We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown

#121 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1024 S. Laredo Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
13
5
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here for a business trip and my co-worker booked the hotel. The price was good. We each got a queen. It had a kitchenette w/a full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, and electric-range. The bed was comfortable, the service was great, and there's a gazebo out back that has a grill is free to use (including the fuel). The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice clean hotel. Stayed two nights and enjoyed the accommodations. Very nice staff who were quite friendly. I highly recommend this place. I can't believe Trip Advisor requires 200 characters minimum, so I am babbling in order to meet the 200 character minimum. I am at a 288 characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

This was a nightmare. I called ahead in hopes to verify that I could have my rooms with 2 beds in each room. Was told that the hotel was booked solid and that they couldn't accomodate this. I was then told upon arrival that my two booked rooms were now 1 room. A "suite". This basically meant we got to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Dear AMKTrav, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should... More 

MORENO VALLEY
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
189 hotel reviews
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

One of the nicest Candlewood Suites I've been in, including a great down town location, and I've stayed in dozens across the country. But also by far the slowest wifi I've experienced in a CS. I can now see why you don't see Business guests here, no one could do business or connect with their software here. And streaming video... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Dear drdroad, We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our property and our location. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Candlewood Suites around. We have taken note of your comments regarding the internet... More 

San Leon, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

Housekeeping intruded into my room despite the "do not disturb sign." Telephone did not work (I couldn't even reliably place local calls) and despite my complaint, nobody came to fix it over the two weeks that I was there. The suites come with dishes and a dishwasher. If the dishwasher is ever run, the housekeepers will without fail expect YOU... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Edwin X, Your taking some time out of your busy day to bring this matter to our attention is much appreciated. It is regretful to see that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us due to the quality of service you have experienced from housekeeping. In our effort to attain 100% guest satisfaction, we would... More 

Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to attend conference which was held at a much more expensive hotel. The hotel is clean. It is located alongside I10-I35, but no road noise gets in. This is a very industrial area. Thus no restaurant within walking distance, nor is it an area that looks like you'd want to walk around. On site free lighted parking. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, Room was nice size and super clean, Staff was nice, I never asked for nothing but they seem friendly and look like they would help if there was a problem. It was a nice and quiet stay, Not to far from good attractions. I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014 via mobile

Close to the Freeway and next door to the power station - great if you don't mind listening to the freight trains go by sounding their horns all night! The room was clean but only a queen bed not the King we were expecting. Despite staying for 5 nights they couldn't move us to another room... Staff were nice but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Dear ausduo, Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. I am glad you had a positive experience with our clean room and friendly staff. However, I apologize you were not satisfied with the bed allocation and hotel location. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve. We look... More 

San Juan, Tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with the hotel. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. I liked that we were able to wash laundry. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a security guard at night that walked the area. We will definitely stay again. The price was not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great value. Very clean. Comfortable room. Location not bad for overnight or weekend. Have to drive to market square and riverwalk but the savings are worth it. Full kitchen with clean appliances. Ice maker and microwave. Comfortable beds. Loved the soft nightlight in the bathroom. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question