We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eastland Motel

Certificate of Excellence
385 County Road, Rte 189, Lubec, ME
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Eastland Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Westford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. The motel is a little close to the highway but the traffic was generally light, especially at night. Close to downtown Lubec and Campobello. Breakfast was okay. The muffins were a little like sugar bombs. But there was some fresh fruit and that was good.

Helpful?
Thank Donald G
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
608 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Actually staying here now, as I write this review. A quick trip to the Bold Coast of Maine and Campobello Island. What a delightful and convenient motel on the road to Lubec off Route One. Very clean room, very comfortable bed and lots of comfortable pillows. Bathroom is well appointed...done all in fresh and clean white from tiles to floor... More 

Helpful?
Thank BeeMelissa
USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

You may judge the appearance of this old-style motel by the photos. I found the staff to be very obliging when I called for help. I have had previous experiences here, and never found them to be rude. I know they are working on updating the motel, and just want to say that when I checked in, there were other... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillieUSA
Eastland1, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Sorry Billie. I apologize for the dripping shower. Room five shower was fixed last week. And room eight is out of commission. It is finally getting a much needed upgrade. We have shut down the large wing, so it may have appeared that we had plenty of other rooms available, but we did not. To heat that large wing in... More 

Franconia, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

I only stayed one night and checked in late but the owners were very nice and accommodated my late check in which was helpful since I was traveling from so far away. The room was nice and cozy like you would expect from a motel and the wi-fi was a nice touch since service can be spotty. l went over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the response. We are not perfect obviously, but we do our best to be friendly and welcoming. We appreciate the time you took out of your day to write us a review and the fact that you appreciate the service we provide. More 

Lee's Summit, MO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

I have thought about this review since we stayed there two weeks ago. I try to find good things about everything/one. If you doubt this, please read my review of this motel from September 21, 2013. You will see I rated them a 5 star. In my review I stated that we travel to New England every other year and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lskaye
downeasthiker, Manager at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

You're right. A smile and a thank you goes a long way. We certainly do appreciate your business and Glen will try harder, I promise..... Or our roles will switch! We truly hope you give us another chance. More 

West Hartford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

Room was clean and worked well for having our dog with us. Pergo floors keep allergies down which can be a problem in motels that take pets. The front desk person was less than friendly and the breakfast was dry muffins served in the tiny office where you check in. We would have preferred the Home Port inn which looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank JWtraveler1
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear the desk clerk was less than friendly. That is unacceptable and staff will be reprimanded. Sorry too that the muffins were dry! They are baked fresh daily. Happy to hear that you appreciated the pet friendly room, however. Thanks for staying with us. Your business is greatly appreciated. More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Visited the area to view Quoddy Dam model in Eastport and see Campobello Island. Most choices are bed and breakfasts. This is a newly-refurbished classic roadside motel. Owners are local young family who have added nice touches. Not only fresh-baked muffins, but also local photos on hallway walls and a book-sharing library. (Take a book and leave one of yours... More 

Helpful?
Thank Virginia D
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Virgina D for the wonderful review and recommendation! We know how much time it takes to sit and write one in an effort to provide travelers with good info. Happy to hear you appreciated our small library. It is stocked regularly with new books for those rainy days and quiet nights. Hope you make Lubec a regular destination. More 

Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We just got back from a stay in Lubec one of our very favorite places. My husband and I usually vacation in the summer to Lubec and have been coming here for the past 10 years. We were coming back from Nova Scotia and decided to stop by one night and visit friends. I realize that there are new owners... More 

Helpful?
Thank Corbett56
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Appreciating learning about your concerns. The orange shag carpets are steam cleaned weekly, and fortunately, we are losing another one today! The smell may have been a stain on the carpet that I found and sprayed Resolve on it? Not sure, but I do apologize. More 

Blue Hill
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We stayed two nights at this friendly little motel just outside the village of Lubec, Maine. The building is a typical 1950s style strip motel but the rooms have been updated and refreshed. The rooms are large, clean and have a TV, refrigerator, microwave and Wi-Fi. Rates includes a continental breakfast which is available from a counter in the office... More 

Helpful?
Thank bluehilltraveler
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Appreciate you takeing the time to write a review! Happy to hear you enjoyed LUBEC as much as we do. These hiking trails are the best we've seen! Our motel certainly is a Mom and Pop destination. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate the business and hope you return! More 

Bedford, Mass
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

We took a trip to see Campobello then further north into PEI. This was a very pleasant place to stay. Not fancy - but nice and clean. Nice restaurants downtown. The bed was comfortable and you could tell the room had recently been updated.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerBedford_Mass
downeasthiker, Owner at Eastland Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for making the Eastland your stop-over destination. In my opinion our restaurants and shops are some of the finest in the county. Thrilled that you enjoyed them too. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.2 mi away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
19.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
22.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
12.0 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
9.2 mi away
45th Parallel Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities