We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Hotel website
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Special Offer
Flash Sale
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    250
    144
    96
    76
See reviews for
200
241
35
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (788)
  • Mar-May only
    (204)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (219)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
There are newer reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staff where rude during my stay. The room I was given was dirty I left my vacation three days early. Roaches in the hotel room didnt want to replace towels. I will never stay here again. It needs to be updated. June 15 18, 2012. I prepaid an still left early thats how bad it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

I don't think you will be back but I do want to apologize for your shortened stay. I don't know if you had an opportunity to speak with a manager but myself and our management team will do anything to exceed the expectations of our guests stay. I'm sorry we were not able to turn your experience around. Best Regards,... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I booked a stay at El Tropicano because it was on the riverwalk and all other places were booked. Parking was an additional $18 and their was a long walk to anything fun on the riverwalk. The room was smelly, their were stains on the carpet, and the tub didn't drain quickly so I was in over ankle high water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was my second time to stay at the El Tropicano. Both times have been good. Their strong point is the very friendly staff. They advertise as on the riverwalk but this is really a stretch. You can walk along the river but to get to the main area of the riverwalk is about 3/4 of a mile. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sand Springs, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Check in was seamless. Our bellman, Daniel, was out standing ,took us to our room which on the 2nd floor was also the pool. I wanted a River view and asked for and received within 10 minutes.The Riverwalk was just below us. Also asked if the could reserve the room next to me for my Family members who would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

It was an amazing trip and part of that was our experience in the hotel. Our room was just what we needed for a two night stay. Our bed was amazing....our view and balcony were spectacular. The breakfast buffet was so delicious with so many choices, it had something for everyone. The servers were so kind !!!! Even when my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you had a wonderful stay in San Antonio and enjoyed our hospitality her at El Tropicano, we have a wonderful hotel and team. Thanks again! Tim Reed More 

Sanger, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

When we checked our room had not been cleaned. The trash wasn't empty and the beds were not completely made. The room was very dated and not appealing. When we called the front desk they promptly moved us to a different room. This room was much nicer and seem to be recently remodeled. I was pleased with the new room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinney, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was a wonderful experience. This is an older hotel, but don't let that detour you from a great stay! The hotel lobby is up beat and lively, a mix between sixties and modern styling. The hotel staff was unusually friendly and made sure to take care of any needs that wee had. The Director of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay in San Antonio as El Tropicano celebrates 50 years on the Riverwalk later this year. Our Director of Operations, Michael, is a great ambassador for true hospitality, thank you for recognizing him. More 

Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is an old hotel located on the very edge of the Riverwalk, with about a 20-30 minute walk to the area with all of the action. We lucked out to get parking on the street, so we didn't have to pay the parking fee that others have mentioned. They gave us a room on the pool deck, with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am very sorry to hear about your experience at the hotel and apologize for the frustrations you encountered. We should have immediately moved you to a room that was 100% ready. It is a fine line with the pool music since it is a popular area in the summer after the... More 

Clifton, Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The San Antonio Riverwalk (SARW) offers accommodations to suit the taste of essentially any traveler. Over the years my wife and I have stayed up and down the river frequenting a handful of 3 and 4 star properties that offer comfortable environs and predictable guest services. However, not until this weekend did we discover a place, quite by accident (thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is an older hotel, but they have a lot of remodeling. It is not trashy at all. The place is clean, people were friendly, and it had a wonderful view of the river !! I would stay here again for sure. WE had no problems, bed was great, shower was fine, breakfast was great, rooms are a little small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (144)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities