We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Hotel Congress

311 East Congress Street, Tucson, AZ 85701
The Historic Hotel Congress
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    23
    13
    19
See reviews for
12
62
32
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful experience and Don Harrison made everything than much better....Thank you Don! Sorry, didn't see or hear any ghosts...maybe next time! We plan to do this again very soon and will try to do a family re-union next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Hotel Congress certainly feels like a place cut from the annals of history from the the first time you see it from the outside. If this is the type of experience you're looking for then it can deliver it quite readily granted that a decent bit of the hotel has been updated to keep up with the times but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE unless you plan to stay in the bar listening to terrible club music until 2:00 a.m. The entire second floor vibrates. It is unbearable. Nothing about the hotels history makes up for the noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maynards400, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. We do our best to make our guests aware that we are an urban hotel with a nightclub that has music seven nights per week. We apologize if this was not the case with your stay and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Tucson. More 

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I love Hotel Congress. Tucson holds a special place in my heart as a U of A alumni. Whenever I return to visit, I stay at the centrally located Hotel Congress. Not only is it a rad little historic landmark, it also has some of the best club nights the town has to offer, located conveniently on the bottom floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

I stayed here on two separate nights within the same week. Both were weeknights. I experienced no noise at all. Didn't even need earplugs, and I am a light sleeper. I called ahead and was placed in the "quieter" section of the Cactus rooms. I enjoyed my stay and will return. I have not stayed in a Fri/Sat night ----... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Stayed here with my gf and friends. The rooms were clean, very comfortable and the staff was fabulous. We loved Arizona in whole but had a really fun time staying here in downtown tucson. Our stay at Hotel Congress was a beautiful addition to our amazing trip in AZ.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Congress a couple of years ago because we wanted to be near the 4th Ave Street Fair. Not only were we within walking distance to the fair, but we thoroughly enjoyed the Congress. It is a funky and quaint hotel, with great music both in their stage area and also outside on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JulieHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are glad you like the Cup and choose to give us a try. We have a lot to offer and try to make our guests experiences memorable. See you next time, Julie Brown Hotel Rooms Manager Hotel Congress More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
23 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

The hotel has mega cool factor and great people watching. The rooms were interesting. Just because a hotel is old doesn't mean it has to have old beds. The beds were terrible! My back was killing me when I woke up. The shower head hit me in the chest cuz it was made for a little person but the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JulieHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We change out our mattresses on a regular basis and have an order coming soon with more. I hope that we are replacing the one that you had. Hope you visit us again soon. Julie Brown Hotel Rooms Manager Hotel Congress More 

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

This hotel my look a little run-down for American standards, however, it exudes charm and history. It is a fun and inexpensive way to spend the night. The rooms may seem basic, however, suit the nature of the hotel. I highly recommend -- it is an experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JulieHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for finding our charm. We're a Historic Hotel, almost 100 years old, and guests who know that when they reserve with us know what to expect and see the beauty of the building. Hope you come back soon, Julie Brown Hotel Rooms Manager Hotel Congress More 

Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

As a touring musician it is always a real treat to return to the Hotel Congress. The rooms, staff, and live room are all excellent. Simply, I love the place. Despite the legends, I have never had a supernatural encounter there. Or anywhere. (Probably because there is no such thing as ghosts...)

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
JulieHC, Manager at The Historic Hotel Congress, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you have not had a haunting experience, since you do not believe in ghosts. We hope to see you the next time music brings you to Tucson. Best, Julie Brown Hotel Rooms Manager Hotel Congress More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question