We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Appenzell Inn

Hotel website
1100 Big Thompson Ave, P.O. Box 1879, Estes Park, CO 80517
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Appenzell Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Appenzell Inn
Review This Hotel

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
33
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is super cute. We visited post-renovation in March 2015, mud-season and stayed in the Suite-Heart Loft Studio - which was totally awesome, and had terrific mountain views and lots of daylight. It was room 34. We have also stayed in the 'Economy' Room before - much smaller with no view, but still had nice features and Swiss charm.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We put a lot of effort into creating an awesome vacation atmosphere, so it's always nice to hear that people have enjoyed themselves when staying with us. Personally, the Suite-Heart Loft Studio that you wrote about is my favorite as well. You really can't beat that view along with the two-person... More 

Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

I had a disappointing experience. I had to change rooms twice because something in both rooms didn't work (lights, fireplace, then it was the smoke detector beeping every 30 seconds). The staff here is friendly and upgraded my room for the inconvenience. I liked my new room, but the heater made a loud grinding sound whenever it was on. Annoying!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hochstetler, Owner at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. These issues are not a common occurrence for us. When you mentioned the issues in each room, Noah offered to come up and look at them immediately. However, you wished to be moved. Had you given us the chance to... More 

Montrose, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Surprised at how nice it was for the price! Beautiful room with kitchenette, fireplace, and a jetted heart-shape tub! Very romantic, clean, and cozy - exactly as another reviewer commented! Would love to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

Really glad to hear you guys enjoyed yourself! We like the romantic setting that our property and rooms help create for our guests. Thanks for taking the time to review us and hopefully we will see you again soon! More 

Brighton, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Husband and I stayed for the second time at this hotel. The rooms are fantastic. It feels like home. The staff are friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us while the heat was out. They brought us a space heater and offered to move us to another room on the second night. Not a problem though because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay! Also, we really appreciate you taking the time to review us and share with other about your stay. Our apologies for the heat issue, but it appears that it all worked out well for your group. Thanks for choosing us for your Estes Park stay and hopefully we... More 

Pueblo
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Appenzell very much. It was romantic, clean, and cozy. The hotel staff person was super friendly, informative, and very helpful. We hope to book another stay in the summertime as to enjoy more outdoor activities

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

We are always glad to hear someone enjoyed their experience with us! Thank you for taking the time to review us, and hopefully we will see you in the future. Have a great day! More 

Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Stay on the top floor for a breathtaking view. The room was wonderful and romantic with the fireplace. I highly recommend the Appenzell Inn. This was a bargain in price as well and was very convenient to get to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words! We strive really hard to give our guests a quality stay, at a price that won't break the bank. It's hard to not have a good view in Estes Park, but our Suite Heart Loft Studios are pretty hard to beat! We're glad that you enjoyed yourself, and hopefully we will see you again soon! More 

Commerce City, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed at the Appenzell in for a romantic weekend getaway. For the most part, this was a wonderful choice for a hotel! The website needs quite a bit of work, not enough information on there. There is free continental breakfast, which we passed on. We wanted a hot breakfast and I am gluten free. We stayed in the sweetheart... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are glad that you guys enjoyed your stay overall. We are looking into your small concerns with our hotel to ensure these aren't problems for future guests. With this time of year, the wind gusts (we've already had some over 100 mph) can be pretty bad, but we will... More 

Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Very pleased with our room cute,clean and quiet, at a good rate, and staff was very friendly. Breakfast was so so and a little on the late side for us since we are early risers...but hey it's a free breakfast. Internet is slow...but since your surrounded by a fabulous view of the mountains what can you expect? A little time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback! Please accept our sincere apologies on the mix-up of your payment. We will be talking to our staff to ensure this isn't a problem for any future guests. We hope to see you again soon! More 

nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

First review ever, but our stay at Appenzell Inn was so incredible that we had to tell someone -- anyone. The moment we entered the suite we felt comfortable and at home. The big surprise was the quality of construction, the amenities provided -- all top of the line -- right down to an amazing hairdryer. What is harder to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great feedback! We have taken a lot of time in going over the details of what's in every room. I simply cannot say enough nice things about our great housekeeping staff and the things that they do. They're an integral part of our business and they take a lot of pride in their work. We're very... More 

Zeeland, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I was able to take my family of seven on a business trip to Estes Park. We had an awesome time! The pool was warm, the view was amazing, the fireplace was warm, the staff was very very helpful. I would recommend the Appenzell to anyone. It was recently purchased by new owners and the improvements can be seen all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hochstetler, Manager at Appenzell Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review us! We are looking at adding some different items to our breakfast to create a better selection for our guests. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay with us, which we are really happy to hear. Thanks again for the feedback, and come see us soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question