We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Providence hotels

The Dean Hotel

122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Dean Hotel to your Saves list
The Dean Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
76%
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Providence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
hannypops London
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
20
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is really gorgeous. From the bright lights outside, to the floor tiles, stacks of art books by the front desk and the neon in the hallways you could spend hours just photographing all the interesting nooks and crannies of the hotel, and attached coffee shop, cocktail bar and restaurant. Our room was fairly small and furnished in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for the review! It's good to hear (or read?) that our efforts are well received. In the end, we hope for nothing short of all of our guests having fun in town during their visit. Glad you enjoyed yourself. More

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at the Dean Hotel over Labor Day weekend. We arrived around 2pm and were told our rooms weren't ready. The front desk was helpful and let us keep our bags at the front of the hotel until our room was ready and we killed some time at the nearby flea market. We came back and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review of your stay here at The Dean! I especially enjoyed the bit about the Harry Potter Lift! You are correct about Monday's being a relatively quieter day in town than a weekend, though I suspect that's the case for most cities. Thanks for lending us your take on our venue and our town. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wanting to try a cool, new hotel in downtown Providence, we booked one of the larger rooms at The Dean. Having a student at RISD, we were all about the quirky, art scene the reviews raved about and looked forward to a unique experience. Our first clue, however, should have been the room selection on the website when the only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay, albeit cut short. We are sorry that our choices didn't appeal to your sensibilities. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay in our wonderful little town by findings accommodations that better served you. More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wish I'd paid more attention to the mid-range reviews. Good-size bathroom but shower design doesn't work well. Not enough outlets. One cool lounge chair but no side table, not enough hangers for wall hooks (no closet). No coffee in room but available for 3 bucks in lobby (and it was over cooked). Q-size bed sags in middle, sheets and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that our style choices didn't appeal to you. The sagging bed certainly sounds like a repair was necessary and I apologize that we weren't aware of it so that we could've acted on it. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Breaking journey on our deprive from NYC to Cape Cod, this was perfect. Great bigs rooms beautifully and stylishly furnished, lovely bathrooms and great coffee in the mornings. Would have loved to spend another night

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the font sentiment! We wish you could've spent another night too. But alas, all good things must come to an end! More

Gladstone, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dean is the type of hotel that every place needs: witty, quirky, creative, utterly original. Caveat - let your preconceived notions of what you expect in a hotel go. They are unimportant. The Dean is perfectly located - short walk to Down City, Providence Place, Amtrak, Convention Center, State House, etc. Personally, I think the quirks of this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to pass along your thoughts after your trip. Glad you enjoyed so much of Providence! More

Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Dean, where we stayed for two nights in July, appealed to our design sensibilities: it occupies an interesting, quasi-historic building; it is centrally located in a relatively walkable neighborhood; and its interiors are modern, rather simple, and agreeably non-generic. The hotel has its drawbacks, however. Specifically, the elevator is old, minuscule and sometimes a bit cranky -- for instance,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! We are glad that you got a stop in at The Dean during your visit to New England on the whole. I suppose you are correct that a super soft sleep isn't for everyone. Sorry you didn't rest well after that treck up to the 5th floor! More

Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Dean Hotel is a new addition to Providence, having been created in a space that clearly has seen many lives over the years. The owners sensibly worked with the space that they had, and as a result have a hotel that is way more interesting than the large chains - but not without some caveats. Good things: * Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the thorough and honest review. We appreciate the notes to consider. Thanks for taking the time! More

New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Found The Dean while looking for a place to stay in Providence for a girl's night out before we headed off to Newport. We all LOVED it for it's location, style and staff. It's a new hotel so be patient the kinks are being worked out. The hotel's location is central and within walking distance of most of the major... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the review and the nod to your Providence Experience. Thats exactly what we hoped to be a part of when we dreamed up this crazy idea! We hope to see you again soon. More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel has a good location friendly staff and is clean but truly lacks in functionality. We stayed in the king room and there was no room in the bathroom to hang anything and no counter space. Shower design needs some adjustment. Bed frame was very squeaky anytime you laid on it. Rooms werent very quiet (and we specifically asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! I wish it were easy to tame the ol' girl that is our elevator. But as its the original to the building it takes considerably more than "common sense." Terribly sorry she interrupted your sleep. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Dean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dean Hotel

Address: 122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your The Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Providence with
any amenities