We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 74 Estes Park accommodations

Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Hotel amenities
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    22
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
99
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So this is a cute family run place that has cabins and motel like rooms with rustic western decor. Located along big Thompson river. Some rooms face the river and some face the parking lot for the Dunraven Inn restaurant. No breakfast included. Your first nights coffee is free and additional coffee is 75cents so that is inconvenient. No housekeeping,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
conipkn, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Jackie- We want to thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry that one of our guests was so noisy. We actually had another guest ring our doorbell one evening while you were here and complained about the noise. We approached the noisy guest and believe they quieted down. We were hoping that they didn't bother any other guests,... More

Mitchell, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Swiftcurrent Lodge is the perfect little getaway. Gary and Coni are wonderful people. My husband and I stayed there for our honeymoon and they made us feel very welcome. The views from the cabin area and the mountains are just breath taking. Rocky Mountain Forest hiking trails are just walking distance from your door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Lori & TJ- We are truly honored you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon. Although your visit included being here during the flood, we hope you had a special time. As you know, we did fair quite well despite the damage that occurred further downstream. We are working on the few repairs we have and are already... More

USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Swiftcurrent Lodge is just adorable. The location is perfect, right on the Big Thompson River, with shady trees, places to sit and read a book, go for a hike and come back for a hot tub. Their rooms are simply stated lodge rooms, yet they have just what you need for your Estes Park getaway. Rooms include a microwave,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We feel at home at Swiftcurrent Lodge. Coni and Gary take very good care of us every time. We return annually and each year gets better and better. We feel blessed to be able to hear the roaring river, view wildlife from our balcony, hot tub under the night sky, and enjoy our stay so close to RMNP.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KansasUnited States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all the owners are one of the most hospitable, nice people we have ever stayed with. They know so much about the area and are so friendly. The town of Estes Park is so busy in the summer time the Swiftcurrent Lodge is the perfect location. We had Cottage #10 and I would highly recommend it to any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Swiftcurrent before but this time wanted our cottage to open up to the patio on the river. So we chose #4 instead of #12. Although we didn't have a TV, we wouldn't have had time to watch it anyway. We hiked every day, and came back to hang out on our patio. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Swiftcurrent Lodge. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. It was basically like a hotel room with a good-size fridge, microwave, and bathroom. It was very clean and I loved how it was decorated! We also had a balcony. Unfortunately, our balcony faced the Dunraven Inn Restaurant instead of the river. Next time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I made a last minute plan to spend a night in some place. Choose estes park and called dozens of lodges but all were full. Luckily got one night stay available at swiftcurrent. Place is beautiful with big thompson running next to your cabin. I wish I could have stayed longer. There are few trails nearby which you should try.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
47708
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I argued with Gary the owner over this 30 day ridiculous policy for cancellation, they were far from polite. Owners were only in office about one hour, the housekeeper showed me to the room. I needed info on resturants but no to ask, so I went to visitor center. I stayed one night in July. Definitely not worth $95/night. Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here three days in early July. Cabin was divided into 3 different apartments. Ours faced the rushing stream; the Big Thompson. Cabins set under huge pine trees with chairs and benches throughout over looking stream. Small crowded rooms with queen bed and very small bath room adjacent. We got by because we were out visiting most of the time.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary-Coni, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from our guests. With Rocky Mountain National Park only 300 yards upstream, the fishing is unlimited. We are sorry that your unit was not up to your standards. Your unit does have a very "compact" bathroom as is stated on our rooms & rates page of our website. We do offer larger units for a higher price.... More

Been to Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel
Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Specialty lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River to your Saves list