We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Providence hotels

The Dean Hotel

122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Dean Hotel to your Saves list
The Dean Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
78%
Ranked #9 of 13 hotels in Providence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
nave0510 Gladstone, Michigan
  • Overview
  • Reviews (42)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
19
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Dean is the type of hotel that every place needs: witty, quirky, creative, utterly original. Caveat - let your preconceived notions of what you expect in a hotel go. They are unimportant. The Dean is perfectly located - short walk to Down City, Providence Place, Amtrak, Convention Center, State House, etc. Personally, I think the quirks of this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to pass along your thoughts after your trip. Glad you enjoyed so much of Providence! More

Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Dean, where we stayed for two nights in July, appealed to our design sensibilities: it occupies an interesting, quasi-historic building; it is centrally located in a relatively walkable neighborhood; and its interiors are modern, rather simple, and agreeably non-generic. The hotel has its drawbacks, however. Specifically, the elevator is old, minuscule and sometimes a bit cranky -- for instance,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you got a stop in at The Dean during your visit to New England on the whole. I suppose you are correct that a super soft sleep isn't for everyone. Sorry you didn't rest well after that treck up to the 5th floor! More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dean Hotel is a new addition to Providence, having been created in a space that clearly has seen many lives over the years. The owners sensibly worked with the space that they had, and as a result have a hotel that is way more interesting than the large chains - but not without some caveats. Good things: * Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the thorough and honest review. We appreciate the notes to consider. Thanks for taking the time! More

New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Found The Dean while looking for a place to stay in Providence for a girl's night out before we headed off to Newport. We all LOVED it for it's location, style and staff. It's a new hotel so be patient the kinks are being worked out. The hotel's location is central and within walking distance of most of the major... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the review and the nod to your Providence Experience. Thats exactly what we hoped to be a part of when we dreamed up this crazy idea! We hope to see you again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has a good location friendly staff and is clean but truly lacks in functionality. We stayed in the king room and there was no room in the bathroom to hang anything and no counter space. Shower design needs some adjustment. Bed frame was very squeaky anytime you laid on it. Rooms werent very quiet (and we specifically asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I wish it were easy to tame the ol' girl that is our elevator. But as its the original to the building it takes considerably more than "common sense." Terribly sorry she interrupted your sleep. More

East Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a hotel with twin beds, 48" TV, fluffy carpets, don't go to The Dean. I assume some of the negative comments below are maybe from people looking for that. If you want something a bit quirky and different, then The Dean is your place. Its fun, trendy, the staff are friendly and helpful. The coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We certainly know that every experience isn't for everybody, so it's good to hear that you enjoyed our space during your visit to Providence! More

Charlton, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I saw this on the Today Show and booked when we decided to go to the Waterfire festivities in Providence. It was a nice walk to that so the location was perfect for us. I got a room with two bunk beds because I knew my kid would love it. Its very basic but the linens were SUPER nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Glad to hear you enjoyed water fire and a night out in Providence! More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The least restful night I have ever had in a hotel. By far. Forget the fact that this hotel is more show than go in terms of practicalities e.g. the stairs from reception instead of a ramp, the tiny lift... The issue here is the noise, its simply unacceptable outside of a night club set up. From the street level... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Terribly sorry you had such a poor experience with the noise. Although we can't control the noise level in the rest of Downtown Providence, we are working to reassess and limit the noise coming from our Karaoke Lounge. Apologies that you didn't have a restful experience. More

Andover, MA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Dean for a quick overnight and loved it. It's fun, quirky, and in a great location - there are shops and restaurants nearby and its a quick walk to Federal Hill, the Italian section of Providence. The staff were very attentive. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was a decent size for a boutique hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and thoughtful feedback! Certainly good points to consider! More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed for seven nights. The high points: the staff, including housekeeping-after one day they learned that I was planning to leave the hair dryer on the toilet tank rather than crawl around on the floor every morning to get it out from under the bed; the location was great for the Convention Center and walks to various restaurants and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the thoughtful review! We appreciate the feedback. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Dean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dean Hotel

Address: 122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your The Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Providence with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Providence
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dean is a 52-room boutique hotel housed in an c. 1912 Building that has been sensitively restored in 2014. The Dean is located in the heart of the Downcity neighborhood, directly adjacent to the Rhode Island Convention Center, Dunkin Donuts Center, and within close walking distance to Brown, RISD, Johnson & Wales, the State Capitol and many corporations and historic sites. The Dean features a wide variety of room types, from cozy bunk beds to lush king suites, all outfitted with custom furniture and vintage finds from Europe and beyond. The Dean is host to Bolt Coffee in the lobby library, the Magdalenae Room, a European-style cocktail bar, Faust, a German beer hall and the Boombox, a karaoke den with a bar and private singing rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
52

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Dean Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer