We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
1220 Big Thompson Ave., US Highway 34, Estes Park, CO 80517 (Formerly Travelodge Estes Park)
Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015
colorado4ever2011 Peoria Heights, Illinois
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
26
17
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Estes Park, Colorado
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The Owner/Manager who is based out of town is terrible about getting back to you if you have a concern. I requested him to contact me 4 times via email or phone, and he finally did after a 3 week period. UGH! I had a tour of the rooms during the out-of-season, and there was unmade beds months after being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

I apologize for the delay that our off-site manager took to respond to your inquiry. No one has been available on-site since last November. I am a bit surprised you were able to get access to a room. We have just hired a new on-site manager. I can assure you that should you have an opportunity to visit us again,... More 

Peoria Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We needed a room for one night & found ABVI. The clerk was very nice & helpful & the location on the main highway was great. The room was okay. The pluses: wifi, very nice furnishings, floor length mirror, wood paneling, iron & ironing board, hair dryer, fridge, microwave & coffee maker, bathroom small but nice. The minuses: not enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your October experience at our motel. We are working hard to correct the deficiencies you noted. We have a new general manager and anticipate a good summer season celebrating the 100th anniversary of Rocky Mountain National Park. Come visit us again. More 

Detroit, Michigan USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Just spent 5 days at this establishment. A few things you should know - (1) when you make a reservation here you are charged for the entire duration of your reservation - before arrival; (2) if you book for multiple days you can cancel before arrival (if done in time), but once you check in you cannot cancel without losing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to report on the shortcomings of your stay with us. Ordinarily, no charge is processed until you check out and it is our policy to allow early departure should your plans change. There is no excuse for finding the room dirty, the absence of daily housekeeping nor the experience you had with the bedspread.... More 

Commerce City, Colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

We went to Estes Park as a family to listen to the elk bugle and decided to make a weekend of it and stay at this hotel. It is very inexpensive and it shows. I waited in the front Lobby to check in for 10 minutes before anyone showed up (I called the hotel phone and it rang in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your observations regarding your stay with us. Because of problems like you have described, the general manager has been replaced. We are working hard to improve our guest experience. More 

Odessa, Ukraine
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Everything was just fine. Reception people were very helpful. Free shuttle had its stop steps away. Room was clean and well maintained (though, one has to put a sign up if in need of cleaning). Wi-Fi was reliable. Breakfast was pretty good for this type of accommodation. I liked them having "quite hours" policy, which allowed for good rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the trouble you had with housekeeping. That service should be automatic without need for request. We have a new general manager on-site and are optimistic that service will imrove during the 2015 season. More 

Hayden, CO
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Stayed here on a one night stay -- worried because of the reviews, but it was our only choice. The place was clean in our opinion. We had 2 rooms -- one was tiny -- I'm talking you need to back into the bathroom to use the bathroom. -- the other one was a "handicap" room so it was bigger.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. There should have been soap and shampoo in your bathroom. It was an oversight by housekeeping to have overlooked that. I apologize for the confusion when you checked in and found that your room was still being serviced by housekeeping. Our staff needs to better coordinate the room availability.... More 

Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Great little place in Estes Park to stay for a night or two. You get what you pay for people - this is not the Ritz or even the Westin. It's a basic place to lay your head for a night or two, run by some friendly folks. It's clean, and parking is right outside the door to your room!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay at our motel. We hope to see you again next season. More 

Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

I was a little nervous about staying here after reading the reviews, but for the price I decided it was worth a try since we were only going to be here one night anyway. This place was easily 30 or 40 dollars cheaper than every other place in Estes Park. Especially if you sign up for the value club membership... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your TripAdvisor comments. I am glad our staff was able to accommodate your early checkin. It is a pleasant walk from our property to downtown Estes. I am pleased you enjoyed the elk exhibition. More 

Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I recently stayed here on a quick business trip to Estes Park, CO. The rooms are little dated but very clean. My remote control did not work for the TV. This actually probably gave me a much better nights sleep!! The clek at the front desk was very nice and the rates were low. I found the hotel to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating. More 

O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I got a really good rate on three nights at this property thru "hotwire" The location is it's strength...it's got great views, & is minutes away from Rocky Mountain National Park. That being said, everything else connected to my stay can be summed up in the one word "adequate." the Inn is definetly on the older side of things. Lighting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John R, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn at Estes Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay with us. We are trying to improve and upgrade the property to correct many of the deficiencies you noted. We have alerted our general manager regarding the delay in housekeeping service you experienced. We anticipate a return visit to our motel will be more enjoyable. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question