We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dean Hotel

Hotel website
122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dean Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    57
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
25
82
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Dean hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for casual and exciting accommodations. The hotel definitely boasts an atmosphere that truly embraces the local feel that Providence is all about! First of all, the rates at this hotel are remarkable when compared to others in the area. Although their standard rooms are small, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeniseP57
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First off, I want to warn everyone that their website is spot on. What you see is what you get so don't expect a lot of fluff. We were OK with that. Apparently this hotel only offers one type of room (4 bunks) for a party of 4, so that's what we had. This room was extremely streamlined and exceptionally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights at the Dean earlier this week. It is in a great location for shopping and restaurants. The room was nice, clean, functional. The service from the staff was excellent. The old elevator was fun... but very small.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had been to Providence before, but this was my first time staying at The Dean and what a pleasant surprise it was. It was in the perfect proximity of everything I wanted to do while visiting Providence. The next time I visit this little city, this is where I'm staying. What stood out to me is that EVERY employee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melrose, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given a night at The Dean as a gift and were so pleasantly pleased. We love boutique style hotels and we were not disappointed. Upon check-in, we were upgraded to a suite on the top floor! The location is great for walking along the river, shopping, and restaurants! The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear from a Gifted Guest! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a vote of confidence for your friends taste and we are happy that we didn't disappoint! We hope to see you again soon. Cheers! More 

San Mateo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed on 4/16-a Thursday night. Located in a great area close to the premier city restaurants (walking distance) . Providence Place Mall, the Convention Center and easy to get to by car.The hotel's front desk staff from the very beginning was accommodating and prompt and went well and above to help-especially Mary. The valet was courteous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Dean with our teenagers (13 & 16) on a Monday & Tuesday night. We split up into 2 bunk bed rooms, which was great. The room was small as expected, but was very cozy with comfortable beds. I loved our little room! There was even a separate light for the top bunk, which was nice. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review of your stay! We are glad that you were able to enjoy a stay with the whole family. Our Bunk Rooms are certainly a good bet for those scenarios! Terribly sorry if our JimmyJane Kit caused any conversations you weren't ready for. I suppose by design most items in... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I commuted from NJ to Boston for graduate school a couple of years ago. When I got priced out of the Boston hotels I started staying at The Dean. These days I find myself missing those late night check-ins, the funky, do-it-yourself elevator, and the barista in the lobby in the morning. They have a karaoke place on the ground... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking a moment to submit a review. Hearing how the character of our space has stuck with you truly means a lot to us. It sounds as though you have visited Providence less frequently lately, but rest assured that we are here for you when you find yourself back this way. Cheers! More 

New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this hotel! I stayed here during my first trip to Providence. The staff was nice and the free bikes really made our trip special. The room (we had the king room) was clean and spacious although I would have preferred a real shower or tub (we had a wheelchair accessible room), but I guess I didn't care enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a moment to submit a review of your stay. It goes a long way. A quick correction to your room tip: Room 201 is not above The Karaoke Lounge. In fact its on the opposite side of the building. Not sure what noise you were hearing that late into the night on the front side of the... More 

Marfa, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Strong coffee, an old-school, slide-gate elevator, firm beds and cocktails- what's not to love. Yes, there is not a ton a place to hang clothes but it's a hotel and not a retirement home. I have stayed at the soulless chain hotels down the street and that makes me love the Dean all the more. The staff rules, the bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! Someone might think that you work here after a review like that! We thank you kindly for the strong vote of confidence. It means a lot to us and we'll continue to do our best to deliver on that quality of experience you've come to expect. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question