We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 352 San Antonio hotels

Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
63%
Ranked #156 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jennifer D
  • Overview
  • Reviews (385)
  • Photos (74)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (67)
  • More
true
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    127
    73
    47
    35
See reviews for
110
110
36
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at The Red Roof Inn Plus while traveling in San Antonio, TX. and had a very pleasant experience! The staff was accommodating and friendly and the price was excellent! I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great place! Hotel and rooms very very clean. You can tell this an older hotel, but has been updated very nicely. Staff was very friendly and courteous . Only a short walk to Alamo and Riverwalk. No need to take the car into downtown. Only stayed overnight, but would spend more time here. Can't get a better rate so close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Temple, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, I would like to warn everyone of the pictures they have posted on their website. Yes, the room does have potential to look like said picture if they took their time to clean the rooms. Check-in was quick and accommodating as I was checking in 3 hours before their "check-in time." As I walked into the room there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has a good location just a couple of blocks from the riverwalk. The check in was reasonable. The room was bigger than I expected and seemed clean. No noise or anything so all in all it was a good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Downtown San Antonio location. San Antonio’s famous Riverwalk has many shopping and dining options for travelers to enjoy; and the Riverwalk is within 10 minutes walking distance of our property. When you are next in the area, we would be honored to welcome... More

Alice, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Second trip, second time staying at this hotel, both times hotel was dirty, the second time was worst, my room had trash from the previous guest. The bathroom was filthy no towels, and hair in the bathtub. Bed sheets smelled like dirty feet. It was the worst I would not want to go back, just because it's a convenient location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am truly sorry for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your second stay with us. We are actively working with our team to ensure Red Roof Plus+ standards are met and enforced at our Downtown Riverwalk location. If there is any possibility we could welcome you back a third... More

Katy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Management was absolutely terrible. I mean TERRIBLE. This hotel completely ruined mine and my husband's 3rd anniversary trip and my first time to SA. Plus, the bed felt like I was sleeping on a box spring and the AC vibrates every time it kicked on. I HATED my stay here. Vacation ended early because of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your recent stay. At Red Roof Plus+, it is our goal to provide you with excellent service; certainly on a special occasion such as your anniversary. I am truly sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am available at the email and phone... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly the staff is rude. We arrived in our room & the floors were covered in hair! They hadn't been swept, mopped, or vaccuumed. We called the front desk & they did come sweep & mop. Leaving all the debris they swept up on the table by the coffee pot!! When I drew back the bed sheets the first bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the San Antonio Downtown/Riverwalk Red Roof Plus. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; or ours. As your feedback is extremely important, when your time permits, would you please contact me at the email or phone number below? It is my sincere hope... More

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room key will deactivate every day. When I asked for a new key, receptionist will give me attitude. 2. Shower water will not drain fast. I had to wait like 20 minutes to drain. 3. Worst attitude ever from receptionists

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review on your recent stay. At Red Roof Plus+, it is our goal to provide you with excellent service. I am truly sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time at our Downtown San Antonio location. I am available at the email and phone number below. Please contact me... More

Woodlawn, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our hotel had all the amenities, a continental breakfast, outdoor pool, etc. however we were always short on wash towels and the floor did not appear to have been cleaned in our hotel. It wasn't horrible, but the corners were dirty and tidbits were there all week in certain spots. It was convenient to the downtown Riverwalk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our Downtown location, just 4 blocks from the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. I apologize for the issues you described with your towels and room service. When your travels bring you back to San Antonio, please contact me directly so we can ensure... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First our bed was dirty and our sheets weren't changed.Secondly we paid for a lock box and were never able to get into it due to the fact that there was no maintenance on site. Our first night there was a huge party full of drunk people right next door to us and our family so we had to request... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Red Roof Inn S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am truly sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your time with us. At Red Roof Plus+ we strive for excellence in customer service and while I know we cannot have a second chance at a first impression, we would be honored to welcome you back. We would... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 1011 E. Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Red Roof Inn

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Near Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#156 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio #156 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Rverwalk is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to The Alamo, San Antonio Convention Center, the Riverwalk, the Alamodome and River Center Mall in downtown San Antonio, TX. The hotel is also close to Lila Cockrell Theatre, Market Square, Freeman Coliseum, AT&T Center and Splashtown.When you check into the Red Roof Inn San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms that are 100% smoke free and feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessels sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, new seating and a large, flat screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! We feature a conference room, business center kiosk, free local and domestic long distance calling, ATM, an outdoor pool, elevators, interior corridors with WiFi available throughout the property. Selected rooms offer microwave and refrigerator units (a nominal fee may apply; please inquire). Now offering Red Roof's new "Order Inn" program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Experience our complimentary “Grab & Go” Breakfast of bagels, apples, oranges, juice, coffee and tea in the lobby. We offer “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
215

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer