that much demand.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDT, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our online community. I agree that our hotel is a great option when coming to downtown San Antonio for business or pleasure. So close to all major tourist attractions, without the busy stop-n-go traffic. If price is a concern, you can find great prices in May, August, and September.... More 

Rochester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have no complain at all. I stayed 5 nights here with no problems. The room was comfortable. The bathroom is clean and well-prepared with 'good quality' shampoo and soap. Only a bit noisy because my room was the one with door-connected with another next to it. The breakfast was nice, lots of variety. I liked freshly cooked scramble eggs... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
MichelleDT, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn San Antonio Downtown (River Walk), responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your stay went beautifully, and certainly welcome you back! More 

Columbus, OH
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mom and I stayed at this Hampton for 4 nights at the beginning of March. We were extremely pleased with the friendly service at this Hampton Inn. Sonia and Zack, who worked second shift, were accommodating and helpful—a warm welcome after dealing with canceled flights and lost luggage. Alesa, on firsts, was excellent with local directions. And Gilbert, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic location, close to all the attractions, employees are very attentive. The only thing I didn't like it was that I booked through my Hilton discount and they didn't honored. It was a little upsetting to find that out after your confirmation number.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service was poor, front desk was not helpful and contradicted each other. Beds were very uncomfortable. Rooms were loud could hear neighbors and had to move. Second room was still loud but not as bad as the first. They charged my card more than what my bill at check out was. There are much better places to stay while... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question