We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel

Hotel website
110 Lexington Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78205
Special Offer
Unmask Online Deal!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    246
    140
    96
    74
See reviews for
198
237
34
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (777)
  • Mar-May only
    (193)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (219)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (151)
All months
There are newer reviews for El Tropicano Riverwalk Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Bobingen, Bayern, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel did a great job on the website. Had me really fooled. Once I got there I was highly disappointed. Everything passed the lobby and reception area was a huge disappointment. The rooms didn't meet my standards especially for the price charged. We had a room next to the pool which was loud and the hallway light to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

I apologize that the room you were checked into had the issues that you mentioned. I don't know if we were given an opportunity to move you but rest assured we strive to correct any issues immediately and if unable to correct the issues move the guest to a room that meets your expectations.In January 2011 we completed our most... More 

El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

When my girlfriend and I first booked the hotel, we looked up their website and saw that it looked pretty nice from the pictures. We were confident in seeing the positive reviews and ratings for the hotel. Upon our arrival, we noticed the hotel is of course an old building and looks straight out of the 70's with the matching... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Front desk had no customer service experience. Hotel needs a lot of repairs. Areas close to windows by ice machines were very dirty. Ice maching on 8th floor did not work. Had to go down another floor to get ice. Toilet is slanted, very low to the ground and uncomfortable. There were two instances where there was no one to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
everywhere
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

this hotel is a former HOLIDAY INN franchise that no longer is part of the ICH group and for good reasons. first, the hotel is NOT on THE MAIN riverwalk as its title would have you believe. the city of SA contstruced tributaries of the main riverwalk for future development. the portion of the river walk that this hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
El Paso, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Check in was horrible, good luck getting double beds because it seems all they want to occupy is king rooms unless you make a big deal about it. I checked in to my hotel rooms until 5:30 and i arrived at 4:00 which is check in time!! I was not given the rooms that i wanted which were joined rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the pool area and our childrens activities which we started this year on weekends. I apologize for the items under the bed and not recieving a room with two double beds. I am under the assumption that we are at fault in not getting you the type... More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I took my family to San Antonio for a Six Flags and Sea World Vacation from June 2-9, 2012. We stayed a El Tropicano because my kids wanted something different. The problems started that check in (the evening front desk lady wasn’t any help so I went back down in the morning). I had called the hotel to make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Sorry to hear about the daily problems you encountered with towels and glad that some of our associates went the extra step to ensure you got what you needed but frustrating on my part as well that it took so much to get it right. In regards to breakfast there are many options out there with the different travel sites... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at El Tropicano--the staff was very nice. I was here for a conference; the only real drawback was the facility's age--signage and infrastructure could use some upgrades for clarity and convenience. In particular, the elevators were incredibly slow and limited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perry, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our stay with the El Tropicano hotel was absolutely great. The staff was amazing and helpful in every way. The rooms were clean and refreshed. The walk to the “River Walk” area of San Antonio was a great time to talk with the family and just meander without feeling rushed. We truly enjoyed our stay and will only stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your great review, I am certainly proud of all our hospitality driven associates. You certainly discovered the hidden gem of Museum Reach which allows the best of both worlds with a nice quiet walk before choosing a great restaurant on the bustling main channel of the Riverwalk. We look forward to your next visit! Thank you, Tim More 

New Port Richey, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was very impressed with the staff and atmosphere of this hotel. Everything was very clean and the staff made my trip especially enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the San Antonio area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I love the feeling I had as I entered the hotel - it's bright with interesting art and a really friendly staff. We were there for 3 nights. The room had 2 double beds and I loved having 4 plush pillows all to myself! You are able to hear your neighbors, as the walls are thin - and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very nice(11)
  • River walk(10)
  • Pool area(5)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

182 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question