We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Providence hotels

The Dean Hotel

122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903 (Downtown Providence)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Dean Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dean Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Providence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Brittany C Providence, Rhode Island
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
48
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Superficially, this hotel looks pretty awesome. But that's only based on looks. Don't get me wrong, the idea and design could be so awesome! But many things were left without a second thought. We decided to stay here so we didn't have to drive after a night out in Providence. As a local, I am fully aware that the building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a thorough review regarding your feelings after your stay. I see that there are a good deal of points, questions, and comments here that I would be more than happy to respond to. But in the essence of keeping things short, i'll just mention a few things which I found most important.... More 

Vermont USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Dean is our cup of tea. Aside from knowing that a great night's sleep is assured(superb bedding!), The Dean is dog-friendly and has ideal proximity to downtown "life". The entire staff is remarkably attentive. Entering our valet-parked car the morning after it snowed, the attendant literally shoveled the street, so I could enter the car with ease. Bolt Coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful synopsis and reassuring nod to what we strive towards daily. It is great to hear that we can be your go to and we hope to never disappoint. Cheers to you and the 4-legged friend. We look forward to seeing you all soon. More 

Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is very different than the typical hotel you may have stayed at before. It's minimal to the point that I don't even think there is a closet in some rooms - just a few hooks on the walls and furniture is also very carefully selected but sparse. I like the whole vibe going on. And I only list the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Your analogy is wonderful and we appreciate the review, not to mention the sense of humor. You are good to mention that our setup may not be ideal for every traveler, but certainly enjoyable for most. Cheers and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dean has great rooms, and friendly/helpful staff, but our stay was seriously tainted by the fact that our rooms proximity to the elevator allowed us to hear its mechanical movement every-time someone operated it. Not an insignificant noise. Not necessarily the hotel's fault, but their seemed to be a large group who moved their party from the karaoke downstairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Terribly sorry that you suffered such a poor nights sleep due to noise from one our venues! It's definitely something we are working to make adjustments to so that we can ensure a good nights sleep for all. More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and the inexpensive price for a Saturday night. Check in was quick and friendly and there were amazing smelling candles at the front desk. We had a large king bed room on the second floor with a large bathroom (this may have been a handicap accessible room?). We could hear people walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks fort he wonderfully thorough review of your stay. You are correct that you more than likely received a Handicap accessible bathroom given your description. We would love to have you back with a group in The Heights. Feel free to email me directly as you come across a date that you are interested in. Aarin@Thedeanhotel.com Cheers! More 

New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

something very special happens when you walk through the doors and climb the first step. one is immersed in the soul and spirit of another time, another place. tensions seems to dissipate as you are thrust back in time. although in the midst of a city the bedroom was extremely quiet and conducive to a wonderful sleep. dinner at FAUST... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

We are entirely smitten with your review! What a wonderfully worded pat-on-the-back! We are looking forward to your next visit. More 

Intervale, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently spent 4 nights on a business trip. I had stayed at all the other properties over the last 20 years and thought I would try something new. Glad I did. The Dean is friendly, funky and very clean. Enjoyed the location just steps from the Rhode Island Convention Center. It is within walking distance of many restaurants and bars.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Terribly kind of you to leave such a reassuring review! It's good to hear that while some revel in unnecessary lavishness, we have attracted those who can appreciate the beauty in the details. And after-all is said and done, Location-Location-Location? Am I right? We'll see you next January, but perhaps even a bit sooner? More 

New England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were SO EXCITED and looking forward to our stay at the Dean. But unfortunately left feeling incredibly disappointed. When making reservations we inquired about parking and was told the hotel had a secure parking lot for guests. However they didn’t mention that it was valet parking only for an additional fee. During our stay, when ever we attempted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Terribly sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. The lack of valet presence is something I can certainly not defend, nor would I try to. We were not there for you when we should've been and I apologize for the time you say double parked and unattended to. The Shower is also something that I'm afraid was a mistake... More 

boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really like this hotel. Stayed there with my friends on NYE in the "suite" which was small. But I do love replica art, especially the rip on Tracy Eamon's neon.. Just a really good, arty vibe. Only problem I had was that the couch that turned into a bed was essentially like sleeping on a brick while you lower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the sleep. To be clear, we don't yet offer couches that turn into beds, but rather standard cots which are in addition to any furniture which would have already been in your room. It sounds to me as though you had a great night and crashed on the couch. I'm inclined... More 

Port Isaac, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is such a gem. There is a pile of history attached to this building - quirky and fun and unexpected. In town for business and pleasure. Wanted to do the boutique experience while having some true relaxation with partner. It was lovely. Fire-Water (a spectacular display of fires set up in the river along the city) was going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aarin C, Director of Sales at The Dean Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to submit a review! We appreciate your take on our Big-Little City and attractions like Waterfire. I wouldn't be so sure that we aren't for kids though. We often take care of families who appreciate our Bunk Bed accommodations and easy going atmosphere. Cheers to you and thanks for visiting us! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Dean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dean Hotel

Address: 122 Fountain Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Providence

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay