We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coyote Mountain Lodge

1340 Big Thompson Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    95
    107
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
84
100
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (143)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 125 for two nights. This room is renovated. The room includes a TV and small refrigerator. The room is small, as is the bathroom. The bathroom fixtures were new. The bathroom offers few places to put your toiletries. The towels are thin. Certainly not a place to spend much time but OK for sleeping. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in both a renovated King and Queen room. The good. .. Price compared to other places in the area. Super friendly service willing to bend over backwards for you. Clean rooms and a pool with hot tub. Location central to the lake and downtown area. All rooms are pet friendly. The not so good. Old ac units were loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are on a budget this will suit your needs. I firmly mean that. Here are some drawbacks you could avoid if you are willing to spend more elsewhere: -Carpet had a faint mildew smell -Rooms are constantly in the process of renovation... our sink was pink -No breakfast -Beds were hard

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Coyote. We value your feedback to help us direct improvements on our facilities. We have been in the process of renovating many of our units and hope to be able to offer the same improved quality in all of our rooms soon. In the mean time we do offer... More 

Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon booking this hotel, we had opted on staying in one of the "vintage" rooms, meaning that it had not been renovated, to get a better deal. We were pleasantly surprised by our room. While dated, our room was clean and beds were comfortable. My only complaint was with the air conditioning units which were not adequate to cool the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for such a nice review! We are working really hard to renovate our property! As you mentioned we do rent the non renovated rooms for less because we know it is hard to find a good deal in Estes Park during the summer months. All though the rooms are small we work very hard to make sure they... More 

Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in an "updated" room for 2 nights. The carpet was filthy, the sheets were gray, the pillows were yellow and the mattresses were very old and uncomfortable. The first thing I thought when I saw the bed/mattress was bed bugs. The shower had no water pressure and just trickled out of the shower head. The best thing about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to post your review of our motel. We are so sorry that you did not have the best experience! It is our priority that we have the best product and value in town! We wish you would have informed us of the pillows because we would have happily replaced them for you! We strive... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived early about mid day but our room was ready and we were able to check in. I was pleasantly surprised by the room. The room was clean and comfortable and included a fridge. The bathroom with a little small with out of date bathroom suite and strange taps on the sink. This was I laughed hotel in 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review! We love our location and the fact that it is so close to lake Estes! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was really looking forward to staying here after reading so many great reviews, but we were really disappointed. I don't think I would have minded so much if we hadn't been charged over 300.00 for two rooms for one night. I know they are renovating, but they should charge less for the rooms still being worked on. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Coyote Mountain Lodge! We apologize about the issues you had with the room. Maintenance made sure the drain was unclogged the next morning, and we are in the process of ordering new bath mats. Your feedback is always important to us! We do sell the rooms that aren't renovated for about $20... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best things about this hotel are the views from the room and the pool/hot tub area. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but my husband and I both had a difficult time regulating the water temperature in the sink and shower. The hotel is a short drive to downtown Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We strive to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Simple, quiet and tucked away but close to down town Estes Park. 10min drive to Rocky Mountain National Park. I would recommend this place. You can eat, shop and walk around the down area. The weather for July WA great! Bring jeans, shorts and a light jacket. Especially if you plan on going into the mountains.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We love our location and that fact that it is so close to downtown Estes. We do hope you recommend us to your friends and family! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I purchased a backcountry camping permit in the RMNP. Hiked into my campsite around 8 pm. Found a VERY large elk in my campsite and unfortunately couldn't stay there. All other designated backcountry campsites next to me were taken and you're not allowed to camp in un-designated areas of the forest. Reached my car around 8:45-9 pm. All front country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Coyote Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Coyote Mountain Lodge! We appreciate your comments about our renovations and cleanliness. We've been working hard to remodel our property, and we take pride in how clean our rooms are. Ella is one of our best front desk agents. I'm very glad to hear that she helped you out in your time... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

246 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (177)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (24)
Viewed
King Premium Room (23)
Viewed
King Room (21)
Viewed
King Suite (30)
Viewed
Retro King Room (24)
Viewed
Retro Suite, Three Queen Beds (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#13 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Maxwell Inn
The Maxwell Inn
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay