We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Crescent City B&Bs / inns

Penny Saver Inn

665 L Street, Crescent City, CA 95331
Hotel amenities
Penny Saver Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penny Saver Inn to your Saves list
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    2
    4
    11
See reviews for
10
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
There are newer reviews for Penny Saver Inn
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hot tub was nit clean there was dirt in it. The pool was cold and its way to open for people off the street to be able to look in.. slime in the bath tub, trim has blood and dirt in them. Their are holes in the walls and coffee pot is not clean. Fitter is black w coffee.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coeur d Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nothing fancy, a little older but well kept. Good price. Located in the center of town. Chineese restaurant right next door. Denny's within walking distance. Nice indoor pool. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was pretty basic but clean. Great place to start a tour of the coast. Highly rcommend the Trees of Mystery just South of town in Klamath.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Zelienople, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were given a bed that was smoke free, but it was smelly and the bed was so lumpy we found it hard to sleep. We were going to get some ice but the ice machine was extremely dirty! The price might have been cheaper but I would pay more and stay somewhere else. Our next stop was in Fort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oregon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We drove up the coast over the 4th of july and was worried we would not be able to find a room there were a lot of hotels on the same street as this one they all including this one looked a little suspect, but this one looked the best was pretty clean on the outside and had what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

We came here after a nine hour drive from seattle, hoping to relax and sleep. We didn't expect much because of the outside appearance. When we walked in, we automatically thought it was nasty. It smelled of mildew, the beds were dirty and there was even a suspicious stain on the blanket of one of the beds. I'm pretty sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

the room looked like the out side of the building so i didn't expect much. paid for two nites in cash the job i was in town to do got put off refused to give me a refund on the second night. pretended not to speak English when i asked for it back. old key lock instead of a magnetic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

This was one of the nastiest, seedy hotels I've ever stayed in! The rooms were filthy, the beds were dirty, unclean and hard as a rock! The walls were spackled so heavy that even the lights, tiolet paper rolls, etc were spackled over! There were piles of dirt on the floor everywhere! The beds had crud on the sheets (don't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salem, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Where to begin? Pool not heated, hot tub drained and surrounded by caution tape, rusty everything, dilapidated stairwell, holes in walls/doors, paper-thin walls and a headboard that actually fell off the wall while my mom and niece were sleeping in the bed. When I complained about it in the morning the woman wearing a manager badge was very sweet &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

i checked in around 7pm with my husban and children altogather they are 6 of us they told me that i could get a family suite with a roll away to accodmate. also pool and hot tub as children wanted to swim.when pulling in theparking lot we saw people in hoods as if they were dealing drugs turns out one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pennysaverinn, Owner at Penny Saver Inn, responded to this review

Thank you to everyone that has posted a review. To all the people that wrote a bad review, as the Owner of the property I personally want to send my sincere apologies. I was not present on the property during these times. Due to the problems were posted on these reviews and others, I started looking closely into my management.... More

San Jose, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

i had a very bad experience their i came from san jose drove in the pennysaver after a seven1/2 hour drive well i walked in and ask for a room for the weekend they ask for a 50 dollars deposit that was fine i paid for my stay when i came back saturday they took my clothesand suietcase and put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pennysaverinn, Owner at Penny Saver Inn, responded to this review

Thank you to everyone that has posted a review. To all the people that wrote a bad review, as the Owner of the property I personally want to send my sincere apologies. I was not present on the property during these times. Due to the problems that were posted on these reviews and others, I started looking closely into my... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Penny Saver Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny Saver Inn

Address: 665 L Street, Crescent City, CA 95331
Location: United States > California > Crescent City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Penny Saver Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay