We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 353 San Antonio hotels

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

3.0 of 5 Motel   |   110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Hotel amenities
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel to your Saves list
62%
Ranked #143 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011
luzgoflo Mexico City, Mexico
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    227
    128
    87
    68
See reviews for
182
220
33
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (712)
  • Mar-May only
    (178)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (219)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (200)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
There are newer reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Fairland, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

The worst bed ever in a motel. The towels are as old as the motel with as many stains on them. Hot shower is very sporadic at best. I purchased this hotel through a travel site and it was listed as a 3 star. This hotel would be stretching a 2 star rating. The tv was twenty years old or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to apologize for the poor experience you had at our hotel, there is no excuse for towels that are not perfectly clean and although many guests have commented positively on our new bedding package i apologize that you were not a fan. We understand that the retro vibe of the hotel should not include older televisions and... More

Weslaco, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Not your moneys worth!! I expected a really nice hotel but the tv was old and room looked old. Customer service was not good either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations in room quality or service standards. Please contact me directly to discuss any particular customer service issues you encountered so that I may address them with my team members. Thank you for your comments and have a happy new year. Tim Reed More

Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

low costs, breackfast included and good location next to the river, very close to the touristic area. Nice attention and disposition to solve your stay requirements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We look forward to seeing you again this year. Happy New Year. More

Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

the bed ruffle had white stains on them , i know the city has stage 2 water restriction but come on .pool area looks good ,over all atmoshpere look good ,your within walkin distance to alamo ,walk the river perrty romantic , if you take brodway its faster,parkin is over the roof , you can park over night on street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I want to apologize for not meeting your service expectations, it is our goal to provide a warm and friendly environment for our guests throughout their stay. We certainly strive to ensure that our associates are informative on the things to do around the city and particularly the Riverwalk. In regards to parking I am glad that you were able... More

Morrison, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Stayed here on company business for a night in December. What a nice surprise! Great location on the river next to famous riverwalk and only a short walk from the Alamo. The rooms were updated and clean and the hotel had a tropical theme to it. Nicely done and made me feel like I was on a vacation. Only thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel, our Fitness Center Strive as you know is free to our guests and I'm glad you were able to utilize it during your stay. Check us out when the weather warms up and the pool area is the place to really relax. The beach is not in our future plans, but we certainly... More

Ahwahnee, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the El Tropicana for 4 nites. The handicapped accessible room was large, with a kitchen area and roll-in shower bathroom. The king bed had open space under the box spring which enabled us to use our transfer lift. The legs of the lift had plenty of room to fit under the bed. The hotel is within walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed walking and rolling throughout San Antonio and that our ADA rooms had all the features you needed. A good opportunity to get the word out that the Riverwalk is completely accessible including the newest section Museum Reach. Hope to see you back soon at El Tropicano! More

Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

actually i was with my family on that property from 20 to 24 in october 2011 however i hadnt had time to access and write my feedback before and my opinion about the hotel is not bad its very clean,the staff is so nice and friendly specially to cary from the reception and the bellboy( i dont remember her name),luke... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager3, General Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond from your visit in October. You certainly mentioned a couple of our stars in Luke and Carly and I have passed along your comments. I apologize that you experienced some street noise during your stay. In regards to breakfast we continue to expand the buffet with pancakes, yogurts, granolas and a wider... More

San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The rooms at this hotel are so gross!! The airconditioner vent kept rattling and kept us up all night. I was awake anyway worrying about what might be crawling in my bed. The only reason we stayed was because my kids had fun in the pool and there was a bar next to the pool! The breakfast buffet was ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager3, Guest Relations Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at the Historic El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel due to the condition of your room. As a Historic Hotel, built in 1962, our rooms are definitely a bit smaller and less "modern" than the "cookie cutter" builds of the last few years. That said, we normally hear that the rooms are small... More

Wylie, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We were there in early november for a powerplant conference. The hotel was great, the rooms were nice and clean, the bed was really comfortable.. But the best of all the customer service was one of the bartenders, his name was Armando Medina. He was very friendly, very attentive and very professional. From the first night on, he remembered our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager3, Guest Relations Manager at El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the El Tropicano Hotel. I was wowed by your kind comments about our bartender Armando. I couldn't be happier to hear that he made your experience special. That is what sets us apart from the "cookie cutter" hotels on the Riverwalk...a more personalized and familiar type of service. I hope you will return... More

Perry,OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This hitel had everything we needed for our reunion. The exception was the restaurant was closed and there were no others nearby. However, The hotel agreed to open the restaurant for us for three meals a day which was the iceing on the cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • River walk(17)
  • Very nice(14)
  • Pool area(6)
  • Parking lot(3)

Additional Information about El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Address: 110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn

171 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (131)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay