We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Providence

4.0 of 5 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hotel Providence
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Providence
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    186
    62
    41
    27
See reviews for
118
230
54
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (668)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (217)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed becoming a CZT, (Certified Zentangle Teacher) within the walls of this magnificent hotel. The staff and management of this stunningly beautiful hotel were always available, truly professional and friendly. I would certainly recommend visiting here and intend to be a regular customer. A plus experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary and separate 5-star reviews on Trip Advisor for both the hotel and for our Aspire restaurant. We are so delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us and will pass on your kind words to all of our staff. Hopefully, you will have an opportunity to return to Providence when we can welcome you back!... More 

New York City
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having spent five nights at The Dean in July, events prevailed to bring me back to Providence in November and December (actually, soon to be for good). The Dean has invested extraordinary effort into the details but failed badly in the function dept (hvac issues in hot months, beautiful room lighting which is so bright you could do surgery, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid and specific Trip Advisor review. We appreciate the detail in your review that will help us improve our services. It was most kind of you to recommend the Hotel Providence for both visitors to the city and local residents. Looking forward to your return, whenever your travels bring you back to Providence. Kind regards, David... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Providence this past Saturday 1/3/15. The staff was so accommodating and friendly. When we went into our room I noticed that there was a shower and no bathtub to my disappointment. For most people this is probably not a big deal but I really wanted a room with a bathtub. When I went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

We appreciate your complimentary Trip Advisor review and pleased that we were able to accommodate your preference for a room with a bathtub. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. Wishing you and your boyfriend a very happy and healthy 2015. Kind regards, David G. Benton General Manager More 

New Milford, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We choose to stay in Hotel Providence because it looked like it had more personality and character than some of the chain or mega hotels in Providence (and the excellent ratings helped). We were not disappointed. We are a family of 5 (teenage children) and we got two rooms that were next to each other with a shared outer door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

We are pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable New Year's Eve celebration with us. The combination of rooms that you stayed in, with the central lobby works out very nicely for families. We appreciate your compliments about Patrick, which will be shared with him. Wishing you and your family a happy and healthy 2015. Kind regards, David... More 

Glens Falls, New York, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you stay here beware of the extreamly thin walls. I stayed with three other people in one room, and experienced an unfourtunate night. We were put right next to a couple (I'm guessing). The couple was having a romantic night, and we heard every word, moan, and head board banging against the wall. It was a very unpleasent experience,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance from the adjacent room, and especially for the poor follow up from our staff in accommodating your requests. We have discussed this matter with the appropriate staff members, to insure that this situation is not repeated. Yours sincerely, David G. Benton General Manager More 

Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent New Years Eve at the Aspire Lounge (A-Bar) had a "fantastic time" , had dinner and enjoyed the world class vocals of Buddy Monteiro and his band what a night to remember, we danced out the door. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary Trip Advisor review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable time celebrating New Year's Eve in our Aspire bar. Wishing you a wonderful 2015. Kind regards, David G. Benton General Manager More 

Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I took a trip to the US East Coast with my nearly 80 year old mom. It was fantastic throughout including the hotels. But of all the hotels we stayed in Boston, Providence, New York and Washington DC there was one place that stood out. It's Hotel Providence! We thought it had the nicest, biggest room with great value. Modern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay with us during your most recent stay In Providence. Thank you for your compliments about the warm and friendly staff and your accommodations. We are so proud of the staff and how well they treat our guests. Hopefully, you will have the opportunity to come back and... More 

Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have travelled from Paris to NYC and stayed in 5 star hotels but never have we had the feeling of home we did here. From Matt, the Front Desk Manager, to each member of the staff we had the pleasure of meeting, they went beyond professionalism and made our stay wonderful. The hotel is all that it promises and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

We so appreciate your complimentary Trip Advisor review, especially comparing the Hotel Providence with 5 star hotels in Paris and NYC. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and will share your positive comments about Matt and the staff, with them. Looking forward to your visiting with us, once again. Kind regards, David G. Benton General... More 

West Berlin, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

In efforts to avoid the big names, noisy lobbies and impersonal service I decided to try the Hotel Providence in downtown Rhode Island. I heard it was understated and quaint. Upon arriving I drove past the hotel twice. Understated was and understatement. It is easy to miss. Upon check-in I was warmly greeted and expected. A great start. I noticed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
curious53158, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you found your accommodations to your liking and that you also enjoyed the bar and the restaurant. Thank you also, for your kind comments about the staff, which will be passed on to them. Looking forward to your return. Kind regards, David G. Benton General Manager More 

Plainville ma
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 via mobile

Nice boutique hotel. Big rooms. Comfy king bed. But when we went, this hotel was hosting a wedding reception. They do not have function room facilities for a wedding, so they had a heated tent attached to the building. The band was in the tent and the music was so loud, you could hear it down the street. Every hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
curious53158, General Manager at Hotel Providence, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that your stay was marred by the music from the wedding on Saturday night, especially as it continued later than scheduled. Hopefully, you will come back and be able to enjoy the hotel to its fullest. Please contact me if you decide to return; I would like to personally handle your reservation. Again, my apologies. Yours sincerely,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Providence

Address: 139 Mathewson Street, Westminster Street, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Providence 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#7 Family Hotel in Providence

948 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (75)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
0:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (825)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Nathaniel Hawthorne Suite (104)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (110)
Viewed
Roger Williams Suite (142)
Viewed
Standard King (110)
Viewed
Superior King (84)
Viewed
Superior Two Bed (93)
Viewed
The Hotel (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay